We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doors Hostel

Save Saved
You added Doors Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doors Hostel
Olimpului Strada 13, Bucharest 040164, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hostel is great.

We stayed in the private double room, and then in the dorm (as we wanted to extend our stay but the double was booked).

The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, the tea bar and outside area is really nice, they also sell cans of romania beer very cheaply from the tea bar. The tea bar has a great range of teas and is a very reasonable price, The covered tent like area outside is a really nice place to sit around on all the cushions and play the games they provide.

Both rooms were great, the double room was large and airy and had a nice feel to it. (Im really not sure what on earth the person below is talking about, although we did stay in summer so the heating was not an issue, the room itself is nice and I feel maybe they are trying to find fault, it is a hostel after all not a boutique hotel.) The dorm rooms are large and comfortable.

The kitchen is good, I would say the breakfasts aren't really worth paying for, much better to have a tea or coffee and head to the bakeries downtown on your way.

The location is a little out of the main town, but not far at all. A reasonable 10 minute walk and shops and amenities are close by.

I would defiantly stay here again, its nice to find a hostel that has a bit of character, other reviewers clearly would prefer a large dull HI hostel but personally i'd take hostels like this every time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cool place to stay. Bit of a walk from town, but there are shops nearby. There is a kitchen, nice lounge, tea house (which is very quaint and cosy). Bathroom was very big (and cold!) but everything was clean. The hosts were friendly, the other guests were great. I'd stay here again and it was better than some of the other hostels that I stayed at in Bucharest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had a great time at this hostel, they are very friendly and nice.The rooms are big and the breakfeast is good. It's clean and it's 7 min from the center and 3 min to a supermarket in a quiet neighbourhood. I love that they have a tea bar and the prices are good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good i was in the 6 person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you are picky you can find many details to dislike, but overall the hostel is good and cozy. Great spot to stay if you want to discover Bucharest. Staff is laid back and friendly, they'll suggest you places to see, where to eat and hang out The place itself is cool for young group of friends/couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The online photos of this place are great. That's why we picked it for our first 2 nights in Bucharest. Well they were the most miserable 2 nights we have ever spent away.
Upon arrival, a fuss was made over paying in the loval currency. We were told that they preferred euros and that we would have to pay a higher price if we payed in the Romanian currency. We would also be charged a rather irritating 6% on top if we payed by card. This was not mentioned anywhere on their website.
The first part of the building was ok if you managed to get there without stepping in the scores of piles of dog mess on the streets.
The huge black , solid metal wall which is in fact the entrance gate is instantly off putting.
We were requested to remove our shoes when we entered-not a problem-but when we were then taken to the back part of the building with no central heating and ice cold floors, well thats when I felt annoyed. We were led up the back stairs, which stank of damp and cats (several live on the premesis and beg for food whilst clawing at you). When I say the stairway smelled, I dont mean a slight whiff, I mean it SMELLED.
Then we were shown into the room with tge words "we dont often get bookings for this room" and my god was this entirely understandable. No cupboard, no radiators, a tiny window. No decent bedding. Lightbulbs missing. A door that led to another room which had it's keyhole plugged with tissue like some seedy spy hole. Damp up the corner of a wall and a stove for heating that could only be operated by a staff member. This meant that you had to go downstairs and try to find someone to turn it on. Their rules also stated that they had to turn it off for you too so you should expect someone to knock on your door any time from 10pm to midnight to turn it off! Once it was off, the window that didn't close let all the heat out again.
To call this a private double room....the most expensive they had to offer was a complete joke. It was a prison cell and ruined my stay in Romania.
There was also a strong smell of marijuana both nights. Avoid avoid avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The whole atmosphere is like home! It is better than being outside... It is a really warm place with the majority of the staff to be very friendly and helpful people. I would like to go back to Bucharest just to stay for a while at this hostel again and shoe it to my friends! It has a super cosy tea room, where you can work on your laptop, relax or play games with friends. It is also in the center and it is quiet easy to walk to many places from there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at for the mood. Awesome, friendly and flexible staff, feels like a home. But it's not for you if you're allergic to cats: there are cats in the hostel. They serve also a variety of great teas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doors Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doors Hostel

Address: Olimpului Strada 13, Bucharest 040164, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Specialty lodging in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Doors Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doors Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.