We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Dessert, If Nothing Else!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collage

Collage
Ion Mihalache 10-12 | sector 1, Bucharest 011171, Romania
0040758101040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #323 of 1,036 Restaurants in Bucharest
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set in an early 20th century restored house in downtown Bucharest, Collage is an eclectic mix of Classic architecture and Modern chic and the only place to experience in style the very best of food, drinks, music and art. It's where Renaissance meets Pop Art, the Beatles are having lunch with Picasso, where Warhol takes Michelangelo out for a drink and Dali paints nudes of Madonna and Coco Chanel to the soundtrack of Dirty Dancing. All the menus at Collage are tailored by the culinary genius of Master Chef Roberto dal Seno and the food's execution is a genuine delicious invention, a high-class treat to the palate that never ceases to amaze.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Go for the Dessert, If Nothing Else!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Here's a memorable place for a number of reasons. It's located behind the Peasant Museum in an attractive location and the options commence once you walk in the door. Collage offers fornal dining but we opted for the eclectic lounge with a much more casual vibe. We were allowed to choose from two enticing menus--so we did. The first menu has some really tasty appetizers and of the three we tried, I would recommend the Terrine of Gorgonzola, (see pic.) As mains, one of the best was the Crevetti with a curry dipping sauce--fab! I had the ribs and thy were tender and juicy, so that's a plus. I've had some bad ribs in Bucharest and I'm still searching for the best, but these were good. The real star was dessert. We ordered a "tasting platter" and it was superb. The three of us were like attack dogs on fresh meat when the goods were set down. Crazy good. The service is super friendly and our waitress "Cami" was just about as pleasant as a person can be. She made honest recommendations and we will go back beacuse she made the experience so enjoyable. They also do an all day breakfast which includes Eggs Bene (gotta try those still) and they bill their Burger as the best in Bucharest. We will see on the next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fusion cuisine at ok prices in excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nice fusion-type restaurant with very nice dishes, excellent interior design and good atmosphere. You can really see everything has been well thought through. Ideal for a chilled catching-up dinner with friends or a date. The quiet kind of place with lounge/classical music.

Prices are very good for what they serve (e.g. had a past-shimp based dish for 12 EUR, desserts 10-13 EUR) which i find very decent giving the whole concept offering. Everything is delicious btw.

Overall, thumbs-up, will go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went there with some friends last night. We found out as we were leaving that there are two connected sections with completely different themes. One side had live piano and flute music with elegant seatings, the other side was funky, and collages on the walls, and loud music. We went in through the door to the funky side, and were seated on one of the high tables. I ordered Fresh Pasta with Seafood and my friends Risotto with Seafood, and Ravioli with Spinach and Ricotta. The portions were not big, but just right. My dish was really delicious overall. The pasta had a really good texture, and the seafood (squid pieces, and a crayfish were cooked to perfection, not overcooked at all. My friends said their dishes were very tasty as well. I cannot give it an excellent because the music was just a bit too loud for me and the restaurant was getting really smoky as we were leaving.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here a week ago, the restaurant is clearly high class, the food is too, i had the risotto with sea food and the other person had the spinach ravioli, both dishes were amazing, great taste and very generous with the sea food, i must mention that the pasta here, is home made.
We did have a little trouble with one of the waiters, who forgot to bring the wine, but i'm sure that she was probably new, anyway it isn't something that can't be fixed right away, otherwise, it is an excellent restaurant.I highly recommend it, especially for business and couples.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good starter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

THE starter was really wonderfull. Several different dishes. THE dorade was à Nice plate. THE winkelinstallatie huge!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collage also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Collage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.