We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad

Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad
Mletacka 11, Zagreb 10 000, Croatia
+385 1 4851 154
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 449 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eastern European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the tripadvisor page taverns Didov san ( grandfather's dream ) Meet part of our gastronomy and the specifics of the restaurant
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was a nice touristic restaurant close to the centre with a good atmosphere and good (but not special) food. The staff was nice, too. So we were happy with our choice to try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    67
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“traditional Croatian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while walking the streets by St. Mark's square. After eating our meal my husband commented that the NY Times review didn't do the restaurant justice. Our meal was delicious; veal fillet with hunter's sauce, mine was snails with polenta. We had a local wheat beer, traditional doughnuts and flan for dessert. The service was efficient and friendly. Price was very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

during the day we are in the culinary event "Restaurant Week" visited this tavern. we are delighted with the atmosphere, quality food and excellent service. Even we are not bothered or two kids from the next table who were shouting each other all night and play. Eating one: Grandma's pan

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Wow - Traditional Croatian Restaurant + Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were looking for a "traditional" Croatian restaurant - nothing "themed" or touristy.

I short-listed several restaurants around the St Mark's Square area and Konoba Didov San was the first we came to. Looking at the plates of people eating outside we quickly concluded this was what we were looking for - so we grabbed an outdoor table. Inside the restaurant looked great - very cosy and full of character but a few people were smoking so outside seemed a better option + we could grab the last of the summer sun.

It was interesting to see lots of local businessmen coming for lunch - Konoba Didov San clearly has a good local reputation.

The range of menu options was impressive and we opted for the veal, lamb and potatoes with traditional doughnuts (we had had a large breakfast so didn't want a large lunch).

The veal, lamb and potatoes was excellent. The vegetables were very tasty - no idea how they got them tasting so good. And there was lots of tasty meat.

The doughnuts were interesting - I have never had savoury doughnuts before and these came with feta cheese.

I only wish I had been able to have a desert because these looked very good. As a final bonus it was very interesting having a stroll around this part of the city after lunch - loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They charge us to much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really fine food, but they charge us to much. We take our business partners over there.. and we arrange everything by phone.. but when we get there.. and when we pay, they charge us things we did not get. Not fun

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Didov San - Gornji grad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.