We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in center of Sofia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arte Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arte Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arte Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dondukov Blvd 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Sofia
JOHANNESBURG
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel in center of Sofia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a gem of a place located in the center of the city. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean, and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is decorated with original artwork, thus the name, and the staff are helpful. I was worried that I would pick up some ambient noise, being so close to the center (there were street demonstrations while I was in Sofia), but that proved not to be the case. I paid $60 a night and feel I got good value for my money. I didn't opt for the breakfast, as it seemed pricey at 9 euros per person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
45
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

So our Bulgarian airline flight was spontaneously rearranged but this hotel made things very easy, organizing pickup from the airport, helping us get into our room a couple hours ahead of schedule so we could rest, and kindly giving us great advice on visiting this pleasant city. This is a perfect location with a professional staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms are quite small, but comfortable and clean. And for the price, you can't beat the location. Walking distance to everything around the city-center, and easy access to public transportation. The halls are decorated with various pieces of art although the design is nothing too amazing. Still, a cute boutique-y hotel with an equally "cute" price tag.

Room Tip: A room in the front would offer a nice view of the street below, but rooms in the back don't off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discovering cornwall
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Sofia within walking distance to many sites and close to an underground station. In the immediate surroundings of the hotel are several banks with ATM machines on the outside. On the next corner is a kiosk which sells bottled water, sweets, fruit etc at very low prices until late at night.
My room was newly renovated, with an exceptionally well equipped bath room. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff at the reception are extremely friendly and spoke fluent English and German.
Breakfast was not so great - - there was a shortage of plates and knives...but again, the staff was very friendly.
Another "problem" is, that there is only a tiny lobby (with seating for three) and there is no bar or restaurant or any other palce on the premises where guests can buy something to drink, or sit together and talk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For the price I expected it to be a bit more basic but the room was actually quite luxurious. Very clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, mini bar. Reception staff were helpful. A good option for a night or two in Sofia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My son and I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was perfect, the price was good, the hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. I would stay there again. We took an airport shuttle to and from the airport but a local bus was available from the airport which stopped at the university a few blocks away. Be careful of the Taxis as you can get really ripped off. Stick with OK taxis and not CK Taxis. Great art in the building if you're into that. Good price for the quality of hotel,

Room Tip: Can walk to most of the sightseeing location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Touring Bulgaria with a group of friends we stayed one night at this hotel at the beginning of the holiday and two nights at the end. It is a place of contrasts. Location is excellent, staff are friendly, helpful and speak English, breakfast and the room in which it is served are delightful. The rooms themselves are a very good size for a city centre hotel, a bit bland, although the orange highlights brighten it up a little, but the beds are small and the pillows bullet-like. If you prefer a double bed then ask for a twin bedded room and push the beds together, because unlike all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip, this was the only one with 4ft 6in double beds. The singles aren't huge either, but pushed together are fine. Bathroom is small but everything works and there is a shelf for putting ones own toiletries on (missing in most hotels I find). Almost the best thing about this hotel is the real art on the walls, particularly on the staircase. It is worth taking the stairs rather than the lift just to see the pen and ink drawings, there being a particularly fine portrait of a woman on the landing near the ground floor. Because the hotel is situated on a main road traffic noise is a problem if you leave windows open at night. We tried the A/C but it didn't seem to work, so tolerated the swishing of traffic which turned out to be reasonably soporific. All in all a convenient and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the front are an interesting shape with lots of space and a window on each wall so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Hotel

Address: Dondukov Blvd 5, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Arte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel Sofia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.