We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free internet and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Zagreb to your Saves list
The Westin Zagreb
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Izidora Krsnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Free internet and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a comfortable stay in this hotel. Tried the restaurant one night. Great buffet for very good price with a good variety of local dishes. Great breakfast. Had it two mornings and skipped the lunch. Free wifi in room, fast and no trouble to use. Large fitness and pool center in the hotel with free use for the hotel guests. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    226
    109
    33
    8
See reviews for
54
152
44
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The Westin has a great location, excellent service and good food! The staff is very friendly, especially the Reception people. I liked the fact that the hotel is right in the centre od the city so we walked everywhere. no need for a taxi to see the city. The beds are sooo comfortable and the view from the 15th floor is magnificent! We had a great stay and we shall definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir, thanks for staying with us and it is great to hear that you were satisfied with your stay.
Welcome back. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed in the hotel on the 18th March. This is the slowest internet ever. First I had to ask twice for the code. Than when I got it, it took 15 minutes to start on both devices, computer and ipad. Than everything was taking time eternaly to download, etc. Roomservice was quick, but french fries were terrible. Last time stayed in some other hotels in Zagreb like Sheraton and Double Tree and all was looking much better. Do not recommend unless you do not have work to do...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir, We are sorry you experienced slow internet access in the guest room. It is certainly not the regular feedback we are receiving since we installed free wireless internet access in all hotel rooms last December. From your reply it sounds like it was the wired access and we are looking into if it was something special on this day. We hope to be able to welcome you back and that you then will have a better internet experience. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived there during a NATO event. Few rooms left during at the time of my check in (mid day arrival though !) This venue used to be Managed by Intercontinental some time ago. It is well located, but its outdated, need a serious lifting and overall improvement

The staff tried real hard to accomodate my request of a room far away from the central elevator with a double bed, which looked mission impossible that day, I tried 3 different rooms including one for handicapped (toilets and shower are equipped with specific equipment), after 30 mns of moving me from room to room (at least they didnt mind my complaints) the reception associate found a room yet not occupied where she set me, matching my original booking. It was facing the main road, but nevermind. Breakfast was good and location convenient to go by foot to the center for diner. The room internet was a total failure, and they had to send a technician to try to fix it, he admit that the entire hotel network needed a serious renovation, which was planned at the time of my stay, and couldnt promised me that he could fix the connection in my room... I was lucky coze he did!

Conclusion, avoid this hotel in case you are on business trip, without any internet guaranteed in the rooms.... they are better venues around the town. Otherwise very nice and friendly staff, hard working people. Parking in the front makes it convenient to comes and go by car

Room Tip: Make sure that the web connection works in the rooms they give you, otherwise you might end up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for staying with us and sharing your impressions. Since we installed wireless internet in all hotel rooms in December last year we have had very few remarks regarding internet access in the hotel rooms. All rooms offer high speed wired and wireless access free of charge. I hope we will be able to welcome you back and that you then will have a better experience regarding the internet access. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not sure if I simply got a better room or if they have renovated the hotel since my last review but it was definitely much better now. Room felt fresh and clean, brand new LCD TV vs the stonage TV last time, breakfast was really good, friendly helpfull staff, so really a very good experience. Only downside is that "their" spa area is not really their as it belongs to the World Class Gym so it's a public place and not only for hotel guests which I really didn't like. Had to e.g. wait for 10minutes to enter the sauna as it was completely full, so in that sense I cannot really rate the hotel as 5 star since in my pow they do not have spa facilities.

But as I said, otherwise a really good experience and will for sure return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sir, great to hear that you see improvement in our services. Hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are in Zagreb. With best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at The Westin for five nights in January to attend a nearby sporting event.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and convenient to both the Dom Sportova and the center of town. It has a nice bar/restaurant and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom reasonably up-to-date and the wifi, while a bit annoying because of the need to re-enter a code every hour or so, works in the rooms just fine.

My one problem is the heat in the room. Despite crawling under the sink in the bathroom to turn of the hidden radiator, keeping the window open 24/7 and keeping the heat off, it was in the high seventies the entire time. This was while the outside air was really chilly, around 20-30 Fahrenheit. I can't sleep well in a warm room and this was truly a problem.

If they can fix the HVAC/ventilation, I'd recommend this as a reasonably-priced and nice place to stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Westin and thanks for the feedback. We are following up on the issues you are mentioning and especially the need of not overheating in these energy containment times. Thank you once again and welcome back to the Westin. With best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is a top base while staying in Zagreb. The location is very central with and it is easy to reach sights and appointments. Actually most meetings I did in the hotel as locally it is seen as a good meeting point. From my room I had a great view of whole Zagreb. Wifi is free in the room and the wellness center a must. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir, Great you enjoyed your stay. I agree, it is easy to access sights and other central locations. I am also happy you used and appreciated the free wireless internet access in the hotel rooms which we offer since few months. Welcome back upon your return to Zagreb. With best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Address: Izidora Krsnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Zagreb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.