We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub in a hostel! Yessssssssssss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X Hostel Bucharest

Save Saved
You added X Hostel Bucharest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
X Hostel Bucharest
Strada Balcesti, 9, Bucharest 030221, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pub in a hostel! Yessssssssssss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Much bigger than what we tought when we booked and much nicer. The private rooms are unbeatable for the price: wifi, aircon, tv (small).

They have outdoor areas, a huge pub with cheap CHEAP drinks, projector, ping pong table (that I love) and caring local staff. Would def recommend this place to anyone as its really central and a lot of different choices for the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
3
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quite new hostel in the centre of the city. Great plus is closeness of everything: supermarket and shoping center are almost across the street; metro station and old town with both historical sights and party places are within 5 minutes walking.
Staff is nice, in summer taking care to adjust the temperature in the rooms so you don't die from the heat. Bathrooms, at least female, are constantly kept clean and equiped with necessities as soap and a toilet paper which isn't always the case in hostels.
Price is quite reasonable, i'd even say cheap.
Hostel is also great for big groups of friends travelling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good hospitality. We've had some problems with the door not closing and because we've been there in october - early november, they've had some problems with the cold. The central heating did not work and neither the air conditioner, but except these two things we spent a great time. Everybody is so friendly here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The X - hostel Bucharest in a few words:

- familiar and friendly personnel, helpful and correct
- nice location, next to the old town (= party district)
- nice bar, drinks are nice, lots to choose of and not to expensive
- cheap rooms but ok quality
- Host Mihaela and her colleagues are the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hostel is in a good location, a 5 minute walk from the main square/metro station and just over the road from a large supermarket and shopping centre. The staff are friendly if a little unorganised and the laundry service is good. I stayed in one of the dorm rooms, the rooms are ok pretty basic but the beds are bit grubby so I would recommend a sleeping bag or sleeping bag liner to sleep in. The bar is ok but its underground and when I went in August 2012 you could smoke in it which makes its really unpleasant for any non-smokers who want to drink there. So on the whole not a bad place for a couple of days but I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Get a private room, they are cleaner than the dorm rooms and you don't have to share bathroom fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Starting with the good things - this hostel is perfectly situated in the center of the city, 5-10 min walk from the parliament, a shopping center nearby.
But except that, I cannto say anything good. The pictures have nothing to do with reality - at least not with our room. Very dirty and shabby rooms / linens, miserable rooms! Common bathroom on the whole floor.
Would definitely not recommend and would definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

X Hostel Bucharest has a very friendly and helpful staff, with a central location. It is a short walk to bars, clubs, shopping, and the subway while still being in a quiet neighborhood. I stayed in February, without knowing much about the city beforehand and the staff was very professional and able to direct me to places that they thought I would enjoy. The pub downstairs was enjoyable, with the staff organizing everything from themed film nights to Valentine’s Day activities, karaoke and even a pub crawl. It was one of the few nonsmoking pubs that I found in the city. The owner and staff (Mihaela in particular) went out of their way to show us great bars and clubs as well.

The rooms themselves were spacious, clean, and well taken care of. The entire property was very well taken care of, and recently renovated. Everyone that I encountered at this hostel was friendly, and I actually met a lot of great friends throughout my stay there. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who is travelling through Bucharest. I am excited to try one of the other hostels next time I am in Europe, unless I end up back at X-Hostel Bucharest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to X Hostel Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Bucharest

Address: Strada Balcesti, 9, Bucharest 030221, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 Specialty lodging in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join the fun in one of the most centrally located hostels in the city. Free Sauna 2h daily to break the ice! Our private rooms are hotel-standard with air-con and private bathrooms; all rooms have access to free wi-fi and are air-conditioned. With a total of 21 showers, 19 toilets and one pissoir, you will never have to queue here. All areas are maintained daily by professional cleaners and there's a 24h reception and security, cctv cameras and access cards instead of keys for your comfort and security. All beds have their own locker with key. With an on-site pub, 2 Real Escape Rooms free to use computers and a weekly schedule of events such as karaoke and pub crawl you will be well entertained and never asking yourself where to go or what to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your X Hostel Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X Hostel Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.