We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jagerhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jagerhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Jagerhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location, close to everything, rooms are small, but that's all we needed. The staff are so friendly and helpful, made us feel so welcome, the staff deserve 5 stars. The breakfast is great, and can be eaten outside in a lovely garden setting. There is a coffee shop at the front of the building too, and they serve great coffee. We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    121
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
55
202
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is 3.5 stars but given the excellent hospitality I bumped it to 4 stars. The accommodations are simple and clean. We had two rooms one of which was the largest. This is a no frills boutique hotel. Breakfast was adequate. The showers were excellent. In the United states this would be a 2 star hotel however for reference. The location is the best.

Room Tip: book the largest room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We was lodged in a very bad hotel (no name…), we choose to change for Jägerhorn, on the same street and we was very pleased, perfectly clean, nice room, very kind staff, delicious breakfast, working internet, huge and powerful shower.
Highly recommandable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a disappointment! After finishing a wonderful Croatian hiking vacation where we stayed in a variety of small, distinct hotels with tons of character, we were looking forward to spending a few nights in the top-rated TripAdvisor hotel in Zagreb. With reviews like "wonderful gem" and "clean, quiet, great location" we thought this would be perfect. While it might have been fine for people with different needs, it was inadequate for us. The room was too small for our luggage-(one medium and and one small suitcase each), the carpet was filthy, the curtains sheer, and there were seven lights that shone into our room. If you have to stay there, stay away from room 104. Our travel companions did not lights shining in their room. On the positive side, the location was central, the bathroom tiny but there was hot water and lots of water pressure, the breakfast adequate although not outstanding, and when we arrived someone did bring our luggage up the long staircase (there are many hotels with elevators, but this was not one of them). The reception staff were relatively friendly, but all in all this hotel was not worthy of a #1 rating. i would rate it 3 stars were it not for the filthy carpet, sheer curtains, and shining lights.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 104 if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback during your recent stay. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

We sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. We regret that we did not provide the level of service we strive to extend to all our guests and we apologize for the inconveniences experienced. We assure you we will address your comments with the team and make immediate improvements.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence and trust.

Sincerely,
All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Davor Doronjga
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Jagerhorn during the final night of our Croatian honeymoon. The afternoon hotel receptionist was very helpful with directions and even arranged for our airport taxi the following morning. The hotel is located in the heart of Zagreb, very conveniently located to many of the major sights, shopping and restaurants. Considering the hotel is rather small (only two floors of around 18 rooms, the hotel felt very personal). There are very quaint public spaces both in the lobby/coffee shop and outside cafes. The room was very quaint (but modern) and clean. The included morning buffet breakfast (European) was of very high quality (while also in a very nice outdoor setting). I also highly commend the host for the breakfast as he was very efficient and polite. I should also mention the hotel Wi-Fi was the best we had experienced all trip (in any lodging or establishment).

I highly recommend a stay at the Hotel Jagerhorn in Zagreb!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of Hotel Jägerhorn is really central and good. The parking is for free nearby. The breafast was also very good. The rooms could be a bit renewed. There are a lot of nice restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent a delightful weekend in Zagreb and stayed at the Jagerhorn. The hotel is located a few blocks from Ban Jelačić Square, right between upper and lower towns- this is perfect for visititing the major museums and churches. The English-speaking staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast had a nice variety of options and great coffee. Parking is free and in a private lot however it is a few blocks from the hotel. We look forward to another stay here on our next visit to Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for finding time to write this review. We are very glad that you had a great time exploring Zagreb.

Also, we would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are sincerely hoping that you will return to Zagreb one day and give us the pleasure to welcome you again.

Until next time.
All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Davor Doronjga
Front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jagerhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhorn

Address: Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jagerhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1827, and fully refurbished in 2011 and 2013, Hotel Jagerhorn is the city's oldest standing hotel. Its unique location, nestled between the city's main pedestrian street and the old town, provides guests with a peaceful and relaxed surrounding at just a stone's throw from the main Ban Jelacic square, the heart of the city. Enjoy a quiet drink by the fountain, or admire the view of the upper town, from the beautiful summer terrace; a natural oasis defying its urban surroundings. The beautifully refurbished rooms are all equipped with free wifi and free nearby private parking is secured. With its friendly staff and warm home-away-from-home atmosphere, the Jagerhorn provides you with the perfect platform to explore the city and neighbouring attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jagerhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jagerhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.