We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good efficient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calea Dorobantilor 5 - 7, District 1, Bucharest 010551, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good efficient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed one night on business. I arrived late but there was still a good range of options for room service. The Service was efficient and friendly and I was made to feel very welcome. This hotel served as a good base for a business trip.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy that you choose our hotel for Bucharest accommodation and thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor website.
We reassure you that each time you will stay with us to do our best to make you feel “very welcome”.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    128
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
15
37
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

On a business trip for the week. Hotel rooms were well maintained and modestly appointed. Concierge and Front-Desk staff all spoke english very well. They went out of their way to help us find restaurants and stores in the area and helped us with a rental car. Typical for Romania, the air conditioning in the lobby needed to be jacked up a bit and if you're a non-smoker in the lobby, you may as well forget about getting fresh air. Very good overall stay in a central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review posted on Tripadvisor. We also thank you for pointed out the things that made your stay with us a good one and hopefully you will visit our facilities again in the near future.
Kind regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Quick summary: the room is a little spare but has all the comforts, and is clean and comfortable. Excellent housekeeping and service. Very good price/value.

This was a quick business stop for a few nights. My rating is based on the fact that this is a good place for price/value for a business traveler -- it's not trying to be a gold-plated experience. Room size is fine -- not cramped, but really spacious, either. The space is well-used with what you need.

Room 1811 has a comfortable king bed, good work desk. Closet space good for a business traveler, but not exceptionally large. All the expected amenities of a good business-class hotel: in-room safe, minibar, free wifi that works well, coffee/tea maker, etc. Heating/AC worked well and quietly.

Very good housekeeping. Professional and friendly service when I needed anything. Good English language abilities.

Nicely outfitted marble bathroom with combined tub/shower. Standard hotel toiletries.

Breakfast is included, and was the usual variety of fruits. cereals/breads, hot/cold items -- good but not exceptional. Good man at the cooked-to-order omelet station. Coffee should be improved.

The fact is that I had a difficult time accessing cash with my ATM card in Romania, so I largely stayed in the hotel for meals (thank you, no-exchange-fee credit cards!) There is a variety of restaurants and stylish bars with good prices and variety. The restaurants are again pretty good, not exceptional, but good price/value. The sandwich in the bar was actually quite good, and well-priced drinks options. You could go to an Italian restaurant, a Benihana, etc.

The hotel also has a casino off the lobby, with some serious-looking security guys.

I had some laundry done for an acceptable price, which was done well.

The neighborhood is rather busy, with streets that are not that wide. Again, I did not explore much, without cash. I prefer using cash in small restaurants when I travel on my own, and my days were long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor, sharing with the members of the travelers community your opinion regarding our hotel. We are also very happy that you find our facilities according to your needs and hope each time your business roads will cross Bucharest, the HoJo to be your first choice.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Józefosław
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have nothing special to add. One night in good hotel, very good bed in my room, so I could sleep well. I can recommend this hotel to others who plan to stay in Bucarest. I didn't have chance to sightsee the city but my first impression was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that your stay was according to your needs and you built such a good first impression.
We hope next time when you will visit Bucharest to stay longer and try all our services.
Best regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Amazing hotel, I dont know what people are talking about in other reviews. We had a gorgeous room 1619 with a lovely view. Loads of amenities, friendly staff and very comfortable bed! Internet is super fast and easy to access. Breakfast has a good variety and all staff super helpful. Only issue is no guest laundry and everything needs to be sent out with high prices. No laundry mats around so you either pack enough to last your stay or bite the bullet. Otherwise wonderful stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and appreciation words.
We also thank you for the point addressed, we will look into it and find solutions for providing this service much more easier.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again in our facilities.
Kind regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We staid here only for 1 night. I would never come back here. There are so many others real 5 stars hotels in Bucharest. Seriously , I was very very disappointed . First the rooms are basic. Second you cannot open the window so you feel like in a prison. The breakfast was decent but not so special. Anyway , it isn't such a nice place where to stay. And BTW we paid 80 ron , more or less 20 euro for the parking. I will never go back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your experience with our hotel on Tripadvisor website. We also thank you for expressing your opinion, we assure you that we will look into that issues and continuously work to improve our services.
Kind regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the HJ Grand Plaza hotel located downtown Bucharest. What I did like the most in this hotel were the breakfast which offered a big range of different meals and a very good service, polite, helpful, dedicated to the customers, free wifi also. My room was ok but maybe a little old fashion in comparison to other hotels from the same category. I had better beds than the one room 1012 i occupied, still sufficient do not get me wrong. The hotel also has a japanese restaurant and a casino, spa and fitness club. They do organise seminars and events which did not disturb my stay. You can walk to the old city from the hotel. It will take you 15 minutes. Around the hotel, some restaurants, small grocery, bakery and other fast-food chain subsidiaries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anda M, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We also thank you for sharing your experience in such nice words and we are expecting you to be our guest any time you choose to visit Bucharest.
Kind regards
Sonia Nastase
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest

Address: Calea Dorobantilor 5 - 7, District 1, Bucharest 010551, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#20 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of the city center, offering a top - comfort, relaxing atmosphere. The hotel features 285 rooms and suites with breathtaking views in an 18 - floor building. Walking distance to major tourist attractions, shopping, historical centre. High Speed Internet access and communication facilities keep you connected to your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bucharest
Bucharest Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.