We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly, but with no arguments....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of OXBO Urban Bar & Grill

OXBO Urban Bar & Grill
Ulica grada Vukovara 269 a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
+385 1 6001 914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 449 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $50
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OXBO Urban Bar & Grill has the best US beef steaks in Zagreb! After you try them there’s no goingback. Restaurant Executive Chef Tomislav Nikšić has created a contemporary menu, with popular foods from Croatia, Europe, The America’s and Asia. OXBO is located on one of the main roads in Zagreb, Ulica grada Vukovara. Your new favorite restaurant in Zagreb features urban design - with the open theatre kitchen at the heart of the action. You can sit at the dining bar and feel the heat of the busy kitchen. In the restaurant’s informal atmosphere steal the cooking tips and a recipe or two from our OXBO kitchen team. With a variety of seating options, OXBO suits your mood at any given time, whether you’re coming in for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Sibenik, Croatia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Costly, but with no arguments....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've visited this restaurant chiefly because they claim they've got Black Angus beef on their menu. It turned out that the waiter had no clue what prime-rib means. We've had some salads and carpaccio for the starter and selection of steaks with grilled vegetables and sauces for the main course. Some of the veggies were old and should not be served in such restaurant (probably coming from local retail chain Konzum or similar), but sauces were success. Steaks were properly grilled, but .....the taste was below par. The desert was souffle and it was a failure. Now, it seems that everything went south during this visit, but it wasn't all that bad.It's only that I expect much more from such a place and so ambitious menu. I hope, given time and some further training, that this will be a place to visit when it comes to steaks. And, yes, they are too costly for no particular reason.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strives to provide, and we apologize your dining experience was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

With regards,

Damir Huber, Food and Beverage Service Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
“A successful mixture of urban restaurant and steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was Sunday and when I was invited to this restaurant for a business lunch, I thought that I won't enjoy in a restaurant which is a part of a hotel. But I was so pleasantly surprised. Since I've entered the restaurant, I've forgotten my attitude. The restaurant has a real urban flaire, is very nice, with all kinds of sitting possibilities. I am a meat cutter and I know a good piece of steak, and this restaurant exceeded my expectations. Wow, the steak melt in my mouth. Service was top notch. My glass of water and my glass of wine was always full. If you search for a great meal with great urban atmosphere, this is your place. You will feel spoiled and stay there longer that you've intended at first.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing OXBO Urban Bar & Grill for your business lunch and posting this positive review.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our steak selection and our caring service.

I hope to see you soon.

With regards,

Damir Huber, Food & Beverage Service Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Limp lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Sounds like I'm going against the grain with the reviews here, but....had lunch here...distinctly unimpressive....ordered chicken ceasar...limp salad, no taste, seemed to lack the basic ingredients of a chicken ceasar. They might be good at steaks, but a basis salad seemed to be beyond them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry to hear that we didn't manage to make your lunch with us a satisfactory one. We appreciate your feedback and I will discuss your comments about the Caesar salad with our Executive Chef.

We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back so we can improve on your first impression.

With regards,

Damir Huber, Food & Beverage Service Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I am HOOKED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am a meat lover! I love all kinds of meat, but since I have spent a good portion of my life in USA, I appreciate good steaks and burgers.
Although I was born in Zagreb, and I love it and it's restaurant scene, I pretty much gave up on finding a restaurant that will offer me a really good steak.

Thanks to my business partner who stayed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and his idea to grab a quick lunch in their OXBO restaurant, I have found my favorite restaurant in Zagreb. I had no idea they even existed, and not only that! That they have the best beef in Zagreb! Oh joy!!!

We took what they call an OXBO salad with black Angus flank steak and baby shrimp (I thought it would be a nice meal for a quick lunch)...it was everything but a quick lunch! After having a perfectly cooked flank stake with the perfect amount of seasoning I went for my favorite- a BURGER. Now, I've had my share of burgers in life, but this burger was extraordinary! Love the homemade ketchup, love the homemade potatoes, love the burger!

I went back today-still fascinated!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

it's always nice to receive a nice appraisal but what makes me very happy to hear is that we managed to satisfy your love for the steaks. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are hoping to stay your favorite restaurant for a long time.

Hope to see you again soon.

With regards,

Damir Huber, Food & Beverage Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were drawn to the restaurant because of it was recommended as a great stake place. The stakes were really excellent, the rest of the food was a bit over seasoned for my taste, but maybe it was meant to suit an American palate. The deserts were rather creative and mostly fruit inspired. The atmosphere and setting is lovely although it's right in the lobby of a big business hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Manager at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for dining at OXBO Urban Bar & Grill and taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our stakes and apologize if the seasoning was not to your taste.

Should you be joining us in the future, we would be more than happy to accommodate your preference.

Hope to see you soon.

With regards,

Damir Huber, Food & Beverage Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OXBO Urban Bar & Grill also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to OXBO Urban Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OXBO Urban Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.