We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AS

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel AS to your Saves list
Hotel AS
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zelengaj 2a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Peace and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Definitely classifiable as a boutique hotel, a delightful spot tucked away in an exclusive suburb north of the city, up the hill from the British Square. Architecturally attractive building. Excellent rooms, efficient service, outdoor eating area. Walk up the steps to the park, there are a lot of steps and you will be glad to reach the beer stall near the top. Breakfast buffet is good, meals were good, but check the menu, there are some pricy options. Free wifi with open access. Half hourly bus from the British Square till midnightish, it is too far and steep to walk after a night out. The stay was on an organised group.

Room Tip: Talking to our group, they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as a family with a small baby, getting a rest after two connecting flights, on our way to Pula. I found this hotel following some research via booking.com and we loved every moment since arrival.

it is situated VERY close to the city center, in a middle of a FOREST (go figure), giving you the timeless feeling of being somewhere far away in the countryside. The hotel itself is very adequate for its 4 stars, the suite we've got very nicely organized, everything is clean and service is above average.

The fish restaurant gives you this remote Baden-Baden feeling of dining amidst people in no hurry (save the old time glitter) and most important by this time of the year - you sit enveloped by serenity, the forest tranquility occasionally interrupted by passing cars on a nearby road just to remind you are still alive.

We are definitely staying for a second night! This is just to good to be missed - the hotel is also good for a business traveller with a longer agenda in town - it is definitely worth the extra 5-10 minutes spent commuting in comparison to any other city hotel, although you might need a car - we are using a rental (avis somewhat overpriced in this country) but definitely worth the chill.

If I am ti be back to Zagreb I will consider this forest jewel for sure!

Andrey

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic location in a very nice neighborhood
Very spacious rooms traditional setting
Extremely friendly staff
Great restaurant and breakfast
Fantastic location in a very nice neighborhood
Very spacious rooms traditional setting
Extremely friendly staff
Great restaurant and breakfast

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at Hotel As for three nights in August 2013 - a family with a 15-year-old girl. We liked the location in a very beautiful area, in the middle of a big park and we also liked the distinct building. It is not a 10 min walk to the center of Zagreb as described by some guests, but this was not a problem for us, since it was easy to find parking place at the city center during the weekend in mid August. The hotel facilities (restaurant, bar, lobby) were really very nice. Free private parking, free wi fi, variety of brochures and maps for Zagreb and all parts of Croatia are offered to the guests. Elegant, well equiped room (mini bar, air condition), nice bathroom. Very polite staff.
On the negative side: a) the breakfast is below what one expects from a four star hotel, b) having an "extra bed" in a double room (as we did) made the room a little bit uncomfortable c) we consider the it a bit expensive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 14 other lads stayed here for two nights, each and everyone of us was very impressed with the hotel.

All I can say is that Neven is a star and nothing was to small for him to help with. He helped organise transfers from/to the airport, an activity to keep 15 lads happy and he even put on a 'welcome to Zagreb' drink. The hotel itself was lovely and clean, modern and the rooms were a pleasant surprise, they were massive!! Normal stag dues don't get the pleasure to stay in such nice places but this hotel helped kick off the weekend in the right way.

The hotel was a bit out of town to walk it (depends on your occasion for visiting) but taxi's are so cheap it was worth just having the hotel organise one.

Overall I would fully recommend staying at this hotel for any occasion.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

AS Hotel is best of other! Good place near from centre in the wood. Rooms are comfortable. People who working in this hotel are very polite. Restorant is nice, good music dishes teasty. Taxi come for a few minutes. If I will come to Zagreb I stay in hotel AS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Located just outside Zagreb, this hotel is an awesome place to stay. It has a private parking and it quite a few kms from the city. Very calm and serene place to stay with family and friends. The hotel has a large shaded area and it is very lovely. I rested there almost every evening I stayed in that hotel. I almost got everything I wanted. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The rooms were cleanly maintained and they welcomed me with a welcome drink. I will cherish the moments spent here. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
1.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#16 of 56 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#5 of 56 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AS

Address: Zelengaj 2a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel AS 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AS is located in the lovely wooded and park area of Zelengaj, in the very green belt of Zagreb city centre. In spite of its calm and peaceful surrounds, all the essential venues of the city and its cultural and historical features of interest are within easy reach of the hotel. Distance to Britanski square (one of the picturesque city square from which goes on Ilica street – the main city shopping area) is 3 minutes by bus (bus station is in front of the hotel) or 15 minutes of the delightful walk. The hotel has all the appropriate ancillary facilities, such as a la carte restaurant (all dishes are also available in room service menu), a large summer garden, free parking lot, free Wi-fi in all the public and private areas of the hotel, free internet corner, a conference room, 20 deluxe air conditioned rooms and three suites - two junior suites and one business suite. The rooms are all very large (from 30 to 64 square meters) and are appointed with elegant furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel AS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel AS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.