We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best hotel I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel to your Saves list
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Calea 13 Septembrie | 5th District, Bucharest 050726, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maybe the best hotel I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Truly had every amenity I could wish for. Was spacious and clean. Beds were so comfortable. The hotel is enormous and impressive. Breakfast buffet was inspiring. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Not too far a walk from the old town area, but the taxis were cheap too. The drinks at the bars were rather expensive, otherwise this hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    184
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
33
82
49
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galati, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First class accommodation and executive lounge and a fabulous St Patrick's Festival Ball on the Friday evening. Probably the best English breakfasts I have had in a Romanian hotel. Bar prices for non-alcoholic drinks were excessive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is typical of most JW Marriott properties it is very clean, the staff is always helpfull. The breakfast was excellant and the service good. The breakfast was included in my rate. Ws disappointed that a fancy hotel like this always overcharges for internet access. Not much to see walking around this hotel as far as location goes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for the nice commnets as this is always helping us in improving the quality of our services.

Please be informed that our Concierge Team will always be at your disposal for any advice about the surroundings and about the areas to be visited.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Romania? With all the bad raps it gets, it's really well developed, especially a major city like Bucharest. I was on a trip with less then favorable hotel experiences until I arrived at the Marriott in Bucharest. What a great building, great decor and almost anything you can imagine. The room was exceptionally nice with all amenities in place. The lobby is incredible and lined with high end shops and a couple of restaurants. If you don't want to leave, you don't really need to.

The hotel restaurant and mezzanine level lounge are just great for a meal or a meeting.

I would highly recommend this oasis in Romania for your next business or pleasure trip.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is the way to go if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I've now stayed in the Marriott on several occasions and it remains a good, comfortable and well maintained hotel with decent service. The only real problem is its location: if you want to have a nice, easy walk around the older heart of the city, best try somewhere like the Novotel, which benefits from a much more tourist friendly location. But for a business trip, the Marriott is a very good choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and also for the nice comments.
so that I am very glad that we have met your expectations.

We appreciate a lot the time allocated to share your impressions with us and please be sure that our Concierge team will happy and available anytime to offer guidance or reservations services in the future.

Looking forward to hosting you again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is hotel perfection, except the internet. It is just a hassle. I cannot imagine why they just donot make an open internet in the hotel. They have a vendor that probably takes half the $ they make selling inet service, but the logging in everytime you open the laptop this is really annoying.
Other than that, hotel is totally awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a very typical Marriott room which was nothing special. However this is a good conference hotel. Also has good range of designer shops. Spa smelt so didn't use. Business centre helpful but printer not working. Wifi in room but not free and you can only hook up one device on the subscription. Avoid courtyard view rooms. Food varied and decent including a Lebanese restaurant. Sports bar good as well. Staff were really helpful though and they arranged car from airport for when I arrived. Overall fine and most negatives were me being picky hence the score of four. Three would have been harsh. Five would have been overly generous.

Final word for smokers, you can smoke at bar and on the left in the Sports bar ( not in reception which I liked). I assume there are other smoking areas. The only one I saw was an airport style smokers lounge on the first floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your impressions, as your feedback is very important to us and helps in improving our services.

We regret the small inconveniences encountered with reference to the printer and the Spa but let me assure you that some corrective measures were taken to avoid this errors in the future.

I would be happy to have the chance of welcoming you back at JW Marrott Bucharest Grand Hotel,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Calea 13 Septembrie | 5th District, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.