We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style decadence with modern upgrade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Victoriei Avenue, Bucharest 010083, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old style decadence with modern upgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has always had a reputation for good old-fashioned class.
After a lot of work it really is the best hotel in Bucharest by far.
The entrance and lobby is pure baroque decadence, but the service is now (at last) up to international standards.
Superb room, with good facilities. Modern bathroom beautifully appointed. Possibly looks were chosen over functionality, but not a big issue. One slight niggle: a set of bathroom scales is not required, but if there is one provided, it should work! It was only missing a battery, but a little annoying nonetheless!
Breakfast wasn't the greatest, and the variety on offer doesn't really compete with the major 5* hotels.
But overall the experience was really first class!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
68
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were on a group tour and this was the hotel for this city. First impression, WOW. It was the most luxurious so far on this trip. The staff were extremely helpful (we had trouble filling the handbasin and someone came from reception to try and work out how to keep water in the basin - unfortunately, there seemed to be no solution, so my husband had to shave under running water.) The breakfast was varied and fresh. The wait staff in the breakfast room extremely attentive. One other reviewer called it "old style elegance" and I think that sums it up. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Continental while attending a meeting in Bucharest. I had a room on the first floor of the hotel facing the street which gave nice views of the street out front and beyond. The room was huge with a king size bed, desk space, lots of closet space and a large bathroom. Additionally, there was an iron, minibar and a flat screen TV. Despite the windows facing the street, traffic noise was not an issue. Nor did I hear noise from the lift located next to my room or the hallway. Overall, the room was clean, huge and comfortable.

The bathroom seems to have been caught up in the recent trend of making bathroom doors glass. Although the door was shaded black, it the glass did reduce the privacy. The shower oddly enough lacked a curtain or door despite the shower nozzles located along the wall. Therefore, if you used the nozzles on the wall, water sprayed onto the floor of the room. The sink basin was glass with an odd spigot, but functionally it worked well.

The service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone was friendly, helpful and everyone I dealt with spoke excellent English. The staff was very helpful in locating our missing bags from our flight to Romania and in getting them to us as soon as possible.

I took advantage of the gym at the hotel which is located in the spa in the basement. The gym included treadmills, stationary bicycles and other cardiovascular equipment. There were also weight machines. The unfortunate thing was that although the gym is in its own room, the opening into the spa does not have a door. Therefore, the gym gets humid due to the presence of the heated whirlpools in the spa.

Breakfast was available in the Balkan Bistro restaurant. There was a huge selection of food available including omelets cooked to order, breads, salmon and herring, cereals and juices. All of the food was well presented. At 6:30 when breakfast started, I pretty much had the breakfast room to myself and the service was excellent. I also ate in the Bistro one night. The food was delicious and the service again was excellent.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Grand Hotel Continental.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Continental during a very busy period in Bucharest so we paid more than the average rate that seems to be quoted on various sites as the hotel was full. All in all it is a very nice hotel – old style elegance rather than the modern style but it was very nice and very comfortable.

We had just a standard room but it was beautifully decorated and very clean. The room was a good size by European standards. There was a safe, tea making facilities, mini-bar, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, iron & ironing board & a hairdryer in the room. There were robes and slippers too. The bed was very large and comfortable and there is a turn down service.

The only negatives with the room were bathroom related – and quite minor but if you are marketing yourself as a 5 star hotel then you expect better – the toilet paper was of a very poor quality. The shower was not powerful but still managed to soak the floor if used in anything other than the standard way – if you attempted to use any of the horizontal type jets then they would end up soaking the floor as the shower screen is quite narrow. Also the toiletries were of a very poor quality. Lastly the sealant on one side of the bath was discoloured which did not look very nice. Also, if you are relatively short like myself clambering in and out of the bath to use the shower was a chore – I would have much rather had a good size walk in shower and no bath – but that is just personal choice. Lastly, the sink was very very shallow so again we often inadvertently soaked the floor.

The staff in the hotel are all very courteous and helpful – nothing is too much trouble.

They have a fitness centre and a spa but I did not use either so cannot comment.

The bar could be better – it is not very big and laid out with big sofas in two areas – it did not have the feeling of a bar – more of a sort of waiting area – the hotel definitely should look at doing something with this area. But it is 24 hour which seems rare these days.

The hotel is well positioned in terms of walking distance to many areas including the Old City. There is 24 hour room service and there always seemed to be plenty of staff about.

We did have a couple of admin problems – I booked three rooms in total – I arrived a day prior to my friends – but when they arrived, despite having all the booking paperwork, they were told that the hotel could not find the booking and that they were full – this was eventually sorted out but took some time.

Also when we checked out – we were over-charged – again this was sorted out but given exchange rates etc we as the guests could have missed this and just paid – you do rely on the hotel to get these things right – I will now need to check with my friends that they were charged correctly as they checked out earlier than we did.

All in all it was a good hotel and I would most probably stay there again but as it was a 5 star I would expect some of the little issues raised to be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

note: I haven't stayed in the hotel, I only visited the spa last week.

It is wonderful!
In the city where the erotic massages are marked in map's legends as often as hotels and metro stations, it was a delight to find a real massage place.

The spa is located in the grotto below the hotel which adds to its warm privacy. The staff is super pleasant, with impeccabe English skills. I had a male masseuse, which I usually don't practice, but he was extremely professional, pleasant and respectful.... and great at his job!

I will definitely visit them again and chose another one of the treatments from the generous menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and girlfriend stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a trip to Transylvania. The hotel itself is not that easy to find, but after wandering round for a while and asking various people we finally managed to find it (for anyone else staying there it is almost directly opposite the Novotel, down a side street). The hotel is well situated for the metro, old town and shopping areas of Bucharest.

First impressions of the hotel were that it was an elegant, old style hotel and it also seemed extremely quiet when we arrived. In fact on the first night, which was a Saturday I am not convinced there was anyone else on the 2nd floor.

The reception staff were friendly and we got checked in early despite the official check in time being 2.00 and our luggage was loaded into the baggage trolley and we were escorted up to our room.

The room itself was extremely nice with a large Kingsize bed, a flat screen TV and all of the other amenities you'd expect for a hotel of this class. The bathroom was beautifully presented but also was the main cause of issues with this hotel. I am sure the hotel spent a fortune on these bathrooms, but they have some major design flaws in them:

1) The shower has a massage type feature where jets of water spray out of the shower unit. All well and good except for the fact that shower screen is less than 12" long and the jets are very easy to turn on by accident. When this happens the jets of water go everywhere and end up on the floor. Combined with the tiled floor this represents a serious slip hazard.
2) The bathroom sink is a glass bowl with a tap controlled by a single lever. We found that it was easy to think you'd turned off the tap but to have left it on just a tiny amount so a drop of water was coming through. This then ran underneath the glass bowl and onto the floor meaning one morning we awoke to a flood in the bathroom.

Our room rate also included internet (fairly slow, but included so I'm not going to complain) and breakfast which was perfectly nice. We didn't get a chance to dine in any of the restaurants as they were closed for a wedding on the Saturday, but they looked nice.

Best thing about this hotel was the price. £75 per room per night including breakfast and wifi is pretty much unheard of any capital city I've been to in Europe, let alone in a 5* hotel. Even the rack rate didn't seem to be much more.

Definitely recommend this hotel for travellers to Bucharest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Albeit we found Bucharest not all that beautiful, this hotel was full of elegance. The rooms were huge and opulent. The hotel Club Sandwich was one of the best ones we have ever had. Ideally located down town, and service was impeccable. The do however charge an arm and a leg for breakfast (compared to very cheap room service prices)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: 56 Victoriei Avenue, Bucharest 010083, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand elegance is back in Bucharest." At Grand Hotel Continental you will rediscover the old dimension of luxury in the hospitality. Architectural refinement details and exceptional services are dedicated to the elite clientele. We have restored the atmosphere of XIXth century, we have added the XXI-century technology and we have customized all services to create a unique and memorable experience for each guest. The Grand Hotel Continental is located on Calea Victoriei, a place full of history, the center of Bucharest high life since the 1800s. The building was built in 1886 by the plans of two known architects Mr. Enil Ritten Forster and I.I. Rasnovanu in German Renaissance style. It was first called "Otelul" and it was built where the old "Broft Hotel" (property of the businessman Menahem Elias) was before. Half a century later it took the Grand Hotel Continental name. The building has passed through a recent restoration, preserving the same classic structure and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.