We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calypso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Calypso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Calypso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hojnikova 43, Zagreb 10250, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“HR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First class service, super staff willing to please you, and just a km from motorway, ideal for rest stop on long trips. lovely rooms and super prices. Large buffet breakfast.
Good internet. Free ample parking.

Room Tip: Nice rooms (better than my last 4 star hotel in HR)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here 1 night in Zagreb after a long day in Plitvice Lakes. The check-in was very quick & the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean withnice, modern decor & a bigger than average bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and check-out was a breeze. The location of this hotel is very convenient as it was very close to the main highway as well as the airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night in Zagreb and were supposed to leave for Ljubljana in the morning. Hotel Calypso served as a good base because of its proximity to the highway. The rooms were spacious and the breakfast was plentiful. The staff was particularly helpful and overall the hotel is very good value for money. I would assume that it'll be good for business travelers as well as leisure travelers who used rented cars to travel from Zagreb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bastia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A wonderful place, very nice spaceous, comfortable, clean rooms; we had a great time there and a very good meal at the restaurant of the hotel!. Everybody was very nice and helpful. I had forgotten my Iphone in the room the day we left and they sent it to me by post and insisted to pay the post fees. I am very greatful to them for that and I say "Thank you " again!
We highly recommend the hotel and we will certainly stay there again if we come back to Croatia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stay here for 2 nights and was impressed by all the staff especially at reception. I had to extend from 1 night to 2 because of the strike at Zagreb airport and it was no problem.
All requests for taxis etc were done quickly and had no problems.
Apartment type room high standard finish and very clean.
If you have business in this area I would definately recommend the Calypso.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Calypso for 2 nights on our recent visit to Zagreb. The reception staff are very friendly, helpful and speak English well. The rooms were new and clean and the food was good in the restaurant. Free parking and wifi. Nothing but good things to say about the hotel and staff. It's a bit of a hike to the city centre, but it's is an easy train or bus ride. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very friendly staff on reception and restaurant.
Our rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The only thing was I found a plastic thing in my food (chicken risotto) but the waitress were very kind and they offered me complimentary dessert straight away.
Definitely recommend it if u just need to stay for a night but to visit the city centre is too far away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso

Address: Hojnikova 43, Zagreb 10250, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calypso Hotel *** was built on the long-standing tradition of the Calypso restaurant. We are a small family apartment hotel which disposes of supremely equipped rooms and apartments.Hotel Calypso*** is perfect for your business partners, as well as tourists. We also take care of needs of disabled guests; we ensured accessible accommodation and adjusted the rooms.In a pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant and beautiful garden pavilions enjoyable for relaxing, experience our superb domestic cuisine and offer your partners an unforgettable gastronomic and enological experience. The restaurant has the capacity of 200 chairs. We organize business banquets, dinners, presentations and other events.There is a free parking space for up to 100 vehicles or several buses which is completely under video surveillance.The hotel reception is open 0-24 and it is ready to welcome you at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.