We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kerempuh

Kerempuh
Kaptol 3, Zagreb, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 481 Restaurants in Zagreb
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: your own discussion boards mention it 4 times
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our first Croatian food with an interesting setting overlooking the Dolac Market, except there are flies everywhere since the market is right outside the restaurant. The food is good but the veal is a bit tough.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“lovely lunch in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

great setting, very nice traditional food, good friendly service and helpful wait staff with the wines.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“good traditional croatian food with great view above Dolac market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

i was at the kerempuh for one lunch. i appreciated the very central location and the stunning view just above the Dolac market where you can watch humanity selling and buying vegetables, fruit, honey, woodden items, herbs, christmas trees and so on: a bustling, traditional and charming central european place to look at for hours. the restaurant is not large, it has a rather weird but not unpleasant wall and lamps decoration, i had the chance to get a table in the veranda overlooking the market, got a fantastic dish of roast turkey with mlinci (cooked small irregular squares in between thin bread and pasta), something very traditional of the surroundings of zagreb. less inspiring my dessert consisting of a rather dryish chestnut puré with whipped cream. good and friendly service, reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not easy to find unless you go to the Market in the centre of Zagreb, but well worth the effort!

Friendly staff, good basic decor, excellent simple Croatian food, excellent value for money. Need I say more?

So many reviews I write have a niggle, I can't think of one about Kerempuh, if I go back to Zagreb I'll be heading there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service overlooking the outdoor market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

You can see stylish locals at this restaurant enjoying a long, leisurely meal. The menu is varied and interesting--I had the pasta with truffle sauce and my friend had meat and potatoes served with fresh sauerkraut. The house wine was delicious--Croatian wines truly rival those of Italy. Truly a find!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerempuh also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Kerempuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerempuh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.