We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant in New Zagreb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il Secondo

il Secondo
Avenija Dubrovnik 12, Zagreb, Croatia
01.6586.609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 481 Restaurants in Zagreb
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in New Zagreb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

New Zagreb (Novi Zagreb) was long notorious for not having one decent place to eat. With Il Secondo, this has changed, in my opinion at least.
They serve good homemade pasta and decent meat. The setting is cosy - both families and couples/groups of friends will feel welcome.
The service does tend to be hit-or-miss, probably depending on how busy it is.

It's worth noting that the restaurant is near to the Museum of Modern Art, so that can be a good combo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The only pasta place in Novi Zagreb worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Novi Zagreb is not having so many restaurants, nor it is a posh area where you'd go for such place, but Il Secondo is a good excuse to cross the river Sava and come over for a nice pasta meal. I haven't tried steaks althoug others said it's great, but I sticked to pasta only.
It doesn't matter which one you order, everything is great. You don't get al dente that often and there they mastered it. Only once it happened that it was overcooked, but i can live with 1 out of 10 missess.
Service is normal, nothing special, not so pretentious. Cool urban atmosphere, music not too loud so you can enjoy the conversation, and interior is normal, minimalism, nothing stretching out.

When going for desert, go for chocolate suffle... it is almost on the same level like chocolate dream in Bistro Apetit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice cozy restaurant but bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went 2 times to Il Secondo- first time we liked all- atmosphere, good food, good wine- overall we had very nice time for reasonable money.
Second time we came since we liked it for the first time- and here we go again nice amosphere, almost full restaurant, live music...but service horrible. We asked waitress for reccomendation in between two meat teals (as I could not decide) and her answwer on my question what is better and what would she reccomend was: Oh, really I do not know. I eat at Mc Donalds's. Seriously??! Wow, and we ordered a meal- rice was way overcooked and we told that to waiter (we were not rude, impolite or what so ever)- we just showed them the rice and said that we did not eat it as it was overcooked. Of course, they did not even offer a complimantary drink to aplogize (not to menation anything else). We will definitely not visit Il Secondo for third time. although I loved the desing and interior...shame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“Wort the taxi trip to Novi Zabreg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I do agree with the other reviewers: it's worth the taxi drive to the ohter side of the Sava river from the city centre. We went there despite they said on the phone that they are fully booked. Got a table and the food was excellent. I'd go for the meat dishes. Pasta seemed a little watery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to New Zagreb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hearing about this place in New Zagreb where they serve Italian-style food, I was very skeptical, since most "Italian" places in Croatia actually serve pizza and store-bought pasta and have very little to do with real Italian cooking. Il Secondo, however, tries to add a certain Italianate flair to its cooking, by adding fennel, chives, pumpkin, almonds, cognac and such to its dishes, which are nicely presented, generously portioned and tasty. Also, there is also a daily offer, from which we had the pumpkin gnocchi with bacon, parmesan cheese and almonds. Although it was slightly on the greasy side, it was delicious. My friend chose a nice pink sauce tagliatelle with prawns and salmon, and we both had a good pumpkin cheesecake with cinnamon sauce for pudding. The house wine is solid, the coffee also, and we had a marvelous time, slowly enjoying our food, not being rushed, since the place can accommodate quite a lot of people and the waiters are polite and helpful.
If Il Secondo ever introduces Tuscan staples such as ribollita, fried zucchini flowers or pumpkin-filled ravioli, one will have to take out a subscription for this place.
So, do not be scared away by the horrid New-Zagreb building where the restaurant is, because once inside you will not only look at a very charmingly decorated room, but enjoy the service and food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Secondo also viewed

 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to il Secondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il Secondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.