Myself and my boyfriend recently visited croatia and thought rafting down the river Una would be amazing. We booked a trip through Huck Finn. The trip might have been good, if we had been able to take part. Before I payed I was emailed a google map to the location. The journey looked quite simple. I payed fore the trip, and communications went quiet. I did not recieve a confirmation about my payment, and I did not recieve the further email i was told I would get with further instruction on how to find the meeting point. By this time we were already in Croatia on our trip. So I tried to call the phone numbers provided, one went unanswered, the other was an incorrect number. On the day we set of to find he meeting point. After travelling around in bosnia, trying to follow the map we had been given that bared very little resemblance to the driving route, for an hour and a half, I again tried to phone the numbers I was given, and again i was unable to get to speak to anyone. Eventually we had to accept defeat and turn around. When I returned to the uk I contacted Gorana of Huck Finn and have recieved no apology for the lack of email communication and the phone numbers that do not work.
Once Huck Finn have your money, it appears you are no longer their priority. I feel I wasted 84 euros and a day of my holiday, because of the incompetence and poor communication of this company.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March 16, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
We are sorry for the bad experience you had with Huck Finn, especially because we put a lot of effort in organizing your rafting trip. When the other participants who were supposed to share the raft with you cancelled, we hired two more guides to fill up the boat to avoid cancelling your excursion. Three guides were ready and waiting just for you for several hours. The only interest we had in organizing your rafting trip was your satisfaction, as we believe other reviews on TripAdvisor show. We did send you a link on Google Maps, detailed instructions on how to reach the location and confirmation of your payment, as we always do to keep all our customers well informed and satisfied. We are also available for telephone calls 24/7 during the whole season, but we did not receive your phone call. Since you were calling us to Croatia from Bosnia, you probably experienced network problems.
Our cancellation policy for 1-day trips is that we cannot refund any money if the client does not show up. This is our way of protecting ourselves against last minute cancellations and it proved to be neccessary because we experienced these cancellations many times.
Again, we are very sorry for your bad experience and please feel free to contact us if you have have any other questions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.