We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Heavenly bed and pillows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Zagreb to your Saves list
The Westin Zagreb
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Izidora Krsnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Another Heavenly bed and pillows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We travelled from Budapest to Zagreb by train, we caught a tram from the station which dropped us almost right in front of,the hotel. Excellent helpful and friendly service upon check-in from the young lady, room was big and bed was awesome! We enjoyed our one nights stay, we had a late buffet meal in the dining room, around 8.30pm, maybe some of the food was past it's prime, but my husband enjoyed it. Breakfast was okay, not the best we have had, but certainly, not the worst.

Would recommend the Hotel for convenience to trams and excellence of staff and Heavenly Beds!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    253
    115
    35
    10
See reviews for
57
166
50
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were greeted by a lovely staff that really took care of us. They were all very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure out trip was a good one. We were a little sad to leave this great hotel to be honest. It was centrally located just down the hill from a lot of the city we will always remember.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, they will give it to you if you have a STARWOOD GUEST account
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It has all you can ask from city centre hotel: nice location, walking distance to the city centre, confortable bed, rich buffet breakfast....but, what really impressed me was free of charge in-room tablet and modern and big pool & spa area.
Due to high occupency, we were informed at the checkin that we will be upgraded to junior suite. Once we entered the room, we were really impressed. Room was huge, with big bed and nice view of Zagreb panorama. And more, room was equipped with samsung tablet for free usage while in the hotel. Kids loved it!
The best value for money we ever got.

Pool is realy big, gym is big and equipped really well. Staff is really fiendly and helpful. Garage lacks lightning and could be cleaned more often.

Room Tip: Try to get junior suite! Get upgraded if you can. If you do not suceed, pay for it. it is worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed with Vantage group for two nights. I would rate a 3.5 but rounded up because no real complaints. Don't think it would rate 4* in the U.S. Room and bathroom were a nice size. It was clean, and we did not have anything like some of the pictures with stains and threadbare furnishings that others experienced. But nothing special either. The location was great, just a short walk into the main part of town and very pretty with the National Theater and museums close by. The breakfast buffet was extensive and really good - even had complimentary champagne. We didn't eat any other meals there. No complaints about service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were worried about previous reviews but the Westin lived up to its 5 star rating. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms were a decent size with great showers and comfortable beds. The view over the old city and the hills was fantastic and the short walk to all the sights was very convenient. Only gripe would be the cost of the buffet breakfast - over £20 per person. Eat at Hemingways bar for a budget breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Old City
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

After over a week in more "cramped," older, traditional Eastern European hotels, the Westin in Zagreb was most welcoming. Our bedroom was spacious, beds were comfortable, bathroom surface area adequate, staff helpful. Of course, no matter where one is in the world, Westin hotels promise certain amenities, and this one did not disappoint.

The restaurant was excellent (breakfasts were plentiful and varied).

The Westin's location was very good. Across the street from the tram for a five-minute ride to the main square. We walked it--and that was about 25 minutes. The staff was very helpful. We asked for directions and we were given detailed instructions as to where money could be exchanged, how long it would take to get to certain sites, where to get the tram, and more.

I was surprised to learn that the hotel would not exchange money. I wanted to exchange Croatian kuna for euros. The desk clerk was willing and able to give me kunas for euros, but NOT euros for kunas. I asked why. I was told that providing kunas was a service for the guests, and I said, "I was a guest. Can't I get euros?" Apparently the hotel thinks all its visitors are newly arriving in Croatia and only require kunas, and travelers like me who are leaving the country don't have needs to exchange kunas for euros. Oh well. But it does seem that a major city hotel that is part of a major hotel chain, could provide that simple service.

This was merely annoying and in no way did it impact on the quality of the hotel; it did provide a little amusement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tedbrett, Thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for the feedback which is very encouraging f r the whole team. We are sorry we can not excange Euro to Kuna as we do not have this authority. The authority enables us to excange most common foreign currencies to Euro, however not the other way around. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and remain with our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlbourgeois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Great bathrooms. Great breakfast buffet. Easy 10 minute walk to old town, near Mirama museum, on trolley route. Starwood preferred rooms excellent. Nice lobby and lounge.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mlbourgeois, Great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With best regards,
Gunnar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Address: Izidora Krsnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Zagreb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.