We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel, great atmosphere with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mali Mrak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Mali Mrak to your Saves list
Hostel Mali Mrak
Dubicka 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Split, Croatia
1 review
“Amazing Hostel, great atmosphere with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great place to stay and know people form around the world. The hostel was nice and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms were big and confortable. The bathrooms were clean and everything worked very well. The staff were friendly and they help you for all your needs.
The hostel had an amazing vibes and Igor (the Owner) is simply the best.
I'm pretty sure that i will come back as soon as possible in this wonderful place!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Pierro!! good to read you here, thank you as well :)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

For a lot of reasons this place is amazing!! A LOT! But you can just talk about the people who works in the hostel. They are great! Nice people, very friendly and helpful! You just have a good sensation of being at home, in a nice and cozy place. I went to croatia for just a few days and at the end i spend a whole week at the hostel! Great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
And that brazilian style lunch you made is still remembered, as the picture shows, lol :D
Thank you B., !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great staff, location and facilities. The guys'll help you with whatever you need, and make you feel at home at the same time.

The rooms are worm and the kitchen is ok to cook, wich is good if you are travelling on a low budget, also the room price is not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks! Update: there's an additional, outside summer kitchen now :=)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

As a big group, we all enjoyed our stay here. It wasn't in the city, but it was only a short tram away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a very quiet neighbourhood and the staff really respect this- We were asked to be quiet at around 9pm for talking slightly loud in the garden. So it is definitely a place to go and chill and not a party hostel. Perfect place for lone travellers or small groups to meet other people from all over the world. The rooms themselves were decent and the hostel felt more like a massive house than seperate dorms which was different from any others we stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Yes sir, exactly :D! Quiet place, not a party hostel, that's us :) I like your review, but i do have to make a correction: Quiet time is after 22:00, not 21:00, and if you were asked to be quiet, it's because people from England are usually really loud (sorry, but that's a fact :D), so your perception of " talking slightly loud" would be "quite loud" in ours. We have no other choice, even if we wanted, because the police regulates these issues very precisely!

Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I mean that title literally. I've traveled all over Europe and Africa and stayed at more hostels than I can count, and if I had to pick one place to go back to, it would be Mali Mrak. I planned to stay one night on my way to the coast but ended up staying a week the first time, and barely left the hostel because I was enjoying drinking wine in the garden with the staff and other guests too much to leave. I came back through on my way out of the Balkans and got stuck nearly another week because I couldn't make myself leave. I wanted to live there forever. If you've been on the road a long time and need a place to recover your sanity, I can't recommend this place more highly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
High praise, dear Cid :) We're glad you came, and stayed and came again. But i think there's a lot of "best places in the world" :) We are expecting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskovo, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at Mali Mrak for a few nights in the spring (2014) and have been recommending it to friends going to Zagreb every since. Igor and company have created a warm, welcoming environment that fosters community. The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were great, and the location away of the noise of the city center. I will absolutely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you Sam, for being part of the community, and the nice review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

As someone who has stayed at dozens of hostels in the past few years, I can honestly say that Mali Mrak is among the best I've seen. It is constantly being renovated, very clean, afforably priced, and has a fantastic atmosphere; all that, though, pales in comparison to it's most positive aspect: the people. The owner is without question the warmest and most welcoming I've encountered, and everyone working there couldn't be more pleasant. During my stay I was treated to a free hiking tour and a delicious homemade meal. I honestly cannot recommend this hostel highly enough.


And in regards to comments other reviewers have left about the hostel being a place full of "scary drugs", I will only say that I saw nothing of the sort during my time at Mali Mrak.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnomeZagreb, Owner at Hostel Mali Mrak, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks for the support, Jake. The issue has been solved. Turned out to be a somewhat problematic girl. You are always welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Mali Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mali Mrak

Address: Dubicka 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! Thinking about booking here? Please, indulge me and read on first, see what's up here, then make up your mind, ok? Thank you :) While the house has all the amenities of a hostel, we and a huge proportion of our guests think of it as home and way point for travelers. You can have a wonderful time here and get much more than your money can buy, but only if this text resonates with you. If you are narrow minded, spoiled, prissy or if you expect us to bow to unreasonable whims, or you're the type that is afraid for their safety and/or belongings and thinks the rest of the world is out to get you, don't come here. We live in a ordinary, safe and quiet neighborhood where it's perfectly normal not to lock doors and worry about such things, even though we have lockers and a safe and all that. The way we do things here is: simple, honest, efficient; please respect the house, it's rules (mostly regarding hygiene and respectful behavior), the efforts of the people that run it and the community that has grown around it. Take your time, study the reviews, that's what choosing the right hostel for you is about - ESPECIALLY those of unhappy guests because they tell a good story - if you recognize yourself in them, please skip the booking and save all of us the trouble, no money is worth the time and energy such people require. Also, if it's only the price that appeals to you, DON'T book. Though it's necessary, money is not our primary goal - we value our place too much to let just anyone stay here and ruin the atmosphere for the rest. Yes, we make selections. The long years of running this place have taught us much - we've had more than 20,000 people here, so I think we are entitled to claim a bit of know-how :) We don't believe this house is for just anyone, so make sure you read this text because we have had enough of ignorant tourists, their fake smiles and the complications they create - this is a place for travelers and those who have common sense and an easy going approach to life. Troublesome, complicated people will be asked kindly to leave the hostel (and i will refer to exactly this introduction if it comes to that) and go somewhere else, we'll gladly recommend another hostel more suited for those who misread this text and somehow end up booking here, no problem. Hope you get the basic idea, please let me invite you to continue reading about the house and thank you for understanding. The house is a simple, clean, warm and cozy place, run by friends, as well as an ongoing ambiance & art project, with many contributions and handmade items from different places. We prefer simplicity, honesty, spontaneity, community, common sense, talks, exchange of ideas, to see who you are and what you do - as long as you respect the house and the people in and around it, you'll have all our knowledge and resources at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Mali Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Mali Mrak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.