We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Zagreb Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Zagreb Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Kneza Borne, Donji Grad, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in Zagreb
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stay at the Zagreb Sheraton regularly during my business trips to Croatia. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre. It is exactly what you expect from a quality business hotel: comfortable, clean and with efficient service. The breakfast is copious and varied. I often use the fitness centre, which is exceptionally well equipped for a hotel gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Wojtek K,
it is our aim to please all our guests, specially our business guests. We understand business traveler needs and really appreciate this feedback.
Since you are happy with the fitness facilities you should try the jacuzzi terrace with sunbeds - relax after a day full of meetings.
I am looking forward to welcome you again. Next time you are in Zagreb would be great to have a coffee with you.
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    140
    72
    21
    13
See reviews for
30
76
26
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel was virtually empty during our stay here. That said, there was good attention to cleanliness/food detail (rather than releasing staff to save money). Sadly the pool was not open early enough for us to utilize.The lobby, bar and restaurant are lovely. Breakfasts were rather incredible: who serves butterscotch pudding with bananas! Frankly it was delicious - and a great surprise compared to the usual fare. Location is excellent to city center but we were all rather sad to see the excessive amount of graffiti on most building surfaces. Zagreb needs some sprucing up; it is of course the capital of Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear SHADDACalifornia,
I like to read this fabulous comments about our breakfast - we are regularly adding items to the breakfast buffet and all with the aim to please different tastes.
Next time try our newly refurbished Cafe Imperial - during lunch and dinner we serve healthy options with a large selection of salads, soups and sandwiches.
There is also a nice terrace - perfect for the summer months.
Hope to see you soon again at the Sheraton Zagreb,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Its an old property (looks like) but the rooms are clean and comfortable, just as you would expect of a Sheraton. But the only thing is that most Sheraton I have stayed lately (in other countries) were either new or re-vamped to new finish, so in comparison this is not upto the mark. The breakfast is Ok, Hotel location is close to city center. Overall if the hotel gets a makeover it will make it even more worthwhile but at the moment i would not pay too high for a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear BizTraveller-Asia,
thanks for your note. Next time you come back to Zagreb get in touch with me and we will allocate you our new mock-up room - would be great to have your thoughts on it.
Since we are planning a major renovation, at the end of this year the Sheraton will be a complete new product and up to the modern standards.
I have to mention that all of our rooms today offer free wifi and high speed LAN, new Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds in all rooms, new flat screen TV's with an IPTV hotel sistem.
Please contact me next time planning your trip to Zagreb,
Mario
mario.susak@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Sheraton have good reputation, helpful and nice staff. Breakfast is very furnished with fresh pancakes for any fans, 2 indoor restaurants. The indoor SPA and swimming pool are very clean and a sunbathing area is available for the guests. Regarding the location the hotel is within 10/15 min walk from all bars in the street near the main square. Also close to many terraces coffees, restaurants to try and attraction to see. Internet is complimentary inside the rooms with fast connection. Rooms are clean, there is a sofa for the basic room, bath and all amenities (iron+table inside the room), comfortable bed. Something to know, if you ask for a room on the street side you can't open the windows. Quick room service, prices are expensive especially for drinks but around the hotel there are plenty of bars and a cinema with the latest movies in english. For the smokers, you can buy a 10 pack box of cigarettes for only 240 Kaunas (30 €) in the kiosk facing the hotel entrance. Choose this hotel either for business, leisure or romantic stay. I never had to complain and always had a good stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you wish to open your room window don't choose the rooms with street v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Daniel A,
thank you for the 5 stars - you made my day!
Just some tips to add from your review - our newly refurbished Cafe Imperial offers great food in our daily menus with very popular prices. Additionally to the Cafe there is a nice terrace and great cocktails in the evenings. A new shop has been opened some weeks ago in front of hotels reception, they offer all kinds of items but the special ones are the Croatian traditional souvenirs, paintings and some traditional grapa called Viljamovka - pear brandy. Try it the next time you come to our hotel.
Regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Sheraton is a bit old fashioned compared with the Sheraton standards around the world. However, I don't have any complain about it. Location is good, a 10 minute walk to the city center. Rooms are spacious and beautiful and beds are very very comfortable! Breakfast is simply great with plenty of choice. There's also a few restaurants in the hotel and prices are very affordable. I have only eaten in one of them but food was quite good and cheap. Free wifi: good and fast internet connection. There's also a spa but I haven't been there yet.

Room Tip: I stayed in this hotel a few times and once I got a connected room which was very noisy since I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear LAMENUDA77,
thank you for the great review.
That's right, our beds are the famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and you will get one at every Sheraton hotel in the world. Great sleeping experience, I agree!
Next time you come to our hotel try the spa, it is a great space with a state of the art fitness, finish sauna and turkish bath available with rain showers. There is a terrace as well with a jacuzzi and sunbeds. Not to forget the indoor pool for your morning swim!
Cheers,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spacious, clean and tidy guest rooms. Good taste of dinner at the middle of the lobby.
Comfortable, convenient hotel. We enjoyed so much when we were there. We will recommend
Travelers to stay there for their trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear chinrosie,
great to read you enjoyed your stay at our Sheraton Zagreb!
Would be great to welcome you soon again.

Regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After having stayed at Sheraton Edinburgh, Sheraton Zagreb came as a bit of a shock. Dated, tired, hotel in desperate need of a face lift. 80's beige and gold in communal areas did not give the usual Sheraton contemporary feel. We stayed on the third floor and the carpet in the hallway was ripped up in more than one spot. The ceiling of our room had a few patchy paint strokes. The basin in the bathroom was dusty as though nobody had stayed there in decades. The gym had a lot of equipment but again, it was all very old. The staff seemed just as tired as the hotel. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very efficient, however his coat was scuffed and ill fitting.

Let me have you know, it is not a bad option for a stay. I felt safe and secure while there, staff were pleasant. It is not a bad hotel per se, however, by no means is it up to Sheraton standards as I expected. It needs a more contemporary feel. It is a short (<10mins) walk from the main city area, and another 5 minutes from the main squares/cathedral, so the location is quite good. It is also cheaper than other Starwood hotels I have stayed at, and I think as a result you get less.

It's ok for a night or two, but I would cap it at that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioSusak, General Manager at Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Transient-friend,
it is our aim to make your stay as pleasant as possible - from your note I understood we were close to that. At the end of this year the Sheraton Zagreb will comprise a full renovation and as such we will begin next year with a complete different product.
Great to hear the staff was pleasant since we are eager to provided service excellence and training our staff as such.
Would be great to see you again at the Sheraton Zagreb.
Regards,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zagreb Hotel

Address: 2 Kneza Borne, Donji Grad, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Zagreb Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Zagreb
Zagreb Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Zagreb Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.