We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Bardot

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bistro Bardot
Ilica 73, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Bardot)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 449 Restaurants in Zagreb
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whilst looking for a more traditional Croatian dinning experience we stumbled onto this restaurant and we glad we did. Good food nice beer selection and a good looking restaurant. One of the best cheese platter I've ever had and the steak Tatar was incredible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Basically a nice location. A bar out front, tiny restaurant in the back. The waiter spoke only French or Croatian, so be prepared.
While prices are fine the food was sort of a let down. Neither real French cuisine nor just special. The choice of French wines was somewhat dissapointingly small.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am from France and live in Zagreb since 2 years ,it is for me the best restorant in town, for 110kunas (15 euros) I ate a delicious meal (starter(rilletes) and main dish (confit de canard)), with a glass of french wine. It is the only place in Zagreb where you find REAL fresh french cheese and wine and that for an affordable price (like in France). The owner of the restorant is french so knows about french cuisine.Also the ambiance was great with lounge music. To conclude; it's nice to finally find a quality restaurant in Zagreb that is not snobbish and in same time make sophisticated food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“friendly and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was on a national holiday and a lot of restaurants were closed and Zagreb was a ghost town. I called Bardot and they said to drop in.I came with a small party and we were the only guests that afternoon. The owners were the only one there and they were our waiters,cooks and everything else. The food was amazing,fresh from the market that day. I absolutely loved the dessert, stole the recipe in fact :). We even got to try an asparagus mousse, which the owner was preparing for another occasion. Everything was tasty,and the whole experience wonderful, and the dijon just perfect. And it was not expensive at all, value for money definitely!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is fabulous, we have been in croatia for 10 days now and this is without a doubt the best food we have had. The owners are so very accommodating and will go that extra bit to ensure your dining experience is exceptional. The food is sensational, the service so very personalized. We don't know any French, so they enlisted the help of a friend to explain the menu to us, and then checked often to ensure everything was perfect.
Ten stars and the highest recommendation from us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bardot also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Bistro Bardot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Bardot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.