We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comprehensive museum of Zagreb's history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zagreb City Museum

Zagreb City Museum
Opaticka 20-22, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
1-48 51 358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 64 Attractions in Zagreb
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A somewhat skewed history of the city.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
799 helpful votes 799 helpful votes
“comprehensive museum of Zagreb's history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited this museum last summer when we traveled through Zagreb. I was interested in learning more about the history of the city, since it was clear from walking around that it has Austrian as well as Slavic influences. The museum takes you through the history, from early on with the original tribes, to how the city became the Upper and Lower Towns, to the Nazi era, and the Yugoslav war.

I was very disappointed, though, in how little it covered the most recent war. It seemed to me that they really glossed over Zagreb's involvement, possibly because they didn't even want to acknowledge that it had been involved. It would have been interesting, though, since obviously Zagreb is the capital and all of the main Croatian players were in the city at that time.

Overall, the museum was worth it, and wasn't very expensive. It was a nice way to spend an afternoon inside out of the heat.

*If you like this review, I appreciate you clicking the 'helpful' button; those of us who write reviews live for helpful votes and it motivates us to write more :)*

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“My favourite museum in Zagreb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I think the title says it all. I've been there three times already. A great place to learn more about Zagreb and its history and culture.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Visitors will enjoy this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The museum is centrally located in the old town. It's full of interesting artifacts and explanations about the history of the capital, without being overwhelmingly large and expansive. I have taken visitors there for visits ranging from 1 hour to 2 hours and no one has been disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice old museum in which you can learn about Zagreb history. You can check exhibit in short time so it won't take much o”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice, short exhibit with all of Zagreb's history details. Interesting for someone who want's to learn something about city he visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Artifacts and Historic Materials from the Iron Age to 20th Century”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed seeing what was found under this building in the Historic Gradec area of the Upper Town. English translations are provided for the overview in each room. We did not rent the audio tour - it might be worth a try if more detail in desired. You move from the archaeological materials and building foundations to statues and figures from the Cathedral (nice to see up close), and a wide range of materials from the City's history. The displays are well layed out and lit. Good to visit after you have a little introduction to the history of the upper town and its construction, though not necessary. The costumes and jewelry of officials and in the room on the theater are striking. Check out how print types have changed over the years from illustrated documents to posters at the end. Excellent and interesting displays for museum lovers (plus companions along for the ride).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagreb City Museum also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Zagreb City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zagreb City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.