We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in Sofia-Bulgaria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapeshta Street 2, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short Break in Sofia-Bulgaria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is situated behind Sofia University and if you walk ten minutes up the road you will see Alexander Nevski church,a few restaurants, cafes, and shops. After that it feels good to go back to your spacious hotel room,well fitted marble bathroom with jacuzzi, separate shower, WC.
Very good choice for breakfast, friendly quick service and excellent dinner.
Enjoyable stay and I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Malina C,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Top quality and service are our highest priorities, and I am glad our team was able to make you stay enjoyable. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities in the hotel.
I am very pleased everything went smoothly at Arena di Srdica Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
67
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uzhhorod, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is located just 15 minutes from the airport by taxi. At the same time, it is almost the center of the city: if you go out you can find many nice places, small restourants, old church, shops, etc. After a long trip I was pleased to see in my room a big and convenient bed, big bathroom with both a shover and a bath. The room was clean, with nice furniture. what was also important, the sound isolation is quite good, I did not hear neither the sounds of my neighbours, nor sounds from corridor or outside. In the morning a buffet breakfast impressed me with big variety of food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear chyzhyk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed our facilities and services. It's also great that you had a chance to enjoy the city and its sights.

Our team will be happy if we can welcome you again on your next trip to Sofia.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spent 7 nights here during a recent business trip. The staff was very nice and helpfull. The executive room was a very decent size and very comfortable. The TV has very few english speaking stations, so if you are going to spend any time in the room, plan some other type of entertainement. The wifi was free and fast.

As for the included breakfast, it was ok. The coffee was not great, but it was possible to order espresso, so that was not a problem. Also, a few other items were available upon request (pancakes, omelettes).

The ruins on the lower levels of the hotel were very interesting to visit. Also, the gym is a decent size for a hotel gym.

The only down side is that the hotel is next to a discotheque that is open only on weekends. If you want to sleed on those nights, plan ear plugs, which I did, and I slept well throughout my stay. I would return to this hotel if I had to come back to Sofia for work.

Room Tip: I recommend a room that does not face the street. That dead end street is usually very quiet except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Petiji,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review was a treat to read and I couldn't be happier that you had a great stay.
We all look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,

Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This residence hotel is located just behind the UK consulate at few steps from Alexandre Nevski cathedral..very central location This is the nice combination between an appart hotel and a historic site. in the basement, you can see some old wall from the Roman period when Sofia was called Serdica.
Quiet room in this quiet area, do not ask for a room with a view as it is almost inexistant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jaynice1,
Thank you for your appreciation about the preserved amphitheater. This amphitheater was found in the year of 2004 when the construction of the hotel was started. When the amphitheater was discovered this completely changed the architecture and design of the hotel in order to preserve the ancient treasure.
Thank you for your review and I will be happy if you choose Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel for your next visits to Sofia.

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is located in a small dead-end street (makes it extra quiet). It is located close to city center, touristic attractions. Reception hall is stunning looking down to ancient arena discovered when hotel was being built. Reception staff is very helpful, very warm and ready to help or suggest. Room is spacious. WC is not in the bathroom. Bathroom is spacious and includes l'Occitane products.
If you are travelling with your car, the hotel has a small, secure parking.
Spa seems to be the trend but when it is so warm I would have preferred a swimming pool.
For breakfast, you can order à la minute eggs or special coffees. Buffet offers a good variety of food. But if you want tea or regular coffee, it is on a self service basis. I don't appreciate this in a 5 * hotel. To my opinion, staff at breakfast still needs to learn how to manage the breakfast service (lack of presence in the room, don't know what to do, speaking loud with other colleagues...)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Superket,
I am very pleased to hear that you had a good time at Arena di Serdica Hotel. Our guests are the most important equation and we will do everything to make sure they leave happy. Thank you for your feedback about the staff and the services and I will take that note for the breakfast service.
Please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more special.

Yours sincerely,

Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

At 100 Euros per night I am going to evaluate this hotel as if it was a five star as claimed.
The rooms are tired, carpets need replacing and there was no tea or coffee/kettle in the rooms.
The rest was fine; bathrooms and amenities were very spacious and clean.
The attention to detail was lacking with the air conditioning barely coping to get to 22degrees and it wasn't hot outside, the fridge was scarcely cold enough for drinks and the light and tap in the bathroom were broken.
Now the good bits, breakfast was plentiful and of good quality and variety, no hidden extras fro real coffee or freshly cooked eggs. Very good location and easy to find.
Staff were helpful if not overly friendly.
There was no swimming pool and I did not try the spa or fitness centre as it was a little claustrophobic and limited in the equipment.
Would I stay again, yes if I got a better rate

Room Tip: Would I stay again, yes if I got a better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Justinelh,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and thank you for your feedback about the services and the staff.

For good or bad the initial design of the hotel was changed (including swimming pool) when the building of the hotel started and the ancient amphitheater was found. This completely changed the architecture and the conception of the hotel. There is spa complex with swimming pool in a short taxi ride from the hotel.

We have 24 hours room service which can serve hot drinks in the rooms anytime needed.
The fridge in the room is a minibar cooler.

We will take into consideration the other remarks and I am sorry that some of the features did not meet your preferences.

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Muy, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed there on a single motorcycle trip in 2011 and returned for two nights with my wife, also on a bike tour. Location is really central (a bit difficult to find in a side alley), great underground parking, big clean rooms. This time we used all amenities : restaurant for evening meals, spa, massage ....
Not a single negative comment, all really great, good value (not cheap but reasonible considering the hotel), good selection, really good food.
If we were to return to Sofia, I know were we would go!
In August 2013 there were construction works in the area and restrictions on hot water during peak hours. Was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Patrick N,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Hotel and I am happy that you had again pleasant stay and good experience with our staff and services. Thank you for your understanding about the construction.
Our team hopes to welcome you again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Address: Budapeshta Street 2, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.