We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the heart of Zagreb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Runkel, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hotel in the heart of Zagreb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Did a business trip to Zagreb and bookes this hotel due to a lot positive coments.
The price/quality ratio is very good.
Room and bathroom are big enough and the food was excellent.
Everything is in walkin distance for a short sightseeing trip or shopping.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in all aspects !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    276
    108
    12
    4
See reviews for
67
183
53
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the "renovated" wing but our room was certainly not renovated. The bathroom is too small. Breakfast is horrible, cold food, cold not drinkable coffee and the staff seems totally not interested to excel. The food selection is poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your observations. It really hurts to see that the word horrible is mentioned in your comment. In that regard, I am sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion. An additional information for you would be that the renovated wing still has rooms that are not renovated. The renovated ones are called de-luxe rooms and those are bookable as well.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Hotel Dubrovnik is located on the square in old town Zagreb, the capital of Croatia. You can reach the hotel by cab or train from the airport. Was a $50 cab ride for 1-4 people. It is located right on the square and I would request a room over looking the square, which is filled with activity. You can do a self guided walking tour of old town right from your hotel. The hotel is very clean and modern. Restaurant was very adequate, but you are a short walk from many outdoor restaurants. The staff was friendly and efficient. It is the hotel selected by REI for the start of their tours. The train stops right in front of the hotel and there are no cars in the square. We did not have a car, but I imagine parking is available within a short walking distance. Overall we were quite satisfied with the Hotel Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: We would ask for room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. I am happy to learn that you were satisfied with your stay !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Head Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I organised a group of twenty couples to Croatia primarily to cruise with Katarina Lines.
The initial contact with the staff to the departure was all so efficient.Nothing was too much trouble.
The location and the ability to just walk and enjoy this lovely town centre was great The group enjoed grea breakfast etc so much that more than half returned to further explore Zagreb. A big tick from us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear b00ntie,

Thank you for your comment and thank you for the big tick !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel Dubrovnik enjoys the title of "best location" in Zagreb.
I stayed at the Hotel Dubrovnik several times in the past, and in the near future I will again try to stay in spite of "renovation" problems. You step outside and you are in the middle of everything. It is the heart of the city. Wonderful markets, great shopping, financial centers, theaters, churches, restaurants, are at your fingertips. All of the connecting traveling lines merge at Jelacic Place which is in front of the hotel Dubrovnik. Street cars (tramway) lines converge in front of your eyes at that Jelacic Square and the public transportation is excellent. People are courteous, and the Square is clean.
The Hotel Dubrovnik offers excellent service; breakfast is plenteous, delicious, and satisfying to every taste. Other meals are likewise to commend.
In spite of all the wonderful mixture of peoples, cultures, ethnicities, religions that meet, come, and go, the hotel staff was always helpful and courteous. But, most of all, you don't have to even take any transportation because, as I have indicated, everything that one needs is in the environs of the Jelacic Square and can be reached by foot. You are in a world metropolis when inside this beautiful heart of Zagreb - the Jelacic - and Dubrovnik is right in there.

Room Tip: I travelled with family, with friends, and solo. My last trip was in 2011. I do not recall the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Helene,

Thank you for your comment. The renovation is finally over... welcome back in the nearest future to see what has been done !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our recent 4 day stay at the Hotel Dubrovnik. Ok, the hotel is undergoing major renovations and there was a bit of drilling work going on but we didn't find it any bother at all. We had to take a bit of a detour to find our room but that was all part of the fun. The room we had was lovely, fairly spacious and the bed was really comfy. Only small niggle was the fact that we couldn't get the air con below 25/26 C and it was pretty hot and humid when we were there.
Reception staff friendly, helpful and professional.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special but perfectly adequate - and lots of juice!
Location was the best thing of all but the centre of Zagreb seemed pretty compact anyway.
Bar prices were a bit steep but venture out of the hotel and prices were good.
Overall, great stay in a fabulous city - we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a new room but I think they're all new now - or are about to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TAmember8,

Thank you for your comment and understanding ! The renovation is over and Hotel Dubrovnik has changed to the better, if you ask me. Glad to hear that the reception staff was up to expectations.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel. We had a room in the new part which is very modern and comfortable. Very friendly service at Reception and very good service. Rooms were spotless clean and fresh. It is situated on a very nice location, in the center not far from everything you would want to do. Also, the downstairs restaurant is outstanding. The food is very nice, service was okay. The Breakfast buffet did not have such a wide variety but was very much enjoyable nonetheless.
I definitely recommend this Hotel. For me, this was the best hotel we had in Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sjibbi,

Your comment "this was the best hotel we had in Croatia" just made my day. Thank you !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Zagreb, Hotel Dubrovnik is set on Zagreb's Main Square and has a tradition dating back to 1929. It provides renovated rooms and suites with classical decor and modern amenities. State-of-the-art IPTV system, business center, gym, bar, restaurant and free Wi-Fi are available. All rooms are air-conditioned and comprise a private bathroom with a shower or a bathtub and a hairdryer. Each features a TV and a minibar. Its guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant, a Lounge Bar and Piccolo Mondo Restaurant which offers traditional Italian dishes, as well as Croatian cuisine. A summer terrace is also available. Hotel Dubrovnik is surrounded by all the major tourist sights, parks and promenades with numerous bars and restaurants. In the immediate vicinity its guests can find the cathedral, the picturesque Dolac open-air market and the main shopping area on Ilica Street. The hotel also provides modern-style conference rooms with natural day light overlooking the Main Square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away. The Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile, and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.