We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Intercontinental corner in Romania” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bucharest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bucharest to your Saves list
InterContinental Bucharest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Blvd Nicolae Balcescu, Bucharest 010051, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little Intercontinental corner in Romania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel offers a wide range of services. Breakfast area is located at ground floor, in one of the "general" restaurant available. Breakfast is good, lunch and dinner a bit less.
Room are comfortable, a bit old style, but every room has a balcony with a great view on the city. Ask for the ones toward downtown.
Prices are ok, a bit high for the locals but generally low for western country's guest.
This is a smoking allowed place, so there's a smoking bar and often you can meet interesting people there (we had the chance to meet the Belgium football team). Internet is a bit expensive, look for a rate including Internet+breakfast.
The hotel is very close to downtown and the old city, where you have to enjoy the Caru Cu Bere restaurant, local, cheap and with traditional dance and excellent food. For the taxi, ask reception (they are very nice). Be aware while walking on the street from girls who offer you massage... they are offering something else.
The hotel has a little but efficient SPA. Massage are quite cheap and there's an indoor little pool and a jacuzzi.
If you have the chance, go to the Club Floor, you may have for a little surplus rate, Internet, breakfast and such a light lunch and dinner option.
Before to arrive in Bucharest, contact the hotel and ask to arrange a taxi service, as coming from the city the taxi is cheaper than the ones resident in the airport.
The hotel is OK, would require some degree of renewal, but I was comfortable enough.
There's also an internal casino, but they require your passport even to have a look (so I preferred to don't go there, as I don't like casino).
TV channels have a good coverage, major languages, prime time movies, etc.
Be aware that hot water will arrive after 4minutes of open shower.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear gpq,
many thanks for your positive comments and constructive feedback about your stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Indeed we have the best location and view in the city. And as we are constantly striving to improve our services we will review the areas where you have not rated 5 stars to provide even better services during your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    220
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
96
81
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference, the hotel staff accommodated all our needs and their professionalism and kindness ensured everything went perfectly. The hotel is ideally located to access the Old Town and is just 20 minutes from the airport and the facilities are what you should expect of the Intercontinental brand. Top tip, ask Catalin, the superb and extremely knowledgeable Concierge about the guided tours you will not find in the guide books, we seen and learned so much with him. Thank you Catalin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear MartMBelfast,
Many thanks for your nice words of praise about my colleagues and the hotel as such.
You are right, there is a lot to discover in and around this great city and our Head Concierge Catalin together with his team will be more than happy to share even more secrets during your next trip to Bucharest. We are looking forward to have you back as our guest in the very near future.
With best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love this! I read that Bucharest is one of Europes biggest secrest. I agree. Intercontinental is just like bucharest - you know it's old and think it's all worn out. But it's not! The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Normal top hotel entrance, quite normal looking lobby, but the service helps you forward. If eastern europe service used to be a bit "out there", that's not the history here. Great service, especially with the concierge team. The rooms are beautifull, the only negative thing was that there is no furniture in the balcony. The balconies are great with great views, so it would've been great to sit down a bit outside. Great meeting facilities, which I had the pleasure to try. The club lounge is good - big enought with great views. There should be a bit more to eat, more snacks. otherwise great! room service works, it was fast and food was great I wasn't able to use the spa, but my family told it was great as well. tried the breakfast both - in the brasserie as well as in the lounge, both good, but in the brasserie the omelettes were great!

Room Tip: 1111 is a nice room inthe corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Yoto1,
thank you very much the nice and very true words about the city of Bucharest which is indeed a great place to visit. I'd also like to thank you for your great feedback about the hotel.
I'm happy to read that you were able to enjoy your stay from all perspectives. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Bucharest and to the InterContinental!
With best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just came back from a long weekend from Bucharest where I was attending a conference.
I read the prevoius reviews and I had concerns. BUT ! This hotel IS truly five star, I would highly recommend it to everyone.
The rooms: may not have flat screen tv or Ipad docking, but I have never stay such spotless room ever in my life. The maids did an incredible job. My room has a great view, I think all have them since it is one of the highest buildings in Bucharest.
The breakfast has great selection with the local cheese variety which I really loved.
The gym, now that is something. Located on the 22nd floor. Pool, jacuzzy, sauna and the gym. Small but well equipped. Go there around 7 am when the sun rises above the city. Such spectacular view with all the colours. That will make your day!
The service: such lovely people, all smiling and being polite andut the patient. They are always there when you need something. Go to see the Concierge team for recommendation, and also ask them about the tours outside of Bucharest in the Carpathians. Incredible treasures to discover!
About the city. I expected something else, I was told it has so much left from the communist regime time and it might be not so charming. Not true at all: great french influence form the late 1800's early 1900's, little "treasureboxes' which I was dying to take pictures from.
Nevertheless, all these sights are 5 mins walk from the hotel!

Room Tip: Great view from everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Miss6Saigon,
I was very happy to read how satisfied you were with the stay at our hotel.
Many thanks for your detailed feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Intercontinental is a great hotel with a very good Spa, very friendly service and great hospitality. The breakfast is very good and offers all you need, the rooms are very quiet and also the bathrooms are wonderful, incl. the shower. I'm very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear 12EUtraveller,
many thanks for your great comments and feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you back to Bucharest and the InterContinental.
Best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otzberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel in September while I was on a business trip in Romania. Rooms were clean and checked several times a day. Breakfast was really good and with a huge variety. Service was also very good. One day I managed to have a swim in the pool which is located on the top floor. It is clean but the pool is small and the whole interieur made me feel like in the 70s. the view up there is really nice.
Hotels location is convenient and you are in walking distance for the metro, shops or restaurants.

Room Tip: watch out in Romania they still have rooms for smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MB3698,
I'm happy to read that you liked the hotel, especially the cleanliness and the breakfast and that you would stay with us again. Many thanks for your valuable feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Bucharest!
Best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is my second review of this hotel. The first was about a conference and about the services. This will be about the rooms. The rooms are spacious the beds are comforting and the bathroom is great. I like the rooms the only thing I have to say is that they are a little bit old. This hotel needs a small upgrade. The location is great in the city center. The services are outstanding and the concierge is great. Ask for Catalin, he will hook you up with anything. All in all I want to say that I reccomand this hotel to anyone looking for a great location and luxury hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Horia S,
many thanks for your kind words of praise and also for your feedback about our staff, especially the Concierge Team with our Head Concierge Catalin.
The team of the InterContinental Bucharest is looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Address: 4 Blvd Nicolae Balcescu, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.