We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hilton" name says it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest to your Saves list
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Episcopiei St | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Hilton" name says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were two couples we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked three nights. When we arrived we had a very friendly welcome. Large room very clean, we had chocolate and wine in cows without requiring that. Great breakfast selection is very rich and range of products. Highly recommend visiting at
The view from the room was to square and decorated for Christmas

Room Tip: I think all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you liked our location, breakfast, room facilities and decoration. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    277
    67
    9
    9
See reviews for
62
198
77
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ΣΟΦΙΑ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed there during Christmas 2012. I made an early reservation for a diplomat suite. The hotel is an historical building in the center of the town. The room was quiet good and clean. The staff was polite and helpful. There is an open parking in front the hotel but you must pay almost 18 euros per day. Breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear you have chosen to spend the Christmas holidays at our hotel and you enjoyed staying here. Your kind feedback about our employees is appreciated and will be communicated to my team.

We hope you will come back again soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was in Bucharest for a convention which was also held at the Athenee Palace, so I was glad to be staying in the same building.

Despite my luggage getting stuck en route in Zurich, the hotel staff were very helpful in ensuring I had at least some basic toiletries, and the very helpful concierge pointed me to some local shops where I could get some essentials, as well as liaising with the airline to get my luggage to the hotel as soon as possible.

The lobby area, as in many hotels, was a lot grander than the rooms and the corridors above, but i found my room to be spacious and clean.

The food in the restaurant was of a good standard, the breakfasts were particularly well catered. The photographs of previous guests in the bar area assured me I was in good company, staying in the same place as former Presidents, Hollywood movie stars and other celebrities.

I think my favourite part of my stay would be the Romanian staff, they were always very friendly and helpful, and stunningly beautiful in the case of most of the female staff. Especially the young lady who served us in the restaurant on our last night there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear we succeeded delivering you the best of hospitality. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.
Regarding the lobby grandeur, this part of the hotel is a well-preserved area, Les Colonnades dating from the original construction in 1914 and reminiscent of those times.

Thank you once again for your kind review and I hope we will welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From start to finish, my stay here was flawless, spotless room, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast and a great little bar on the ground floor. The one thing that was a little srange was that there was no restriction on smoking indoors! It was my first time in Romania so it wsn't something that had crossed my mind until I waslked into the bar and was hit by a wall of smoke! Nonetheless, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A generally pretty standard Hilton experience. Nothing wrong with it really, but just feels rather dated and tired. Good location, but generally uninspiring. Could just do with a refresh programme. Plus I didn't get the same impression of helpful service - generally going through the motions. If you want a functioning business hotel is fine, if you're coming for a special experience, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.. We were sorry to read that the overall experience of your visit was not up to your expectations Please rest assured that your input has been shared with our team to take corrective actions, where necessary.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can exceed your expectations on your next stay with us!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Islands
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its a superb location and it has rather boring, average rooms.
The healthclub is getting a facelift, which will help and probably be high quality.

The big difference was the staff, that helped us in our travells
- English bar
- Breakfast place / Gabriela
and Concierge and Front desk.
Very hospitable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the hospitality and friendliness of our staff. Your kind input referring to our employees is much appreciated and will be communicated to my team.

We look forward to seeing you again at Athenee Palace Hilton!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Thru the Viking River Cruise folks, we finished a great Danube River cruise here, as the next folks started theirs. This was an ideal location in the city to explore the city of Bucharest. The rooms were large and clean, the service in both the English bar and Lobby Bar, as well as the front desk was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Address: 1 - 3 Episcopiei St | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.