We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishingly good food in a relaxed tapas bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mali Bar

Mali Bar
Vlaska 63, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
00-385-1-5531014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 449 Restaurants in Zagreb
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Contemporary, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated 5 min walk from the central city square, tucked away in typical Zagreb courtyard, Mali Bar is perfect place for lunch, after work or after shopping drinks and relaxed dinner, tapas style. Food is made from seasonal, day fresh ingredients from farmers market and with the signature of the Croatian tv chef Ana Ugarkovic.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Astonishingly good food in a relaxed tapas bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's obvious real care goes into sourcing the ingredients here and real skill goes into the cooking. I had super-fresh mozzarella drizzled with basil and olive oil, and I'd score the vegetable tempura 10/10 - not an easy dish to cook flawlessly. And I'm planning to go back for the porcini ravioli before I leave town. Friendly staff, good local wine list. (NB TA map currently displays incorrect lcoation.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cozy, fresh, amazing gastronomic experience in a interesting spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We had the arugula soup, summer salad, and tempura. Food was freshly made, service was extremely friendly, wife had a glass of wine. Bread came with meal. Discovered it on Taste of Croatia app. So glad we did. Only regret is that we were too full for dessert. A must try for a wonderful dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“A Breath Of Fresh Air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place (and respective chef for that matter) have been talk of the town for quite a while.
The bar is located in rather shabby doorway from Vlaska street just across Importane Galerija shopping mall. The food is fabulous and tapas stile. Crowd is informal and relaxed, and just above restaurant is high quality pizzeria and wine bar. All three places are melting their visitors so you have good moving. Young chef was very exposed in gastro scene and media, but what is more worth to me, and less known generally, she worked at London’s River Café and Fat Duck during their famous days. Yesterday we had selection of tapas with most memorable pumpkin ravioli. All in all place worth visiting for thrilling, modern and very very tasty food for affordable money.
No credit cards though…
Will come back again, and again, and again…….

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ambient and we will visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice and relaxing atmosphere especially with a choice of indoor and outdoor seating. We experienced good and friendly service. Our dishes were light and tasty, enjoyable.
We would enjoy it better with slightly bigger portions!! Chocolate cake with olive oil was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Simple, tasty and quite special food in a friendly cosy place run by well known chef Ana Ugarkovic. Try many small courses to get the whole experience...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mali Bar also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Mali Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mali Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.