We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing European experience in the heart of Balkan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Tsarigradsko shose Blvd, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing European experience in the heart of Balkan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the very first moment when friendly staff helped us to check in and resolve issue with the lost language, I had only positive experience. User-friendly WiFi, complimentary mini bar (!) and professional waiters have just confirmed the first good impression. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. Recommendations!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
37
13
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on our last night in Sofia. Very clean and brilliant value, plus they have a complimentary airport shuttle every half hour.
The buffet breakfast is very good and the bar not particularly expensive.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located in the middle of the city. 10min walk from a big shopping mall. You can enjoy a nice breakfast buffet with 4 euro or less. The Massage in the hotel is amazing, the masseuse is a very professional and friendly lady. She is well skilled and I enjoy doing massage with her everytime. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. I do enjoy every single stay in this simple but nice hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

went there for 3 nights and get nicely surprised.
large room, clean, well furnished (except the TV which is small)
Staff are friendly with wish to help you and excellent english
Breakfast is fantastic, large choice
spa is clean and the gym well equiped

there is only 1 bad point, the access to this hotel is not easy but after when you know it it's a different story

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now. Rooms very comfortable & stylish. Breakfast also tasty with plenty of choice. A little out of centre but taxis are very cheap so I wouldn't let that put you off. Restaurant & bar area very relaxing Would highly recommend. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Please, accept our sincere gratitude for your honest review. That is why we work hard every day - to earn our guests' appreciation and satisfaction.

If you have a chance to visit Sofia again, we will be honored to welcome you at Metropolitan.
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Every thing about this hotel is first class. You will love the kind service, the personal attention, the full breakfast, the convenience to the airport, and the convenience to city center by short taxi. Thanks for a lovely stay. We highly recommend this's hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Hotel is an about 10 to 15 min drive from the airport. There is a shuttle bus, but you better tell the hotel your exact arrival time to ensure a pick up.

Rooms are quite large with the usual facilities. Beds were reasonable soft, comfortable. Bathroom had a bathtub only, that could be used as a shower. Lightning was good.

Electric plugs are next to the desk and also next to the bed, but you need to pull out the bedside lamp. The next free plug is about 2 meters away. They take the usual EU plugs, e.g. German ones.

Breakfast was good, the usual stuff. Orange juice was canned, but drinkable. Coffee was terrible. But the rest from the quite large buffet was of good quality.

We had dinner there in the lobby bar, which was nothing special, but still tasty.

The air con in the room stops working when opening the windows and they cannot be opened to much, so the room was a bit sticky.

TV had all the usual channels, I think also CNN and several German ones.

Wifi was free and you get a password at the reception. The password is just the Wifi password, hence you can connect as many devices to the network as you want. Speed was excellent! I had at least what compares to a 16 MBit line. But it probably depends on the number of guests.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropolitanHotelSof, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Allow me to express my gratitude for your positive comments. You have praised almost every department in our hotel and I am eager to share this with all the employees of Metropolitan Hotel Sofia.

I hope that you will be our guest again and we will have the pleasure to energize your day with our devotion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 64 Tsarigradsko shose Blvd, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan is a 4* stylish urban hotel with unconventional design. It is strategically located at the eastern gate of the capital - close to Sofia Airport and the city center, on the way to Business Park Sofia and at a walking distance from Inter Expo Center and shopping center The Mall.High-quality service, feel-at-home sensation and varied entertainment make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.