We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Zagreb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jagerhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jagerhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Jagerhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Zagreb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My two sisters and I stayed for one night in Zagreb in July 2014, and we were looking for someplace in the center of the city so that we could easily explore Zagreb. Hotel Jagerhorn was perfect! It is just a couple of blocks off of the main square of Zagreb and is within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions in the city. The hotel has its own courtyard entrance and is not right on the street, which makes the hotel very calm. Everyone at the front desk was extremely professional and welcoming, not to mention funny and wonderful to chat with. They arranged a taxi to pick us up directly from the hotel to take us to the airport, which was very convenient. However, when we arrived we took the tram to the main square and walked to the hotel, which was also very manageable. The breakfast in the small garden is wonderful, as was the service throughout our stay. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were to return to Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
362Davor_D, front desk at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lamia,

thank you so much for your wonderful review of Hotel Jagerhorn.
We are so glad that both you and your sisters had a great time. Indeed, our location is in the heart of Zagreb but then again it's so quiet and peaceful. It's a pity you couldn't stay longer as Zagreb has so much to offer…
A big thank you on behalf of the front desk staff- such compliments truly mean a lot.
One last thing- when are you coming back ?! :)
Sincerely,
All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Davor Doronjga
Front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    152
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
69
240
48
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The Jagerhorn hotel is a 3 star hotel, but certainly deserves 4 stars. It is ideally located at the border of the old prt of zagreb and the new part, so historical and cultural buildings and shopping possibilities are nearby. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. Since we were travelling with our 2 children, we had a (spacious) suite, with all accomodation needed. Small remark: the wifi connection is very weak in room 201. It works, but sometimes you need to walk through the room in order to capture it... But besides this minor issue, only positive memories!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
362Davor_D, front desk at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Kathleen,


delighted in hearing that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Jagerhorn recently and very much appreciate your positive feedback.

We will share your input with the rest of our team, who for sure will be encouraged by your remarks. It is wonderful feedback from guests like you that elevates our hotel and makes our job here so enjoyable and worthwhile.

We are very glad that you've enjoyed our spacious suite and would like to apologize about the minor WIFI glitch.

Thank you, again, and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Davor Doronjga

Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Located in the center of town, this charming hotel is close to many attractions that Zagreb offers. The main square is only steps away, as the old town with its charming streets and numerous restaurants and bars. It is located in a lively part of the city and yet the rooms are quiet and conducive to sound sleep. The room we had was quite small, but very clean. The service is very good and the breakfast selections are varied. The best part of breakfast was the lovely patio. The hotel will arrange a transfer to and from the airport for a very reasonable fee. The hotel has parking but it is somewhat hidden and difficult to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Yes, can see how this hotel is in an excellent location, but have a feeling it got some of the stellar reviews primarily because it is close to the local watering holes, so convenient for drunk tourists. Beyond that, it was just appaling: stained carpets, an interior a 3 star German/ Austrian hotel (the name of this shop is Jaegerhorn after all) may have had in the 80s, so i am not quite sure what was refurbished in the 2011. Staff is genuinely friendly, which apart from above mentioned location is the only upside. Would I stay again? Absolutely and definitely not.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
362Davor_D, front desk at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for informing us of the details of your stay through TripAdvisor. It is crucial for us to absorb all feedback from our guests’ experiences, both positive and negative, so we can make the appropriate corrections to strengthen our standards.
Please accept our apologies for a less than expected room experience. We will follow up with the appropriate department heads for remediation.
Also, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff – indeed, we are all friendly because we truly enjoy working here and interacting with our guests.
However, your comment about „drunk tourists“ we do find inappropriate as majority (if not all) of our guests are families with children, married couples, businessman etc. with best possible manners and etiquette. But you were right about one thing, our hotel indeed is in an excellent location.
It is our hope that your impression of the hotel has not been marred permanently, and that you will give us another opportunity to welcome back you at our Hotel Jagerhorn.
Sincerely,
All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Davor Doronjga
Front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel Jagerhorn. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were quite comfortable and very quiet (the hotel is set back away from the main street). The breakfasts were very good and it was nice to choose whether to sit inside or outside in a quiet courtyard. My only slight complaint was a bit of a strong scent in the room (cleaning product?). The other great thing for us was having a free secure car park a short walk away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 108 was very nice except that the window was right at the same level as the outdoor eating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Fantastic stay, 3 nights at the end of July. Pretty much everything I want from a hotel, superb location, very comfortable bed, blackout blinds as well as curtains, wifi that works first time and is quick, good breakfast, a good selection of beers (kudos on the wheat beer :)) in the hotel bar, great value for what you are getting. Would highly recommend if you are coming to Zagreb, worth its reputation on here. And as someone else has said, pass on our thanks to the breakfast waiter, we would have said in person but he had gone on our final morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel via trip advisor and we're not disappointed. The reviews were accurate. It is a very central hotel but as it's set back from the street it's very quiet. The was a good choice at breakfast , the staff are very pleasant and the rooms and bathrooms clean. I would definitely recommend it

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#16 of 56 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
Hotel 9
Hotel 9
#8 of 56 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagerhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhorn

Address: Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jagerhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1827, and fully refurbished in 2011 and 2013, Hotel Jagerhorn is the city's oldest standing hotel. Its unique location, nestled between the city's main pedestrian street and the old town, provides guests with a peaceful and relaxed surrounding at just a stone's throw from the main Ban Jelacic square, the heart of the city. Enjoy a quiet drink by the fountain, or admire the view of the upper town, from the beautiful summer terrace; a natural oasis defying its urban surroundings. The beautifully refurbished rooms are all equipped with free wifi and free nearby private parking is secured. With its friendly staff and warm home-away-from-home atmosphere, the Jagerhorn provides you with the perfect platform to explore the city and neighbouring attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Jagerhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jagerhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.