We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nokturno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nokturno to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nokturno
Skalinska 4a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Ljubljana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cute little hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My friend and I were in Zagreb for a concert at the Šalata and chose Nokturno based on the good reviews and great price (plus, the location is not too shabby either), we didn't regret it one bit. We had the private room (their only private room) so I can't speak for the rest of the hostel, but our room was very clean and pretty comfortable. Location is very very central, it's in a beautiful little alley surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Downside: it was quite noisy late in the evening so I'm guessing this hostel wouldn't be such a good choice if you need a nice, quiet place. We only saw the staff at check-in/out but they were very friendly and helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A decent low budget hotel or hostel is the Hotel Nokturno. The facilities are adequate for the price being paid. While booking check out if you are getting a private bathroom. The advantage is the location, being close to all the good spots in the city. Try walking on pedestrian friendly areas and also the serpentine narrow lanes. The angles and corners of the roads would definitely overwhelm you. The Cathedral is also just a stone’s throw away. The restaurant is good but when there are more choices in the bazaar, it is difficult o eat at the hotel. Surprisingly, the staff is very accommodative and extremely helpful. The other main feature is the bar scene. There are so many bars, that you can sit in your hotel and watch. The Taverna Skalinda in the hotel is an extremely nice bar to sip your drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in the best position possible, few steps from the cathedral. It also includes a nice and cheap restaurant.
On the other side the rooms were extremely hot in summer (no AC) and very noisy, because the windows are just over the street with restaurants and bars.
Last, it seems a bit priced compared to other hostel in the city. Probably with the same price you can get better!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited Zagreb in summer and I did not have booking for this hostel. we arrived and the girl who was at the reception was very kind. the Hostel was very cheap and clean. the rooms where tea it is located in the center of zagreb just 1 block away from the action. we ended up staying 2 nights but they didn't have any more available beds so they let us stay at a couch for free!!! it was a wonderful experience. I really recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The streets are labyrinth-like but once you find it, Hotel Nokturno is excellent. Fantastically located next to a row of wonderful cheap restaurants and being right by them means you can get there early and bag the outside seats. Then just a second down the hill there are lots of cool bars.
Beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. Washing facilities and lovely kitchen to use. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Freezing leaky showers.
Bathroom smelled horrible from first second in the room.
Cobwebs in the room.
Just a bad place to stay. Don't go. Area was lovely just awful accomodation that put a downer on our stay in zagreb! Should be of higher standard

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location - a stone's throw away from the bustling market and the Cathedral. Also around the corner is the heart of the city's nightlife (don't expect anything more wild than a cocktail bar). The pedestrianised area is safe and appealing, with its winding narrow streets striking out at surprising angles. Our room was small but clean, with a nice private bathroom. No air con, and the noise from diners right underneath our open window made getting to sleep difficult. Nonetheless, there was a well-equipped kitchenette and a helpful reception desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nokturno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nokturno

Address: Skalinska 4a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Nokturno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nokturno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.