We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AS

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel AS to your Saves list
Hotel AS
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zelengaj 2a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Piece of Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as a family with a small baby, getting a rest after two connecting flights, on our way to Pula. I found this hotel following some research via booking.com and we loved every moment since arrival.

it is situated VERY close to the city center, in a middle of a FOREST (go figure), giving you the timeless feeling of being somewhere far away in the countryside. The hotel itself is very adequate for its 4 stars, the suite we've got very nicely organized, everything is clean and service is above average.

The fish restaurant gives you this remote Baden-Baden feeling of dining amidst people in no hurry (save the old time glitter) and most important by this time of the year - you sit enveloped by serenity, the forest tranquility occasionally interrupted by passing cars on a nearby road just to remind you are still alive.

We are definitely staying for a second night! This is just to good to be missed - the hotel is also good for a business traveller with a longer agenda in town - it is definitely worth the extra 5-10 minutes spent commuting in comparison to any other city hotel, although you might need a car - we are using a rental (avis somewhat overpriced in this country) but definitely worth the chill.

If I am ti be back to Zagreb I will consider this forest jewel for sure!

Andrey

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Binyamina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic location in a very nice neighborhood
Very spacious rooms traditional setting
Extremely friendly staff
Great restaurant and breakfast
Fantastic location in a very nice neighborhood
Very spacious rooms traditional setting
Extremely friendly staff
Great restaurant and breakfast

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at Hotel As for three nights in August 2013 - a family with a 15-year-old girl. We liked the location in a very beautiful area, in the middle of a big park and we also liked the distinct building. It is not a 10 min walk to the center of Zagreb as described by some guests, but this was not a problem for us, since it was easy to find parking place at the city center during the weekend in mid August. The hotel facilities (restaurant, bar, lobby) were really very nice. Free private parking, free wi fi, variety of brochures and maps for Zagreb and all parts of Croatia are offered to the guests. Elegant, well equiped room (mini bar, air condition), nice bathroom. Very polite staff.
On the negative side: a) the breakfast is below what one expects from a four star hotel, b) having an "extra bed" in a double room (as we did) made the room a little bit uncomfortable c) we consider the it a bit expensive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 14 other lads stayed here for two nights, each and everyone of us was very impressed with the hotel.

All I can say is that Neven is a star and nothing was to small for him to help with. He helped organise transfers from/to the airport, an activity to keep 15 lads happy and he even put on a 'welcome to Zagreb' drink. The hotel itself was lovely and clean, modern and the rooms were a pleasant surprise, they were massive!! Normal stag dues don't get the pleasure to stay in such nice places but this hotel helped kick off the weekend in the right way.

The hotel was a bit out of town to walk it (depends on your occasion for visiting) but taxi's are so cheap it was worth just having the hotel organise one.

Overall I would fully recommend staying at this hotel for any occasion.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

AS Hotel is best of other! Good place near from centre in the wood. Rooms are comfortable. People who working in this hotel are very polite. Restorant is nice, good music dishes teasty. Taxi come for a few minutes. If I will come to Zagreb I stay in hotel AS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Located just outside Zagreb, this hotel is an awesome place to stay. It has a private parking and it quite a few kms from the city. Very calm and serene place to stay with family and friends. The hotel has a large shaded area and it is very lovely. I rested there almost every evening I stayed in that hotel. I almost got everything I wanted. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The rooms were cleanly maintained and they welcomed me with a welcome drink. I will cherish the moments spent here. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

It was not a fantastic hotel, however a normal hotel with basic amenities. The staff were courteous and we enjoyed our stay in Hotel AS located in Zagreb city. Fish meal is very famous in this hotel. We have come here two times before and this is the third time. It is green everywhere in this hotel and is about 15 minutes walk from the city centre. The private parking in this hotel is clean and tidy. We needed hot drinking water for our kids and the staff were kind enough to arrange it even at midnight. We were surprised by their hospitality. It is most recommended for jogging in the morning around these lush greeneries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AS

Address: Zelengaj 2a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel AS 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel AS is located in the lovely wooded and park area of Zelengaj, in the very green belt of Zagreb city centre. In spite of its calm and peaceful surrounds, all the essential venues of the city and its cultural and historical features of interest are within easy reach of the hotel. Distance to Britanski square (one of the picturesque city square from which goes on Ilica street – the main city shopping area) is 3 minutes by bus (bus station is in front of the hotel) or 15 minutes of the delightful walk. The hotel has all the appropriate ancillary facilities, such as a la carte restaurant (all dishes are also available in room service menu), a large summer garden, free parking lot, free Wi-fi in all the public and private areas of the hotel, free internet corner, a conference room, 20 deluxe air conditioned rooms and three suites - two junior suites and one business suite. The rooms are all very large (from 30 to 64 square meters) and are appointed with elegant furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel AS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel AS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.