We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - now this is a hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X Hostel Bucharest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added X Hostel Bucharest to your Saves list
X Hostel Bucharest
Strada Balcesti, 9, Bucharest 030221, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - now this is a hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Perfect experience! 4 great nights! The place is new, centrally located, great price and extremely fun. Every day was a party. The owners (David and Daniel) went out of their way to show us a great time. They are friendly and helpful. Same w Oana. It's clean, Internet is high speed and the bar was insane. So much fun. Cheap beer. Nice people. We totally enjoyed ourselves. We decided to stay around X instead of exploring on our last night. You really feel welcome and part of a family. X Hostels is in different countries and everyone says their experience is the best. You can even get an X tatoo... Check out the pics on their fb....

Room Tip: Take a dorm and meet cool people....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    31
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
7
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I spent two days here in May, and since I was traveling by myself and the prices were so good, I decided to stay in my own room with my own bathroom. The room itself was big and clean and everything was brand new. The staff were very helpful. They gave me maps and directions several times. The location is great and you can walk to many of the main locations. I met some cool people, which was really fun.
The music coming from the pub was a little bit loud, but it stopped at a very reasonable hour both nights (around 10:30). And of course, everyone was welcome to join the party.
Would reccomend this hostel to any solo travelers or groups of friends! You really get a lot for your money.

Room Tip: I had a single, but the dorms looked really nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 3 days last week at the Bucharest X Hostel and loved every minute of it! The double room was big, clean, with a mosquito net and best of all, air con and a very spacious shower! Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is good as it is close both to Unirii Square and the old town (I was amazed to see how many people were out and about on a Saturday night!!!), there is also a pub underneath the hostel in case you get really lazy and decide to just chill outside after a day of sightseeing. Unfortunately we missed the giant pub crawl they had organised on the first night but I heard many stories about it the next day ;) Definitively a good choice if going to Bucharest!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in a double bed room.  Good sized for a hostel double room. Almost new at time of writing. Amenities included double bed with air con and TV. No fridge.

Wifi worked with no problems.

Bathroom was good sized. Shower separated from rest of bathroom. Sower flow good, hot water is hot.

Location is great, only about 5 minutes walk from the main intersection of the Unirii plaza, and where most of the shops and nightlife is found.

On site bar can be found underground, owners say heading to an Australian themed bar.  Fridge in bar can be borrowed at request to store any essentials.  At time of writing the owners appear to be organising for local bar crawls.

Overall great location, with nice and almost new rooms, and staff are friendly and helpful.  A little more expensive than other local offerings, but we have tried others and this was well worth the extra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

When I stayed here, (17.05) the hostel was under renovation so my review cannot be 100% accurate, this is however what I can say:
- excellent location, less than 10 minutes' walk from Piaţa Unirii and the Metro network
- nice & friendly staff
- spacious dorm (at least mine) with lockers
- there is a bar / dance floor in the basement, which is a definite plus and unheard of for a hostel
There were other things I didn't like but I'll review again if I come back 1 day and once renovation will be completed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to X Hostel Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Bucharest

Address: Strada Balcesti, 9, Bucharest 030221, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join the fun in one of the most centrally located hostels in the city. Free Sauna 2h daily to break the ice! Our private rooms are hotel-standard with air-con and private bathrooms; all rooms have access to free wi-fi and are air-conditioned. With a total of 21 showers, 19 toilets and one pissoir, you will never have to queue here. All areas are maintained daily by professional cleaners and there's a 24h reception and security, cctv cameras and access cards instead of keys for your comfort and security. All beds have their own locker with key. With an on-site pub, 2 Real Escape Rooms free to use computers and a weekly schedule of events such as karaoke and pub crawl you will be well entertained and never asking yourself where to go or what to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your X Hostel Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X Hostel Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.