We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief overview” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Phoenix to your Saves list
Hotel Phoenix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesvetska Cesta 29, Zagreb 10360, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
1 review
“Brief overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The rooms are neat and cosy. Service in the restaurant is good. The cafe in the patio is a comfortable place to relax and chat. It is situated in a safe, quiet neighborhood where you see happy families. It is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Dennis,
thank you very much for your feedback! It is nice to hear that you are pleased with hotel service and that you enjoyed staying here! We would be very happy to welcome you some time again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Hotel Phoenix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
56
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel has wonderful staff, great rooms and is the perfect place to stay if you're in town for a few days.

The pricing is very good and the hotel offers a pretty well equipped gym (for the price range) as well as a virtual golf course and swimming pool (small and not great for laps, but a nice way to unwind after a long day nonetheless).

Breakfast offers a very good range of food, including an omelette bar where they will make you whatever you want. If you are not travelling by car, then the hotel is a little distant from downtown Zagreb, but easily reached by a 15 minute taxi journey. Placed within a two minute drive of the main motorway, moving around the rest of Croatia and on to Slovenia, Hungary etc is very convenient, should you be on a road trip.

I stay there about every two weeks or so on business - and the only changes I have noticed are that the management and staff seem to be always looking for ways to make things better. My last two trips, they have been handing out a customer feedback form at breakfast - it seems they are serious about making their hotel the best - and are well on the way.

My gripes: (hence the 4 stars not being 5) is that they are sometimes too successful, and cater for very large groups indeed - which can lead to morning rugby scrums at the breakfast bar - or very noisy guests (depending on the group). No stag parties seen yet...hope it stays that way!

The rooms are clean and spacious and with free WIFI are great to work in if you need to - but - the fridge they use as a minibar is noisy and annoyingly random at when it makes the noise. (tip: get a coin, open the door and use the coin to turn the dial to off. problem solved!).

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have stayed in (I go there every two weeks) have been faultless. The main issue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking time to give us such nice comment! We are so happy to hear that you really enjoyed staying in our hotel. It is very nice to hear that our guest has seen improvement and our commitment to get service at the highest level! Every guest's opinion is of great importance for us and to see that we met or even exceeded guest's expectations makes us really happy. Regarding minibar we will try to fix that problem, what you adviced could be a good solution for other guests too.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards,
Hotel Phoenix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It is an excellent hotel for someone, who is going somewhere, and needs to stay for a night. The location is good for people like this - not far from highway. For the tourists - don't stay there. The rooms were okay, but I didn't like the shower. Also, the house near the parking did not make me happy. The Wi-Fi - very-very bad. We were living in the end of the corridor, this was embarrassing. Overall - four stars.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for taking time to give us a feedback! We are always opened to any suggestion of our guests. Regarding WiFi we noticed that sometimes the problem are phone settings so our guests our welcome to ask on the reception how to repair that problem. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards from Hotel Phoenix Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel in the hope it would be the little bit of luxury at the end of our 10 road trip around Croatia - this it was not.

Here is a list of the reasons why:
Shower was very poor, the shower head was hardly fixed to it's holder and would spray in random directions, the shower screen would struggle to shut and even when it did it would leak all over the bathroom.
There was mould around the shower and sink taps, the toilet seat was broken and cracked.
Mini bar making a frog croak noise, even when we disconnected it from the wall, struggled to sleep from the noise.
Next to a busy road
Far from Zagreb centre
Twin room instead of double
Entrance no way accessible

The wifi is included in the price but is very poor and often gives a message: "server not found" when browsing.

The spa was never included in our package (when the brochure said it was) and would cost 10 Euros per person for 2 hours. The day we arrived the masseur was 'on holiday' so there would not be any massages given.

20 mins drive to Zagreb centre
Although well intentioned the staff's service was not great.
The waiter got our order wrong and then replaced it with steak which was still frozen...
The hotel, being 20 mins from the centre of Zagreb seems to have no information on how best to make your way into the centre. When asked, the staff were baffled at the prospect and suggested a taxi as the main form but then after much deliberation suggested bus and tram options, unclear as to what the prices and expected travel time involved.


Parking next to half built construction site
Brochure and literature full of hilarious but embarrassing English spelling mistakes
Specials told about were not compatible with specials being served
Staff didn't know what time the spa opened
1 towel provided
1 pillow provided
Bathrobe not provided when brochure said it was
No way this is a 4 star hotel


Expect a 3 star quality (or less) and if you have an all-inclusive package where you're paying under 60 Euros maybe consider it.

As soon as we arrived we felt we had been conned...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael C.,
thank you for taking time to write us a feedback! We found your comments very useful. All problems you listed will be checked and possible malfunctions eliminated. I already checked did you have spa included and on reservation is very clear that it was not included. It is also written in description of a hotel and room you booked. We did not expect you on date you came because you booked a room day after so the reception staff did their best and find you one available room for single use. We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope to welcome you again to improve the impression and to show you why this hotel is really a 4 *.
All the best from hotel Phoenix team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Service and location was not so good.At the restaurant we received no bill of fare It seemed like they only had one dish to offer. Rooms was clean and nice. WI-Fi didn`t work. Parking was terrible. Food was good. This was a hotel with four stars but I think it is not deserves more tnan three stars.
Family from Sweden


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Rajka, thank you for your feedback! We will consider all of your suggestions! We can't, of course, change our location, and I am very sorry that it didn't met you expectations. But the good thing is that it is very well connected so the guests can get to center by car, taxi, train, or bus for just 15 minutes. We check did anyone else had problem with WiFi during your stay but it seems that everybody could connect normally to our WiFi. Usually guests are pleased when they see how big parking is and the fact that is free and right next to hotel building is really big plus so I am bit surprise that you didn't like it. I hope you and your family will visit us again! We will be glad to welcome you and to get a chance to improve the impression!

All the best,
Marija, hotel Phoenix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went on romantic weekend and I can only say - I wanna go back.
Location at first didn't seem very attractive but we enjoyed peace and
morning coffee on beautiful terrace away from the city noise. Room and
breakfast were top class and the staff was really nice. They even gave
us more time in wellness center than we booked and discount on
massage. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Annastasyaa,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your days with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you soon again in our hotel Phoenix! We will pass your compliments on to our restaurant team. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards from hotel Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

In general, we were very satisfied with our stay in this hotel. But I would like to mention few things. First of all, when we arrived there was no parking space for us, although we reserved and announce our arrival a weeks ago. Show cooking dinner was not really show and it was only a 3, not 5 course dinner. And the breakfast was really lean and predictive. Otherwise everything is good. The room was very nice and romantic, and the bed was really comfortable. We also very liked wellness compartment, its really clean, romantic and relaxing area. We hope we will go there again one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marija P, Manager at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback! I am happy to hear that you are pleased with stay in hotel Phoenix! We have few parking places in front of hotel and large parking behind the hotel building so you probably didn't know that. Regarding dinner, we have offers that include 3 or 5 courses so you can always tell to our colleagues if you have offer that includes 5 courses, they will be happy to serve you more delicious dishes. Thank you again for the compliments and comments that will help us improve our service even more! Hope to welcome you soon againg in our hotel!
Kind regards,
Marija, hotel Phoenix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: Sesvetska Cesta 29, Zagreb 10360, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Zagreb's eastern business zone, the elegant Hotel Phoenix is just a 15-minutes drive from the city centre. It offers welcome surprise, FREE Wi-Fi,wellness & SPA area (endless pool, whirlpool for 8-10 persons, sauna, relax area), FREE fitness room, FREE anatomic Biopur pillow available on request, gratis parking space. Each elegant room at Hotel Phoenix features a free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with satellite and cable channels, air conditioning, comfortable beds with Biopur anatomic mattresses for a good sleep and a private bathroom. Bathroom amenities include the luxurious Aromatic Collection (Rituals, Pascal Morabito).The hotel's A la carte restaurant Maestro offers delicious Croatian and international cuisine. Guests can enjoy buffet breakfast with show cooking, during which a variety of pancakes and omelettes are prepared. A wide rage of fruit cocktails is available at the bar.The Hotel Phoenix has a wine cellar and an elegant lounge area suitable for gathering smaller groups. Guests are served a selection of top quality Croatian and world-renowned wines of their choice. The lounge bar with its large windows offers a view on the flowery terrace, where tea, coffee and a light lunch menu can be served.There is a fully equipped GOLF INDOOR CENTER. Golf simulators in Phoenix Lounge are recognized by the U.S. PGA.The Hotel Phoenix can be easily reached from the A2, A3, A4 and A12 highways. Public bus station is just 50 metres from the hotel. Transfer from Airport to the hotel and vice versa can be organized on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.