We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy my stay!! highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Zagreb Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy my stay!! highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Zagreb is a big city and the capital of Croatia. The hotel was great. I can't say anything negative other than I wish the breakfast was cheaper than 25 euros!! The rooms are exquisitely decorated, the beds were great and the shower was ample.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    241
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
173
534
59
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights here in late June. Met at the door by someone to take bags, checkin was quick and easy. Room was huge (we had a deluxe king room). Amazing bathroom with separate bath, two sinks, big shower cubicle and toilet separated by glass door. Did get a little noise from the trains as we were at the back of the hotel but not enough to disturb us. Couldn't quite work out the air con controls so were either too hot or cold, but maybe if I'd asked it would have been simple!

Breakfast was good though sometimes had to wait a few minutes to be seated. Decent choice and efficient service. A shame breakfast is an extra on too of the room. Sat outside on the terrace one day which was nice.

Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main square. All in all a great place to base yourself if you're in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Arrived by train and the hotel is literally only a 5 min walk from the main train station. Very grand hotel especially the lobby and ballroom area. Receptionists pleasant enough and concierge helpful but staff just weren't that friendly and didn't seem interested - possibly due to the lobby always being complete chaos with people everywhere.

Had a deluxe room, very nice and big, hadn't been dusted for a while which was surprising but reception sorted that for us. Free WIFI was useful. Didn't eat in the hotel. Had a great rate but was room only. About a 20 min walk into the centre which was fine. Exchange offices on the way into town - great rates (8.65 commission free to GBP compared with bank rate of 8.77 at the time). City is pleasant, old town at the top of the hill with cathedral and churches. 'Newer' town closer to the hotel has some impressive buildings and squares.

City sightseeing bus is worth the €8 each - choice of 2 routes although the outer town route has limited appeal other than a nice journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a beautiful room overlooking the park. The room was well furnished with that old world charm. Given the quality of the furnishings I was a bit surprised with the old style tv, but that is a minor detail. The room was large with a sitting area which I always appreciate.

The service at the desk and concierge was very helpful.
My only negative is about the restaurant. We had food and coffee out on the deck and then went inside to the bar area and found that the coffee was much cheaper (24 in the restaurant, 20 in the bar). The food is also cheaper. Given that it was the same coffee machine and same size, this is a bit off.
Otherwise a very nice hotel which exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend. Excellent Value for money.

Room Tip: deluxe room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Great Railway Journey. It was the best hotel on the trip. Large room with an impressive bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service were good. The best thing about the hotel is the location, right opposite the station (good if you're on a train holiday), and where all the city trams stop. We bought a day pass and could go to the old town where we had dinner on the second night of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Esplanade was the most highly rated of the hotels we stayed in during our visit to Croatia and Slovenia. It was also one of the best priced hotels. Definitely a good value. The hotel has all the trappings of a grand old hotel. The lobby is big and imposing and decked out with trimmings everywhere. Service on our arrival was attentive and helpful. But...keep in mind...this is a big business hotel. That comes with an efficient, impersonal feel.

We chose the hotel for it's location and as a base to wrap up our vacation. It satisfied those needs. The hotel is a comfortable 15 min walk to the Cathedral and old town. The hotel gave us a helpful free walking map with different routes from the hotel. Very helpful for a quick orientation.

Our room was clean and comfortable with that stereotypical "old world luxury" feel. The bathroom was big and bright with top-shelf toiletries. The mattress was firm, but the pillows were soft. One complaint is that the air conditioning would not set low enough for our taste.

Breakfast was not included (the only hotel in our trip where it was not included) and pricey. But it had an impressive spread and included made-to-order eggs and coffee. One complaint was that breakfast ended early (which we did not know when we were seated), and as we were dining, the staff systematically removed all of the other tables around us. The pressure was intense.

I'm not convinced this hotel earns it's five stars, since I'm sure that fifth star is for attentive service. I didn't feel it. For example, we arranged a ride to the airport the morning of our departure. The car was late, but we were made to feel like we were being impatient asking for updates on the car. It's the little things that make you love a hotel. For me, I simply liked the Esplanade.

But frankly, for the price, I would probably adjust my expectations and return again for beautiful Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't matter if it's several days stay, or just a meal in one of their restorans- Zinfandel's or Bistro, I allway feel like a queen there. For over a hundred years it has been The Best Hotel in Town, and it just hasn't appear any new star to push them away from that place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.