We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jagerhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jagerhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Jagerhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good directions helped us drive straight to the free parking and walk to the hotel with ease. Courteous, helpful staff and an excellent breakfast complete with eggs and espresso in a lovely garden setting really started the days of right. Bed and room were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Small hotel. All rooms located i quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback! We are happy to hear that our parking instructions which you received upon reservation have helped you find our hotel easily. And we're delighted that your stay with us exceeded your expectations!

Looking forward to the opportunity of your next stay!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    134
    18
    9
    1
See reviews for
58
220
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here twice, a few nights each time. The location is fantastic, which is always a good starting point. Everyone, from the reception staff, to the breakfast and bar staff and the room attendants, were all friendly and genuinely helpful. The rooms were basic but spacious enough, and very clean. The Jagerhorn has pitched itself perfectly. OK you don't get a bar fridge, luxury toiletries, pillow menu etc, but what you do get is a fantastic location, friendly staff, and a room that is clean and comfortable and a great place to come back to after wandering around the beautiful city of Zagreb. The rooms really are fantastic value. You don't have to worry about noise, trying to navigate public transport, or heavy tourist traffic. Both times we had a nice view into the courtyard garden area. The Jagerhorn really is a great little oasis to come back to after you have been exploring Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Zagreb! We appreciate you took time to write your review which includes so nicely all elements of your stay with us. Thank you for complimenting our staff, they will be informed about your positive feedback which serves as a motivation for us to keep working in this field with pleasure.

We are looking forward to the next visit to your peaceful oasis in Zagreb centre!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, MN
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel suited my needs in every way. The location was great - very near to all old town sights but still quiet. In fact it is at the bottom of the walk down from the top. The people at re epitome were very helpful. Breakfast was very good and contained anything you could have wanted.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and posting your review! It is always a great pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and received a good service from our staff. We appreciate your kind words and we are looking forward to the possibility of welcoming you again!

All the best from Jagerhorn team,

Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Jagerhorn for two nights. Central location made it excellent base to see the wonderful city. Staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the wi fi reliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay with us and writing your kind review!

We hope you had a great touring holiday and that Croatia and Zagreb fulfilled your expectations!

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again,

All the best from Jagerhorn team

Irma Milet
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want to be at the pulse of the city but also want to retreat from the crowds, then this is the place. In two minutes, you can walk to the Main Jelacica square but you are also able to return to the hotel throughout the day to use the bathroom or escape the heat. The hotel arranged for a taxi pick up from the airport. About $20 (98KN). Small rooms and small bathrooms. Great breakfast served on a leafy terrace. The main hotel entrance is up a store-llined alleyway and at night the entrance gate at the Main Ilica Street is locked and you buzz to get into the alley. I felt perfectly safe out and about at night as a single female. The stairs out the back of the hotel lead up a steep hill to Lotrscak Tower where you get a wonderful panorama of the city. Although the stairs "cut to the chase", you might want an easier route. Option B is to take the funicular just down from the hotel for 5KN/person or meander up from Jelacica square. Directly across from the hotel is a pedestrian area and there is a great grocery store downstairs where you can pickup toothpaste, sunscreen, toothpaste, water, foods, etc. I had thought about staying at the Esplanade Hotel but it is farther away from everything and I am glad I didn't. I will also be staying at the Dubrovnik Hotel later in my trip but the outside is rather unattractive and as soon as you step out of the hotel you are among throngs of humanity. That is why I like the Jagerhorn. It feels like a reprieve from busy sightseeing days. There are no alarm clocks in the room nor is there a pad of paper and/or pen. I might suggest the hotel add these things. Bakeries and outdoor cafes abound and part of the coffee "see and be seen" culture in Zagreb means buying a pastry/pizza along the street and bringing it with you to the outdoor cafe (many of them don't have food just coffee and alcohol). You can sit and sip and stay as long as you like ( or for as long as you can tolerate the abundant smokers!). Zagreb is casual. The women are stylish. Teenage girls wear short shorts and platform sandals. Young men run around in shorts, tshirts and flip flops. Some guys sport ponytails and Birkenstocks. Many young women /men have tattoos. Graffiti is everywhere. Maybe someday they will clean it up. The Croats consider themselves to be Central European and not Eastern European or as belonging to the Balkans. For the Croatian vs Serbia soccer game, there were huge screens set up all over the pedestrian areas of town and it was a huge block party. Great fun. The local brandy (rajika) was sold in test tubes, People wore their colors. There is pride and Zagreb and it is worth spending more than the usual one night stopover.

Room Tip: Choose a backside room. They are quieter. Have the hotel arrange for a taxi if you are coming from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for such a lovely review! We really enjoyed reading it, it seems like a traveller's blog review :) We loved the way you described your impressions of Croatians and our culture. Hopefully you liked it and enjoyed your overall stay here!

We appreciate a lot that you took time to comment our hotel as well and your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to everyone who wish to explore the city from the very central location which also provides a peaceful oasis whenever they need one.

We truly hope you will visit Zagreb and Jagerhorn hotel soon again!

All the best for Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed two nights and found this place great. Staff were fantastic, location was great, right amongst everything and a short walk to the funicular to the upper old town. This is a bargain for the location. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback!

We appreciate your compliments and recommendations and would be looking forward to welcoming you soon again!


All the best for Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in May and absolutely loved it. We were expected late and someone was there on arrival to help us with our backs from the parking lot (this is probably the only central Zagreb hotel in the pedestrian precinct with the parking lot)! They helped us to our room with our baggage and even provided storage for the buggy on the ground floor. Our room was spacious even with the extra junior bed. Breakfast was served with excellent coffee. The staff are so helpful, we will definitely return. The only thing to keep in mind is if you struggle with stairs / walking there is no lift and it is in the pedestrian zone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma_Mi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Jagerhorn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and taking time to write your review!

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good assistance at arrival. Thank you for the comments about our staff and breakfast, we appreciate it a lot.

We will be very pleased to welcome you next time you will be visiting Zagreb!

All the best for Jagerhorn team,
Irma Milet
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jagerhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhorn

Address: Ilica 14, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jagerhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1827, and fully refurbished in 2011 and 2013, Hotel Jagerhorn is the city's oldest standing hotel. Its unique location, nestled between the city's main pedestrian street and the old town, provides guests with a peaceful and relaxed surrounding at just a stone's throw from the main Ban Jelacic square, the heart of the city. Enjoy a quiet drink by the fountain, or admire the view of the upper town, from the beautiful summer terrace; a natural oasis defying its urban surroundings. The beautifully refurbished rooms are all equipped with free wifi and free nearby private parking is secured. With its friendly staff and warm home-away-from-home atmosphere, the Jagerhorn provides you with the perfect platform to explore the city and neighbouring attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jagerhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jagerhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.