We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but not nice area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Arte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Arte to your Saves list
Vila Arte
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Vasile Lascar 78 | District 2, Bucharest 22505, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Modern but not nice area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel was fine - clean and modern rooms. Quite small hotel and breakfast was so so. Receptionists were helpful. Quite good value but that is probably because of the area. About a 30-40 minute walk to main centre and the area was quite grubby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place if you like modern/artsy type places...It is small and feels a bit more like an upscale B&B. I do recommend this is you are tired of the Intercontinental, Hilton, etc (chain hotels). On a busy street so beware if you are on the first floor (like us)...it will be noisy. Other than that, nice place... I would go again if the AC worked this time! ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, having booked via Venere. The location is very good, easy walking distance to everthing in Bucharest, and the Ottoman room that we stayed in was very nice - spacious and comfortable with a small balcony.

The staff were very helpful, and all had excellent English. They were keen to suggest places for us to visit, and helped us make arrangements both for going to the Parliamentary Palace and for our car to the airport.

There were just a couple of niggles - the air conditioning unit in our room dripped onto the table, and although the staff were very apologetic and put a contained underneath it, there was no sign of any effort to fix it. Also, the bathroom had only a bath with shower attachment, no shower curtain, so it was not possible to shower, and the water supply seemed to "pulse", going alternately from hot to cold, which meant that even using the shower attachment was not great, leaving a bath as the only alternative. Not a huge problem, but along with there being no coffee machine in the room, despite there being one listed, and the lift not functioning when we left, it just meant that the overall experience was not as good as it could have been.

Having said that, if they can fix these little things then I think it can be a great place to stay. There are bars and restaurants nearby, and it is a safe area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The other reviews say it all. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Rooms, staff, location etc etc all fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from this hotel and believe the hype, this is the best hotel in Bucharest.I was over for the Europa Cup final. I have at this point to mention Remus (or something similar) is just the best. Nice to walk into an hotel and be met on arrival with your name.He couldnt do enough for us. I'm not going to go on and just copy what everyone says on here, just to say its a great place. if you find time there's a wee bar just out almost across the street called smarts it has the best pasta ever and worth a wee visit. I had a few pics to put on but managed to lose my iphone. :o(

Room Tip: You will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

2nd trip in this hotel 2011.This is a proper boutique hotel centrally located, decoration is perfect, actual, neutral whilst not feeling insipid. The service is even better, and that's why i marked it as "excellent"
AirCon is quiet, beds very comfortable.
Some downsides; the fitness room is too small, and on late saturday nights it's not totally silente at night if you are sleeping in the ground floor business suite. The Ottoman room is splendid for your wife or lover, and regular rooms are just fine.

HOpe it stays like this.

Room Tip: Pick the Ground floor business suite only weekdays, weekend i heard some noise late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and can really only add my voice to the other excellent reviews. I was met by the lovely Danniela at reception on my arrival who seemed to be expecting me. She could not have been more helpful, making good suggestions on how to use my 24 hours in Bucharest most effectively, checking on tours and restaurants whilst I freshened up. The room was lovely: a good size, nicely decorated with a smart tiled bathroom (see photos). Breakfast was perfect with eggs cooked to order, fruit including delicious spiced apricots and all the usual cereals and yoghurt. In any other city this hotel would be expensive, in Bucharest it was a bargain, especially considering the level of comfort and exceptional friendliness. The only comment I would make is that I don't understand it's listing under 'Speciality Lodging'. It is a hotel - small and bijou - but it isn't an apartment or a hostel. I think this would mislead some people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Arte

Address: Vasile Lascar 78 | District 2, Bucharest 22505, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name says, Vila Arte is not only a boutique hotel but also a “home for artists.” Vila Arte succeeded in becoming an exhibition-center for young Romanian artists and a meeting point for art & design lovers. Designed for business and leisure travelers alike, discover an incomparable getaway for unforgettable Bucharest luxury holiday travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Vila Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Arte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.