We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of food. Tastes like home food not restaurant. Very expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taifas

La Taifas
67, Bucuresti St, Chisinau, Moldova
+373 22 227 692
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 174 Restaurants in Chisinau
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Taifas means Moldovan traditional experience. Moldovan rustic food, traditional design and good quality service are our greatest prize for you. Grandmother's cheese pie is the dish you will want to eat here along with local meat dishes or vegetarian fresh salads. If it's summer try out our local fruits drink. If it's winter you will want to have our hot wine or balm tea to warm you up. Enjoy your meal!
Iasi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lot of food. Tastes like home food not restaurant. Very expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

+: The place is nice, near the center. They have live traditional music. Non smoking tables available. Traditional food. The main dishes are big, I couldn't eat the dessert after one appetizer and one main dish. :)
-: Prices are very big for a country that has medium salary of 100Euros. The local beer "Chisinau" doesn't come in a bottle (although it's stated like this in the menu) but draft beer. 40Euros for 2 persons. Food is more like a canteen than a restaurant at appearance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you would like to try the real Moldovan cuisine, this is definitely the place to go to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

To summarize: La Taifas is a great place to taste typical Moldovan food, enjoy Moldovan hospitality and music. The prices are fair and the food is delicious. The service is good and the atmosphere is cosy and informal. We will definitely go there again when we visit Moldova next year. Below I give more details about each aspect of a restaurant experience: cuisine, service, atmosphere and value.

Cuisine: If you would like to try the real Moldovan cuisine, this is definitely the place to go to! First of all, the quality of the food is high (most ingredients are organic and you taste it; everything is very fresh, too) and the cook does a good job: my lamb was juicy and tender as was my husband's rabbit. The menu is extensive and unlike some other restaurants, this one had all the ingredients for the specialties we ordered. We found the food really delicious!

Service: The service was good: our water- and wine glasses were filled on time and when we got the appetizer, we were warned that it was extremely hot, so we didn't burn our tongues. The waiters wear national costumes and they are very friendly, attentive and helpful. Ou waiter took photos for us and when he heard that it was my husband's first visit to Moldova, he invited the musicians to welcome him with a beautiful Moldovan folk song. I highly recommend you to leave at least 10-15% tip (we gave 30% of the receipt as we were very pleased) because the wages in Moldova are extremely tiny.

Atmosphere: The atmosphere is cosy and informal: you get greeted with some (young) homemade wine. On the day we went to La Taifas there was live music (not sure if it's always there or only during holidyas / weekends); they were playing folk melodies. The whole place is decorated in the style of a traditional Moldovan village house - it's very nice, like a mini-museum. You can also see how traditional Moldovan "placinta" is made from fresh ingredients.

Value: We found the whole experience worth every single lei we paid. I've read in some other reviews that the prices at La Taifas were too high. I disagree with that. Their food is of a high quality and all products are fresh, and the atmosphere is realy nice, so the prices are fair. If you only care about cheap prices but not about the quality, then you should go to McDonalds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrusice, Czech
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Benchmark for Moldovan traditional cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes - the restaurant is famous over the country, upscaled (and so quite pricy) and mostly you need reservation. I was there three times during my last visit in Moldova, twice by wine producers invitation and to the third time, because I was very impressed, for a report in the backstage - in the kitchen, where chef Ruslan (with the university degree) prepared for my photocamera step-by-step how to prepare typical „eggplants caviar". And after this in depth experience I´m ready to recommend the visit there to anybody! I was reporting from hundreds kitchen around the world for magazines. Here goes everything on proper way, the cooks (mostly ladies) are remarkably clean dressed (though my visit was unexpected), the tidiness is omnipresent, the ingredients (mostly vegetables) are crispy fresh. They are producing all the dishes from the very start on traditional way (even the kitchen is well equiped), baking different kinds of own breads, cakes, locast "placintas" which is a must there. The owner Nicolai Kuroshka is personally tasting the quality daily. The cooks can vary, the owner remains... Very impressive is also the selection of wines including the new top brands like Gitana, Et Cetera etc.. By my opinion Taifas is a must if you´re visiting Chisinau having the passion for local food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pricy for the local market but great taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The whole Restaurant, including the kitchen and a house, which servers as celebration room, are made up in a traditional style. As such the food served is also traditional Moldovan, heavy on meat and fresh veggies. One should definitely try a combination of fresh veggies, pie, and a hot pot together with some local wine.
We have been here with 7 people with 3 not speaking Romanian or Russian and me only speaking basic Romanian and even so they have an English menu, only parts of the staff speak it, so it was good that we had someone who could translate. Otherwise the service was polite and even suggested to us, to see the outside traditional house, which they normally only use for special occasions.
All in all an expensive but great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for local dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A little pricier for some dishes than expected for this region, but when visiting simply for the local pies and side dishes, a great choice. Tasty food, good prices and fantastic local wines at very reasonable prices. Great location and decor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taifas also viewed

Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 
Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 

Been to La Taifas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taifas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.