We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Zagreb Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited offer 10% OFF
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Zagreb
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

On our honeymoon we travelled to Vienna, Austria and then took a train to Zagreb (wrong choice taking the train, took like 10 hours. we should have driven from Vienna to Zagreb) and then rented a car to travel around Croatia.
On our visit to Zagreb we stayed at the Esplanade Zagreb where we were pleased to know that they spoke spanish and were verry nice :) The papered us with a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates and gave us instructions on what to visit in Zagreb. Breakfast was very good, with good service and a very nice dinning room.
The location is perfect, just in front of the train station and walking distance from everything you need to see in Zagreb.
The hotel is the best hotel in town, it is a bit older than it looks in the pictures, but they still have great service, great people and great food.

Room Tip: We had the best view, looking at the plaza right at the center on the third floor. It was not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    272
    58
    19
    8
See reviews for
197
604
69
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is probably Zagrebs best hotel, but that does not make it great in any way when compared to other top hotels is city's like Paris, London or NY. The style of the hotel is old fashioned luxury with some contemporary influences. A strong wibe of Eastern Europe resonates throughout the facilities. Beds are terrible and does not reflect the rating of this hotel. Ventilation in the rooms are also poor. Breakfast is average, no big highs. On a positive side, staff is very nice and they will do what they can to help you. If you get this hotel for less than 100 EUR per night it is good, if not go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, it's easy to walk to all the tourist attractions
The double windows keep the room quiet, has a very good cafe, bar and restaurant
Service is very good
The toiletries are from Le occitane
During summer you can attend free concerts in the Esplanade one block from the Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a lovely hotel on the outside. The inside is pretty too. I can imagine it being one of the best hotels in Europe back in the day, but today it is pretty average. Rooms are clean, have a bit of character. Location is good, food options are also good. Breakfast was disappointing for a 5 star establishment, but after travelling around in Croatia, it appears this country doesn't put much effort into the first meal of the day and in hindsight, the Esplanade's breakfast was probably the best. Staff were great and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was well presented, matching the photos seen on the hotels website. Although the shower did not drain properly and water would overflow onto the bathroom floor. There were 2 bathroom sinks which we enjoyed. The TV was analogue, large and chunky, the remote control did not work properly.

The bed was rock hard! My partner and I both developed back and shoulder pain, we complained to the hotel staff and blankets were used to cushion the bed, which was a slight improvement

Turn down service was dismal, each night we would either receive a cookie or a cupcake, some nights our room was forgotten.

The service was very variable, the attitude of the younger staff seemed much better than the older staff. Hana, the hotel lobby staff who checked us in was absolutely wonderful. She went above and beyond to check us in quickly, she recommended several great restaurants in Zagreb, places to visit and ways to get there. Guest services were also absolutely wonderful!

Door men were hopeless! Often standing around twiddling their thumbs, no greetings or eye contact, never offered to help with our bags and never opened the door for us.

Worst of all was the attitude of one older concierge staff (I didn't get his name). He was incompetent, rude and absolutely useless! Thursday evening 31st July, approximately 8.30pm, we sat down at his desk to ask about tours and ways to get to Plitvice Lake. He acknowledged us and then decided to pick up the phone and make a call. We waited until he finished his call, no apologies received. He then advised us there are several ways to get to Plitvice Lake, we asked him to give us more information. He replied there is a daily transfer for 200kn. We asked for more information but he had nothing more to add, no suggestions regarding buses, private transfers etc. We had to look this up ourselves. Suggestion to hotel: please train your outdated staff and teach them some manners.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I arrived in Zagreb late in the evening and needed a hotel for one-night stay before heading down south. It was all I could have wanted and at a very affordable price too (compared with other capitals). Dropped the luggage in the morning and took a stroll in Old Zagreb before catching a bus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently on business. The lobby is elegant and has lots of character. The staff are professional and friendly. I was impressed with the large terrace and enjoyed dinner outside on a warm summer evening and breakfast in the morning. The Esplanade deserves the great reviews received on Tripadvisor.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.