We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel to your Saves list
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Calea 13 Septembrie | 5th District, Bucharest 050726, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
1 review
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I booked my stay from Exppedia, since I heared it's the best hotel in Romania, however i was not impressed in the hotel at all, the service is ok, cleaning also is good, but I found a Cockroach next to my bed, I requested for airport pickup and no boody was waiting for me!! when I asked them at the reception they told me that it was canceled! first day I was in the shower and the housekeeping have entered the room without knocking! elevators are only working with the room key! swimming pool is horrible, very dirty and I think all romania were inside the pool! which is very small and very crowded!
all over was ok, but not really a wow hotel, its very basic 4 stars not even 5

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    198
    44
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
90
54
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This place certainly is grand, from the sweeping staircases in the lobby to the big rooms and luxurious bathroom. It's a little bit at odds with it's surrondings on a hill out of the centre of town. I would recommend it again for the sheer experience of staying somewhere so luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed there last month as this is the hotel which was included with our tour pkg. We did a river cruise from Bucharest to Budapest with a company called "Scenic Tours". The hotel itself is beautiful. The lobby, restaurants, and all public rooms are very grand. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite as the hotel was booked solid. We could not have been happier with our room. Wish we had been there with friends as there was so much room for having in guests. The breakfast buffet was really good. The staff were great when they realized our luggage was delayed. We arrived in the early evening and they rushed our clothes being washed so we would have something fresh for the morning. The concierge was also helpful in discusssions on our delayed luggage problem with the airline. We did not however find the hotel to be convenient with restaurants and shops. I think this is a better location perhaps for a business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

it was my preferred place in Bucharest before but after they closed the bookshop, papers kiosk and healthy food restaurant and in their place installed gucci or what was it - who buys bags under such a circumstances??? - i am beginning to be disappointed. The crisis show itself too, but this was to be expected - breakfasts before were lavish, and with hapsychord playing live!!! it was surrealistic - then i would call it one of the best hotels all over europe, now it is just another marriott, and then having in mind its understandart location it really does not have much to offer - bring back the previous manager!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Marriott Bucharest is an excellent choice for business travelers. Superb service, clean, great breakfast. very professional and friendly staff. Great gym. The only drawback is that city center is not exactly walking distance (probably 30 min), but there are plentiful of taxi's and they are inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Nice hotel. Typical Marriott rooms. Service and food OK but I'd prefer an English breakfast to an American one........onions and green bits in with the baked beans...WTF is that about!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The Grand Casin at the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel is AWEFULL!!!!!!!

The attidues of the workers there are just terible. They treat foreigners very rudly. I Strongly advice that no one goes there, cause the employees there will swear at you.

If you are not Romanian, Dont go this Casino, it will ruin your whole trip!! Trust me.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Calea 13 Septembrie | 5th District, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#3 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.