We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Hotel - Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ulica Grada Vukovara 269a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Hotel - Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at some fine properties during our current European trip, including all three Hiltons in Vienna, the Hilton Innsbruck, the Bratislava Sheraton, and the Westin Zagreb. They have been uniformly very good, but even among those illustrious hostelries this new Doubletree in Zagreb stands out as a highlight during our current two-night stay.

First, we had no trouble getting to the hotel from the main railway station on Tram No. 2. Once there, we were greeted warmly by the front desk personnel, who then proceeded to find us a room already available at 11:00 a.m. We received a few extra perks as Hilton Hhonors Diamonds, but we observed that all guests are treated with great friendliness and consideration.

The hotel is very modern and I can understand why some previous reviewers found the modern technology a bit puzzling. In fact, the check-in clerk escorted us to the elevator and showed us where to press our room key card (a little symbol at the bottom below the numbers) to allow us access to our floor. Once at the room, one does likewise with the card on a little rectangular display panel at the side of the door to gain access to the room. Inside you press various little buttons on a touchpad with pictograms to turn the lights on and off, and to signal "do not disturb" or "please make up my room" on the exterior panel.

We have seen similar arrangements in Asian hotels and it's very usable once we become accustomed to it.

We were assigned to a King Deluxe room. It is large - very large by European standards - with a small sofa at the foot of the bed that almost functions as a room divider and faces on a separate TV and office area. The room features floor to ceiling windows. One window opens a few inches, allowing us some fresh air and the chance to cool off the room for sleep. Ironically, unlike some earlier reviewers we find this and most European rooms too warm for our tastes and always appreciate being able to lower the temperature and simultaneously allow some fresh air in.

There is a desk chair and two modern upholstered chairs that provide ample seating. The bathroom includes a tub and a separate shower, complete with a "rain shower" option. Everything is modern and sleek and environmentally conscious in an almost Scandinavian style. We appreciated the bathrobes and slippers.

The fitness center, swimming pool, whirlpool and spa complex is most impressive.

We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant last night, OXBO Urban Bar & Grill. It was expensive but featured an innovative and varied menu, quality food and excellent service. The breakfast buffet, while not the largest, is probably one of the best ones we have enjoyed on this current trip. Again, the employees are uniformly eager to please.

Tonight we are trying the Sofra Bosnian Restaurant (well reviewed on TA) literally next door to the hotel in another modern multi-storey building apparently developed by the Doubletree owners.

We are on the eighth floor and the Internet problems discussed previously must have been resolved as our devices are working flawlessly both on cable and wireless.

One small vignette illustrates the outstanding employee service. My wife has a cold and hoped to make another cup of the Twinings Green Tea & Lemon that we found this morning in our coffee and tea package. Alas, there were three other kinds of tea but no Lemon tea. The housekeeper was still on our floor and I asked if she had any more. Her English was limited but I managed to get across what I was looking for. She had none but she asked for my room number. Five minutes later another employee knocked on our door and delivered five packets of Green Tea & Lemon with a smile.

Incidentally, when I inquired at the front desk this morning about buying a single-ride tram ticket to the train station when we depart Easter Sunday, the employee quickly convinced to let her reserve us a taxi to the station and charge it to our room for about a dollar more than it would cost to take the tram. We took Tram No. 13 from the hotel to and from the Old Town without having to transfer. While the hotel is a distance from that major tourist area, we found the trams make it quite practical. All of our experiences at the Doubletree have been so positive as to make it worth the modest effort.

In summary, I'm sure it's obvious that we are extremely enthused about this hotel, and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

we are very happy that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your recent visit to our town and we're delighted that our staff made your stay a memorable one.

I am glad that you liked the set up of your room and all the amenities in it and have shared the feedback of your stay with our whole team who were pleased that we created a rewarding experience for you and your wife.

We thank you for the review and look forward to welcome you back.

WIth regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    105
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
54
109
31
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights while on weekend visit to Zagreb. Easy to find from the bus station where the Pleso bus drops you off in Zagreb, it was about a 5 minute walk. Checkin was quick and friendly, everything was explained and allocated room on the 7th floor.

Room was generous but oblong shaped. Nice work desk area but tv was fixed to the end of the bed which was odd and there was no possibility to move it. Modern room, clean and furnished tastefully. The bed was wonderful. clean, firm and easy to sleep in. Bathroom was great, separate shower area and tub, lots of space.The floor to ceiling windows added to the natural light. I know it is a new hotel and I hope they keep up the good housekeeping & cleaning.

Did use the gym & pool which is located on the 10th floor and the pool was freezing but the view onto the street below made up for it, it was a decent length so you can do your laps. There is also a sauna & steam room with some loungers to relax on. It is busy as it is also open to the public.

Breakfast was included in the rate and but was only average. The hot cooked items were just warm and not helped by the chef keeping the lids open. Eggs were cooked to order, either fried, poached or a small omelet which was better. The pastries, breads and cold cuts and cold items were a better choice. Even though it was a weekend it was not especially busy. The staff were were all helpful.

I would recommend the hotel as it new, modern and the location is not too bad. The tram # 2 from outside the hotel takes you into town quickly or the tram # 13 goes the long way around and the day pass ticket at 40 kuna is good value ( buy at the bus station kiosk when you arrive and remember to validate on your first tram trip). Old Tram # 6 from the bus station is also recommended for the heated seats, lovely !! If you are staying on a Saturday night try not to have a room facing the back as the music from the bars in the Green Gold centre does not finish until 3.45 a.m. and was loud. The Sofra Bosnian restaurant in the Green Gold centre next door is also a worth a trip as the food is good and great value. Agava was excellent and the best dining I have had for a while. Also ate at Restoran Lanterna , which was more homely and bigger portions but again good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

we are happy that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your weekend break and that our team made your stay memorable.

Our Housekeeping appreciates your compliments and will keep up the good work. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the pool temperaure and will share your feedback with our fitness service provider in order to prevent this from hapenning in the future. We also shared your feedback on the breakfast experience with our Executive Chef so we can improve on it.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days during one weekend in February 2013. Newish hotel, not too far from city center (20 minutes walking, short ride with taxi, which is cheap). Good breakfast selection, quick and friendly check in, and new and superbly equiped fitnes center on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear gust,

we're glad that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your recent stay in our city and are happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a brand new, recently opened hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is solid.

The hotel is conveniently located in the business area of the city, so arrival with the car should not be a problem. However, if you don't travel for business but as a tourist, this might not be your first option because it is outside of the city center and you would have to rely on taxi or public transportation.

On the negative side, the garage below the hotel is a public garage in which two floors are reserved for the hotel guests but you have to pay cca. 16 EUR/day, which I found pricey.

Also, the heating solution is not the best, so bring some warm clothes. You can adjust the A/C manually, but it is just cold even if the thermostat shows 23 degrees and it is kept at about 20.5 when the power is out.

As someone who used to stay in Zagreb often, I can say that DoubleTree is at the level of Arcotel Allegra, Aristos, AS or Dubrovnik, but below Antunovic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We have shared your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you again.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I just came back from a three-night-stay at the Doubletree in Zagreb and feel like I have to write this review immediately, because I had such a good time staying there.
I had business at Zagreb university, walking distance 20 min from the hotel, so it was ideal for me. Otherwise, the neighbourhood is not very interesting - nor particularly nice, but even going back to Zagreb on a holiday I would consider staying at the Doubletree again, you have a tram that takes you directly from outside the hotel to the city center or you could have the hotel send for a taxi ( there is a fierce competition between taxi companies and the hotel will call the cheapest among them for you, so a trip into the city should cost about 5€ ). The hotel is so nice that it might be worth it, of course, if you want to be in the middle of the old town, this is not the place for you.
Everything else at the Doubletree was perfect. The hotel is brandnew, it opened in November last year. Modern building, cool design, extremely friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast is wonderful, hot and cold, buffet and omelettes etc made to order. On the last floor there is a full blown World Class fitness center, open to hotel guests. Apart from studio classes and a well equipped gym there is a 10-m-pool, sauna and steambath with nice views over the city.
Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

we appreciate you taking the time and posting a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you soon.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVG
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

First of all the bulding is brand new and looks spic&span..they have cookies to greet you upon arrival which is always nice welcome..and the cookies are yummy..
the room are standard hilton but they are cold because of the bad insulation of the wide windows..
another against is the noise that in special nights come from the nearby disco..the woomwoomwoom it's quite annoying
people at the front desk tend to be very helpful as well as the room service
from the hotel you can easily reach the railway station or the center with a easy walk or you can use the beautiful tram service
breakfast is definitely too expensive

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for the temperature in the room. Usually the rooms are set to be heated before you arrive but we will check with our Chief Engineer what was the problem with your room.

We do hope to welcome you again.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great hotel, in the average level of Hilton Chain.
The rooms though were not huge and the lighting switch system was a nightmare... Maybe I"m stupid but I would need at least 3 days to learn by memory how the lights work and avoid having to turn ALL the lights on to see which is the switch for the bathroom.
Amazing bulding with great views of... more buildings.
Wifi hasn't got to the 8th floor!
Friendly staff and very keen on helping and making everything as good as possible!
Great welcome cookie!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb and for taking the time to post a review.

I am very sorry that you found our light switching system uncomfortable and we will discuss that issue with the relevant department to see what can be done. Alse we were made aware recently about the wireless Internet connection problems and we are working very hard on solving this problem. We do apologize that our service was not up to our usual standards.

I am glad that our team made your stay comfortable and enoyable. I will let them know of your compliments.

We also like the cookie, can't get enough of it.

We do hope to welcome you in the future.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb

Address: Ulica Grada Vukovara 269a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb is conveniently located in the Green Gold business & shopping district; just in walking distance from the city center. The hotel is only 20 minutes (15km) driving from the airport. All of our guest rooms and suites offer the Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree sleep experience, complimentary high-speed internet access, LCD TV and separate shower stall and bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.