We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and perfectly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stylish and perfectly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights early in June. The place has had a recent refurbishment so it's quite modern-looking in the lobby, and the room was sizable and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Fantastic location, right on the main square, and only a few minutes away from Tkalciceva. They could probably improve the strength of their WiFi a bit, and the room also had a fairly strong scent of anti-tobacco air freshener, but all in all it was a very enjoyable stay and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Yes, Tkalčićeva street is not so far away and this is also one of my favorite spots in Zagreb. The WiFi signal might be weaker in some areas of the hotel which has been recognized thanks to earlier comments in this regard. This topic has been in our focus and I do believe that the WiFi signal is better now.

Hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    289
    110
    13
    4
See reviews for
68
194
54
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
97 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed twice in a week on business. Great location, right in the center of town. Lots of dining and drinking spots nearby. Lobby is modern, spacious, clean and glassy. Reception was efficient and the clerks pleasant. This is older property that had a recent modern style remodel, so it's not warm, more glass and frosted glass about. The rooms were nice and large, along with the bathrooms. One of my pet peeves is that there was a bit of black mold in the shower/tub. Otherwise, very clean room with a comfortable bed. No view from the windows, it was a brick wall. The breakfast was fair, not a great selection and the service was not friendly. Otherwise, a pleasant stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the offer and service as far as our breakfast is concerned. We are continuously improving our breakfast offer and will continue to do so. Thank you for your observation and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been several times there but for the first time I get room with main square view. That's super. Also I've been lucky because first night there were some concert at the square so I have the best possible view at the stage.
The room was also superb very big with a huge comfortable bed. I'm happy there because you can even open the windows! Wi-Fi is functioning perfectly.
My special attention has been taken by interesting central corridor. When you exit the room you can see all floors.
Unfortunately I can't get 5* because parking place is too expensive and the breakfast was very modest.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which have square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the concerts on the main square, but also sad that you found our breakfast modest and parking to expensive. Both topics will be discussed within my team. What needs to be said is that we are constantly improving our breakfast offer having in mind what our customer preferences and suggestions are. This will be the case in the future as well.

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and the rooms are a good size (though the size varies). It is strictly four stars (e.g. no lotion is provided). The downside: I would avoid like the plague on weekends. There was a concert in the square lasting until 2:00am. The windows of my room were shaking. The staff was nice enough to find a quieter room but even in the quieter room I could still hear the concert. Even on a non-weekend, you get noise from the pedestrian area outside so you want to avoid the rooms overlooking the pedestrian area. The other big downside is that the wifi inside the rooms was incredibly weak. It was fine in the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. The nearby main square is very busy in summer times, this is true. Concerts, shows, open market... However, all these events are due to end 11.00 pm at latest. Obviously, this was not the case during your visit and I will take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience. I am glad to learn that our staff did all possible to solve the situation

The WiFi signal seems to be weak in certain rooms and areas and we are working on a solution to this problem.

Thank you for your feedback and warm welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Perfect location within walking distance of some great cafes, restaurants, bars, shops, tram, cathedral, green market and museums. Excellent service and helpful staff (English speaking). Very welcoming and good with information at check in. Large room and spacious bathroom overlooking square. Comfortable bed, good pillows and nice towels! Very clean. Full Breakfast was included in the rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for your comment. It is always pleasant to hear that our staff was up to expectations. Once again, thank you and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is by far the best location of all 4 and 5 stars in Zagreb. Directly on main square. The property is a bit old fashion with socialist touch but again it is in a way a trendy thing nowadays. Rooms are exactly 4* central Europe standard. Breakfast is very good. No really downside except no buzz feeling (just ordinary story).
Also, the significant upside is a free parking for visitors with cars.

Room Tip: Just go for standard room. no need for any upgrade. all rooms are the same except size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your email. We have a number of newly renovated deluxe rooms and those are really nice. Upon your next arrival to Hotel Dubrovnik, please, book a deluxe room and let me know what your opinion is. Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
210 hotel reviews
1,244 helpful votes 1,244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I give this hotel 5 stars for one reason. The location is superb. Located right in the old town city center at the main square, and within walking distance of everything this city has to offer in the way of culture. So much to do around the area of this hotel, it would take days.
The hotel is also quite nice and charming. Really well taken care of, rooms in order and really nice condition, comfortable beds and bedding and lovely bathrooms. Staff quite nice and the entire hotel is properly managed. A little difficult to get to with a taxi since there is so much walking traffic and the hotel located where it is. But well worth any headaches associated with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I really enjoyed reading your comment... Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Zagreb, Hotel Dubrovnik is set on Zagreb's Main Square and has a tradition dating back to 1929. It provides renovated rooms and suites with classical decor and modern amenities. State-of-the-art IPTV system, business center, gym, bar, restaurant and free Wi-Fi are available. All rooms are air-conditioned and comprise a private bathroom with a shower or a bathtub and a hairdryer. Each features a TV and a minibar. Its guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant, a Lounge Bar and Piccolo Mondo Restaurant which offers traditional Italian dishes, as well as Croatian cuisine. A summer terrace is also available. Hotel Dubrovnik is surrounded by all the major tourist sights, parks and promenades with numerous bars and restaurants. In the immediate vicinity its guests can find the cathedral, the picturesque Dolac open-air market and the main shopping area on Ilica Street. The hotel also provides modern-style conference rooms with natural day light overlooking the Main Square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away. The Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile, and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.