We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muu - CLOSED

Muu
ul grada Vukovara, Zagreb, Croatia
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Food was ok, closed on Sundays. Good selection on the menu and better than other restaurants we tried in town.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

As part of the Zagreb Restaurant Week we tried restaurant Muu. A disappointing experience.
Atmosphere and interior were ok, but the food was absolutely substandard. The beef carpaccio starter was of good quality but the portion way too small with hardly any parmesan cheese on it. The beef tartare on toast seemed to have been prepared the previous day. In a specialized meat restaurant one would expect some nice spareribs. Non of it all; the second worst spareribs I ever had. The tarte tartin desert was an insult to the original recipe. Only the selection of wines by the glass was quite good.
Hope they soon improve on their act.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Hasn't this restaurant been better?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have had one disappointing visit.

Beef tartare was premade (which can be acceptable), but, the taste and texture were terrible. The other appetizer contained a hair.

Meat was seriously overcooked for medium rare. Other main dishes were ok.

Tart tatin was too modest and too crunchy.

Somehow their 1dcl of wine is smaller than in other restaurants.

Waiter doesn't know much about wines they offer and cares little for proper table setup.


All in all, the review would be less critical if their price range wouldn't have been so high.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great expectation, not so great result.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Wife and me went to Muu with high hopes for a nice food and nice atmosphere. Restaurant have a nice interior, evening was obviously slow (Saturday evening with only 2 tables with guests). Service was perfect, waiter was very helpful, discrete and fast. Wine list is nice, but beware if you are going to take just glass of wine. Amount you get is somewhere below 1cl and for sure not enough even to taste wine. Then we order a two steaks and service was usually fast.
But...
Unfortunately there is big but in this review. Food was nice but it was COLD. Can you image two nice, big, medium-rare steaks that are cold. Food was so cold that looks like it was done half hour ago... After complaint, steaks was just reheated and we remain disappointed.
After those poor steaks my wife asked for chocolate soufflé for dessert and again disappointment. Soufflé was so poorly done that it was uneatable. With that disappointment in mind we just asked for bill and rush out of Muu with comment that we will check them back in year or two, unfortunately no sooner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice tuna stake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Tuna stake was delicious. the weather was nice so the ambient felt good

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muu also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.