We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, a bit expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taban Bar & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Taban Bar & Hostel to your Saves list
Taban Bar & Hostel
Tkalciceva 82, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Taban Hostel by Buzz Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great position, a bit expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent only one night in this hostel in the double room with private bathroom, with a fee of 73 euros.

The room was clean and large enough to stay in two, the bathroom very good with a comfortable shower.

Except the fact that the only window was facing a dirty wall in a dirty hole, the breakfast was really poor (no coffee, only nescafe), and due to the smoking people in the bar we had the smell of cigarettes in the room at 9 am...

Definetly not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
3
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A hostel as expensive as a hotel for a double room with private bathroom.
The hotel location is fantastic, but I did not like the room that we were given, for which we paid almost 70 euros per night. Why? It was a bit small, the window view was a wall and the bath room was stinky (you know this sulphur odour you get from the pipes specially in summer). Also, I hated the fact that they put the minimum toilet paper that you can reasonably use in two days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival no was at reception. Apparently check-in is no earlier than 14:00. I was reminded several times. Not once was I welcomed. When finally checked in I was informed of a pet fee. 50 kuna per day. I asked why I was never told via email. The answer, "I never inquired about a pet fee." Even though I stated I was traveling with dog, the fee was never mentioned. Top floor room was extremely warm with fan running. Bathroom and single bed was very clean. Location is the biggest plus. Breakfast, not worth any words.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent accommodation, excellent facilities, excellent staff, exclusive location - couldn't be more central Room was very clean, hostel very well organized with great atmosphere and pleasant to be. Good sightseeing around it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our stay in this hostel was pretty nice. Breakfast could have been a bit better taking the hostel price into account but it was not terrible.

The worst thing about this hostel was the service (reception). Although the people are actually nice, they pretty much acted as they didn't care we arrived or as if they have not much interest in providing their services to us. We waited quite a bit at the reception when there were no other customers/guests there while the staff member was playing Pinball at the Bar :-/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A Budget Hostal with Heart
I hadn't stayed in a hostal in a long time, but the sponsors for my lodging accomadations were really trying to cut costs, so I agreed to stay there and 'try it'. It was a pleasant experience because I still had my two basic needs for travel; comfort and safety.
First of all, it's on the Tkalčićeva street, which is a pedestrian street full of restaurants, bars, and some shops. in spite of that, the Taban hostal, being at the end of this street is still accessible by taxi.
The reasons why it is actually categorized as a hostal is:
1)the rooms are sparsely furnished, but functional
2) there is no daily cleaning service
3) If you need new towels, or anything, you go ask for it
4) there is no elevator
5)rooms are available with a shared bathroom or en ensuite bathroom. I had the latter and the shower had decent water pressure and readily availabe hot water.

The positive points about it:
1)it's not necessariily a backpacker's hostal because there were businessmen, families, and couples - from all over the world - staying there
2) there is a modern hip bar on the ground floor that serves good coffee (basic breakfast is served in the basement, which I didn't try)
3) the staff is very young, but typically Croatian - meaning very kind, helpful,and hospitable in a very relaxed way. (Especially the afternoon recptionst, Jèlene.)
4) the pedestrian street is safe for a woman to walk through alone at the late hours of the night. ( I was always returning from the jazz club on the main square.)
5)free WIFI!
There is a live band in their basement on weekends, but the noise from it seems to be well isolated from the room guests by two well-padded doors leading upstairs. Even so, if you have a room on the street side, you can expect some noise. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room on the other side.
All in all, I wouldn't be disappointed if I were to find myself staying there in the future.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request a room on the opposite side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cubas de la Sagra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hostel is very good, it has clean room and nice bar. Met meny friendly locals in the bar and had band playing in the weekend. The room was nice and very clean, it was a bit noisy but not to much. Location is great, near the center and old town. Got free maps and guides and had free internet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taban Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taban Bar & Hostel

Address: Tkalciceva 82, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Taban Hostel by Buzz Backpackers)
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of the city, inside busy historic Tkalciceva Street, where all the action is. Our rooms are new and spacious for a good night sleep, and we offer numerous facilities like free Wi-Fi, a full bar inside the property, 24 hour reception, luggage storage, etc.Wake up smell the freshly ground coffee in the morning or enjoy cold beers in the bar or the terrace by the evening. We offer you wide range of the rooms to choose from. The traditional hostel style dorms are ideal for budget conscious travellers. Those who wants a little more privacy, we have a number of private rooms with share bathrooms. We are especially proud of our deluxe en-suite rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Taban Bar & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taban Bar & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.