We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a taste of Croatia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purger

Purger
Petrinjsska 33, Zagreb, Croatia
(0) 1 4810713
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 481 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Listed in the Rough Guide to Croatia
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a taste of Croatia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went to lunch here with my cousin, it was recomended by his friend ( local) as a traditional Croatian cuisine restaurant ( as we were both from overseas but Croatian born). Wow what a meal, very large servings of very tasty authentic Croatian meals. The meals are huge, they are served in big platters/ toureens on your table and its help yourself...very Croatian. I ordered duck and got half a duck with mlinci ( traditional home made pasta served with roast poultry) cooked to perfection. We stayed there all afternoon feasting and catching up as we had not seen each other in years.
Anyway, give it a go if you are after something very Croatian.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    67
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in ZAGREB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food is very tasty, staff is very aristocratic, freindly, helpful- the highest score))) yes this place is not so new and modern, interier is simple, but people are very polite, everywhere is very clean. menu is varios, you may find traditional croatian meals and also international meals. If you come with somebody, it is possible to eat one meal together, it will be cheaper, for us two people it was enough. for myself, I want to eat there once more)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Decent Croatian Food and Service, at Mid-Range Prices. Just Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nothing special, but had an alright dinner in their nice garden. Service was a highpoint. Friendly, helpful, and our waiter spoke english. Definately higher prices than I would like to pay, especially for only average fare. One big Con: There were children playing/screaming just outside the garden dining fence -- don't know if it is a playground or what, but not conducive to quiet enjoyable meal. Just Ok. Wouldn't go out of my way to eat here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“very old fashioned and centrally located typical restaurant with croatian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

centrally located near the zrinjevac, this restaurant with a slightly retro decoration (but certainly not 1960s as i read) provides very good and extremely fast service with hearty traditional croatian dishes. open air terrace/garden. moderate prices. incredibly large portions. extremely recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Portions are very big.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I had the goulash and tomato salad. Both were good and could have easily fed two people. Service was good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purger also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Purger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.