We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of the city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The main strength of this hotel is location as it sits right at the heart of the city between the upper and lower town, so it is basically easy to walk to most of the tourist attractions. The room in the restaurant wing is nice and clean with a good view of Ban Jelacic square. However, the room in another wing is a bit older and no view.

The breakfast is nice with a good selection of choices. The staff service is just OK...nothing particularly impressive. The convenience of the hotel location can compensate on the service though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I agree,our location is the best in Zagreb and our strongest selling point ! Sadly, our staff was not up to expectations, which concerns me. "Just OK" is simply not good enough... Thank you for your observations and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    221
    85
    10
    3
See reviews for
53
150
41
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose Hotel Dubrovnik for the night before our start of a Croatian Adventure Trip. Great location (30 minutes from Zagreb airport by taxi). We took a Zagreb Bike Tour and were able to see the wonderful old buildings in Old Town and also New Zagreb. Our room was spacious with a King bed and nice bathroom and very clean. Only deterrent was no view. Hotel staff was very efficient and service oriented.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Frankly, I did not know that the Zagreb Bike Tour includes New Zagreb as well. That is plenty of cycling...
But, what I do enjoy reading is comments that concerns our staff. Comments like "efficient and service oriented" are just great to hear.

Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect, central location. Do not ignore the bakery across the street. Our room was very nice, newly refurbished. The included breakfast was ample and tasty. This is a great place as no vehicle is needed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. It was truly a pleasure to read your lovely comment. I am glad that everything worked out well !

Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights early in June. The place has had a recent refurbishment so it's quite modern-looking in the lobby, and the room was sizable and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Fantastic location, right on the main square, and only a few minutes away from Tkalciceva. They could probably improve the strength of their WiFi a bit, and the room also had a fairly strong scent of anti-tobacco air freshener, but all in all it was a very enjoyable stay and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Yes, Tkalčićeva street is not so far away and this is also one of my favorite spots in Zagreb. The WiFi signal might be weaker in some areas of the hotel which has been recognized thanks to earlier comments in this regard. This topic has been in our focus and I do believe that the WiFi signal is better now.

Hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed twice in a week on business. Great location, right in the center of town. Lots of dining and drinking spots nearby. Lobby is modern, spacious, clean and glassy. Reception was efficient and the clerks pleasant. This is older property that had a recent modern style remodel, so it's not warm, more glass and frosted glass about. The rooms were nice and large, along with the bathrooms. One of my pet peeves is that there was a bit of black mold in the shower/tub. Otherwise, very clean room with a comfortable bed. No view from the windows, it was a brick wall. The breakfast was fair, not a great selection and the service was not friendly. Otherwise, a pleasant stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the offer and service as far as our breakfast is concerned. We are continuously improving our breakfast offer and will continue to do so. Thank you for your observation and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been several times there but for the first time I get room with main square view. That's super. Also I've been lucky because first night there were some concert at the square so I have the best possible view at the stage.
The room was also superb very big with a huge comfortable bed. I'm happy there because you can even open the windows! Wi-Fi is functioning perfectly.
My special attention has been taken by interesting central corridor. When you exit the room you can see all floors.
Unfortunately I can't get 5* because parking place is too expensive and the breakfast was very modest.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which have square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the concerts on the main square, but also sad that you found our breakfast modest and parking to expensive. Both topics will be discussed within my team. What needs to be said is that we are constantly improving our breakfast offer having in mind what our customer preferences and suggestions are. This will be the case in the future as well.

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and the rooms are a good size (though the size varies). It is strictly four stars (e.g. no lotion is provided). The downside: I would avoid like the plague on weekends. There was a concert in the square lasting until 2:00am. The windows of my room were shaking. The staff was nice enough to find a quieter room but even in the quieter room I could still hear the concert. Even on a non-weekend, you get noise from the pedestrian area outside so you want to avoid the rooms overlooking the pedestrian area. The other big downside is that the wifi inside the rooms was incredibly weak. It was fine in the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. The nearby main square is very busy in summer times, this is true. Concerts, shows, open market... However, all these events are due to end 11.00 pm at latest. Obviously, this was not the case during your visit and I will take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience. I am glad to learn that our staff did all possible to solve the situation

The WiFi signal seems to be weak in certain rooms and areas and we are working on a solution to this problem.

Thank you for your feedback and warm welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#11 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.