We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location, very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taban Bar & Hostel

Save Saved
You added Taban Bar & Hostel to your Saves list
Taban Bar & Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taban Bar & Hostel
Tkalciceva 82, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Taban Hostel by Buzz Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 84 Specialty lodging in Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, great location, very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night but my impression of this place was great. Very clean, great location, good service, very good value for money. Only downside is no AC in the room (there was a fan however). Also, people with trouble walking should be advised that there is no elevator, so you will be carrying your luggage up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
3
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EMBelgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Taban Hostel undoubtedly has an amazing location in Zagreb. It's in a cozy street full of restaurants and bars which has an unbelievable charm to itself at night. The hostel itself is very new and clean. Though centrally located, there is no noise that keeps you up at night. The only minor point I would say is that there is no airconditioning (at least not in our room), except for a fan. Given the high summer temperatures in Zagreb, an airconditioned room is really a necessity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is new, so is half furnished sometimes. But it is all new, and the staff is incredibly nice.
The only bad thing, the window. But for everything else, I would recommend it for sure.
A bit expensive in my opinion, I paid 55 euros for a double room with bathroom.
Great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Himself and I stayed just the one night in Zagrab in a double room at Taban Hostel and it felt more like a budget hotel than a hostel. Overall we enjoyed our stay here but have listed some pros and cons below.

Pros...
- super friendly and helpful staff
- modern and clean
- our room (4.4) was of decent size, modern, had an opening attic window and a very comfortable bed!
- shower hot and great pressure
- brilliant location on Tkalciceva Street, right in the heart of restaurants and bars (but not noisy as a result) and a short stroll to the town square
- bar downstairs with cheap, cheap prices (though all places in Zagreb seemed to be cheap)
- free wifi
- staff stored our luggage and allowed us to continue to use the hostel facilities (wifi, toilets, bar area etc) late into the following evening when we were leaving on an 11:20pm train
- cheap!

Cons...
- hallway sounds entered the bedroom very easily and the sound of each person unlocking/locking their door or opening/closing really echoed in the hall, keeping us awake; could also hear the toilet flushing, shower etc from the bathroom up the hall as well as other guests speaking in their rooms etc
- no common area other than the bar area - so no couches, kitchen for use etc
- no lift available, only stairs, which may be a problem with heavy luggage as all bedrooms are located from the 1st-4th floors
- wifi doesn't work on the 4th floor (not sure about the other floors)
- seems to be still setting up (understand it's a relatively new hostel) with works going on around the place
- only one bathroom on our floor (4th) which although large, had both the toilet and shower, meaning if it was in use, there was no other toilet for use on the floor

Not sure what the finished product will be like but overall Taban feels a little like a bar with a hotel on top. The rooms are nice and modern but the lack of kitchen facilities and common room other than the bar area (with a few stools as most are outside in the smoking area) meant that I would only stay here for a day or two as a place to sleep and shower rather than longer term as a home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a great hostel with friendly people and amazing beds. Everything was new and clean. It was located at the end of one of the main streets, a few minutes away from the main square. They opened a month ago and still need to figure out some things - more towels, keys, garbage bins in the room, etc. They were installing a new shower the day we left and the hot water was off (I'm assuming temporarily). Given how comfortable the beds were and the friendly staff, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taban Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taban Bar & Hostel

Address: Tkalciceva 82, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Taban Hostel by Buzz Backpackers)
Location: Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Specialty lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of the city, inside busy historic Tkalciceva Street, where all the action is. Our rooms are new and spacious for a good night sleep, and we offer numerous facilities like free Wi-Fi, a full bar inside the property, 24 hour reception, luggage storage, etc.Wake up smell the freshly ground coffee in the morning or enjoy cold beers in the bar or the terrace by the evening. We offer you wide range of the rooms to choose from. The traditional hostel style dorms are ideal for budget conscious travellers. Those who wants a little more privacy, we have a number of private rooms with share bathrooms. We are especially proud of our deluxe en-suite rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Taban Bar & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taban Bar & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.