We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been there :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Josipa Jelacica)

Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Josipa Jelacica)
Zagreb, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Attractions in Zagreb
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This city center is dominated by a statue of the 19th-century governor of Croatia, which was removed by Tito in 1947 but restored in 1990 as an act of defiance.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“been there :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

it is a square :) ..but a local explained to me where the couples meet "under the watch" :)) some under the horse'e tail the rest under the horses head..pretty funny but it works..i love people iin general..so squares are ment to be visited in every town if u ask me... (on the other hand...expensive coffee!!!! so go to "cvijetni square" or "tkalca" for that ;)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    103
    39
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great square and very central. There are tons of great cafes, which seemed to be the "Zagreb" thing to do, there's lots of great shopping and also a few historically interesting buildings. It's a great starting point for a tour of the city.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hangout in Zagreb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everyone in town shows up on the square, big entertainment center on the weekends. All the trams converge on the square. The street right above and behind the square is the entertainment promenade, pick a table and a beer to watch the parade until all hours of the night. Weekend has a market that you need to claw your way through

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just love this statue, so elegant and graceful. If you need to wait for someone, this is the right place. Around this equestrian statue, there is always someone waiting for someone else.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

busy 24/7 that"s the square people just seating watching the world go by also the main area for the tram stops always busy trams run until the early hours nice bars just off the square and the market

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Josipa Jelacica) also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Josipa Jelacica)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Josipa Jelacica), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.