We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Train Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central to your Saves list
Hotel Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Branimirova 3, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
South Coast of England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Handy for Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose this place as we were on a train travelling vacation and were pleasantly surprised with the value for money. The staff are "mature" people with an air of "getting on with it ". We tend to use hotel staff for local information and they were helpful re: local restarants. The breakfast was very good - just what we wanted to "stoke up" for the day.We had tea each day in the little bar but at night it closes early (like 10:30 if I recall) and we were kinda turfed out , but it certainly gave us something to laugh about - we are used to the bar grille shutters coming down but this place had no shutters so out you go! . Free computer internet access is provided on two of the landings - very handy. The proximity to the station made it a little noisy in the mornings but hearing the city come to life with trams and train announcements was strangely comforting.
Great value , clean /comfortable and handy for city walking tours.

Room Tip: Front of building rooms face a busy city street - fine for some but not everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    74
    67
    13
    2
See reviews for
19
54
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great location near station and underground Mall. Rooms clean and tidy, very few TV channels in English though. Breakfast was very well presented with quite a variety of food, good coffee and good service by the waitrons. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent two nights here during our stay in Zagreb. The rooms were clean, the wifi access was good and we enjoyed the breakfast. The first morning we were a bit disappointed in the coffee, but then we discovered they served espresso if ordered. We were happy after that. It was wonderful to spot our hotel as soon as we got off the train - we had just finished a long hot trip from Budapest and did not want to spend time searching for our hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we got settled in quickly. The rooms were not large but were adequate with lots of storage. I felt we received good value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel has a great location just in front of the central train station.

We arrived on a Sunday at 8am and the guy at the reception (no name tag) was not very polite but despite this he gave us immediately the rooms keys which we appreciated a lot!

The bed was very comfortable and the cleanlines of the room and of the hotel in general was good. The TV channel selection was positive. We had a good sleep as we had a room in the back side of the hotel with no noise.

There was a good choice at the breakfast buffet and the staff was polite and constantly refilling the buffet as well as the cups of coffee/tea and juices!

Something very positive was also that they have a computer with internet and printer at the 1st and 3rd floor fully complimentary.

The walk to the shopping area is very pleasant through the park next to the hotel (about 10 min).

In general we had a pleasant stay and if you don't come with expectations to have 4 or 5 star service or rooms you will surely enjoy your time here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Overall: Best for those wanting a simple, basic overnight stay near the train station. We thought it a little overpriced for the standard, with the price likely reflecting proximity to transport.

This was our 70th hotel stay on an extended around-the-world-trip. We had a twin room for an unexpected overnight stay in Zagreb thanks to the inefficiency of Croatian trains. Our walk-in rate was 700HRK (approx. $115 USD/AUD), with breakfast included. There’s also a small charge for city tax of 7HRK per person per day (around US$1.20).

The hotel is an older style, and the decor reflects this - there’s nothing fancy going on. Our twin room had quite a bit of space, and inluded a small table with two chairs. Whilst the room & bathroom were clean, we had several bed bug bites a week after our stay although we can’t be certain the bites came from here (within this time we also stayed at a hotel in Split), I’d recommend you check mattresses and room furniture for any signs. Note that some people react immediately to the bites, others not at all and most on average around 9 days after being bitten. Whilst we had an initial look, we couldn’t see any blood stains or larvae casings, nor could we find any other internet comments re bedbugs for this hotel. Staff were efficient & polite.

Breakfast reasonable with the usual few hot dishes, cereal, youghurt and fruit. Not great quality but did the job. Room was fairly quiet and free wifi worked well. Mattresses sagged a bit. Small shower cubicle. One window in the room able to opened a little.

The hotel is one block away from Zagreb central train station, and there’s several take-away/fast food places within 4 blocks walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel location is excellent for travelers, very near main train and bus station. I was there only one night. Room was clean, and staff was friendly with some tips for public transport.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Location in Zagreb is great, also extremely handy to train station across the road for connections. Breakfast buffet more than adequate in an eastern European style (eg boiled eggs!). A few caveats though. Specifically requested non-smoking room but it was obvious that the previous occupant or the cleaner was a smoker. Had to leave windows open for hours! Also the local approach of retaining passports doesn't cut it anymore.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Branimirova 3, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Zagreb

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.