We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a 5 star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapeshta Steet 2, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 120 hotels in Sofia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not quite a 5 star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, it was certainly clean and well kept (in the main), however, my experience wasnt quite as nice as some of the previous reviewers. Just in the middle of a heatwave, the Aircon seemed intent on keeping the first room allocated at an unpleasant 26c. After one rather sweaty night moved to an alternative room, which was a pleasant 1c cooler despite me trying to convince the control panel that I actually wanted 18c, not enough heat to par boil an egg. The service was a little lacking. Sitting out on the terrace was not a service hotspot - continually had to go and hunt down the waitresses to pay my bill or order another drink. That being said, it wasnt a bad place and was in a good location to go see the sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear RLJ899,

Thank you for your feedback and your comments. It is valuable for us and helps us see where we need to focus our efforts to provide excellent stay to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and to have the opportunity to offer you improved service and more pleasant stay!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    61
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
39
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in Bulgaria and I stay in this hotel. The rooms are nice and I fell ok in the morning after a white night in Sofia. I visit Back Stage and I can't speak for the standard of acts over a period of time but we dropped by on two consecutive nights to catch some really laid back jazz. The atmosphere is relaxed. Definitely give it a try

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Cristian B,
Thank you for choosing Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel and for your feedback. We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Sofia.
Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was in Bulgaria checking it out for a tour and this was my last night before flying home. I had been thrilled with what I had seen so far in the country and when we arrived here I was very pleased...from the doorman holding the door open to check in, it was pleasant and friendly. What was so cool about this hotel is it felt very comfortable, the ambience of it was immediately attractive...and to have Roman ruins under your feet was a very special feeling.

I then went to the 8th floor where my room was, opened the door and there before me was a huge room with three full size patio doors leading out onto a 42 x 12 balcony (yes I counted the feet) I could not believe how large it was! Now the only thing funny was that there was just one chair with a small table on this balcony. Never the less it was enjoyable to sit and look out over the city before going out to dinner. There was no kettle here and I am a tea granny, but never mind! in jig time I had a kettle and a hot cup of english tea.

The bedroom was very large, then a sitting room with desk and t.v. and finally the bathroom. The bedroom had a wardrobe plus slippers and bathrobe, the sitting room had the desk, two comfy chairs and table, bar area with bar fridge, credenza for t.v. The bathroom had a shower and tub, along with the other stuff and nice L'Occitane toiletries. The bed was really comfy with great pillows.

Breakfast the next morning was in the diningroom and it was a lovely setting. My cappuccino was delicious and hot, the food was yummy and varied with everything from frest fruit to that wonderful pastry filled with feta cheese to cold meats and cheeses to eggs, bacon and sausage.

I think the only thing that would have made it more perfect is fresh orange juice...the real thing. This hotel calls for the real thing. The view from your table is to the patio area that gets spiffed up for outside dining and is full of greenery. It had been raining out so the picture I have taken is from one of the ones up on the elevator wall. The view inside the dining room is of lovely pale yellow and dark wood. There is a spa as well. It is on a very quiet street in an easy to get around area that you can walk and shop in...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words and I am happy that you really enjoyed your time at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel! We really appreciate the opinion of people who have traveled and seen a lot and it is a pleasure to have you as our guest. Our team will always welcome you with a warm smile and excellent service!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built over the ruins of a Roman fighting arena you can visit below the lobby. It is centrally located at the e nd of a quiet dead-end short street. The entrance and lobby are bright and attractive. We splurged on a 7th floor Deluxe Suite and were pleased with our two large rooms although the view over the rooftops was not of interest.
Breakfast was very good but not opulent.
The hotel is certainly worth a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear KenatRSF,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel. You are always welcome here and our team will be happy if you visit us on your next trip to Sofia!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights in sofia as tourists and think this has to be one of the best located hotels for exploring the city, the room was comfortable and the toilet (and a second sink) has its own room separate from the shower. Te shower itself was great and the toiletries are L'Occitane. Our only real complaint about the room was the lumpy pillows! But, when I finally remembered to ask for a feather pillow, it was produced immediately. There is a lovely spa in the basement of the hotel, and incorporated into the roman ruins, our massages were fine, but because they were Swedish massage, we were not entitled to use the steam or sauna which seems silly, surely hotel guests should all be allowed to use such facilities, as they are allowed to use the fitness room.... Interestingly the hotel is quite uncrowded on weekends, being more of a business hotel. We did find that odd given its great location but I guess that is probably because sofia isn't in the top ten of most people's destination wish lists! We had a few other minor issues, but they really were minor (the breakfast staff appeared bored and fairly unhelpful until a large diplomatic group arrived) and if We were returning to sofia we would definitely stay againat the arena

Room Tip: There are a few nightclubs in the area so if you are going to stay at Arena on a saturday night, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear peripateticprincess,

Thank you for your recent stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel and your feedback. We take all guest feedback really seriously and we will look into your experience with our breakfast staff and we promise that all the necessary actions will be taken. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to try most of the services in the hotel. Some of the massages in the wellness club include complimentary use of sauna and steam bath, but not all of them. Also if you book Junior or Deluxe suite the wellness is free. On our website you can find special spa packages. We will wait to welcome you back you on your next trip to Sofia and to have the opportunity to offer you improved service and same pleasant stay!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sofia does not yet offer an inspiring array of world class hotel options however this one is well located, just a few steps from the old city with its yellow brick road and stunning array of historic buildings. Staff here speak English, are helpful and can offer useful insights for what to see and do around Sofia. Rooms lack charm but are clean, large and comfortable especially by Sofia standards. My bathroom had plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and Occitane bath amenities. The view outside my room extended to the snow covered mountains. Breakfast was fine, a buffet including fresh fruit and Bulgarian cheeses. From here its an easy walk to most of Sofia's interesting sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear PoppyHopper,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel! Rooms are decorated according to the hotel theme- the roman amphitheater. In the decoration are used wrought iron, wood and warm colors. I am also happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sofia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grodig, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

good food, good service, good location = no complaints!
I only wished Bulgarian hotels would learn to include the use of spa in the room rate instead of charging seperately for sauna and more if you use both, sauna and steam bath. But I guess, that' were cultures clash. However, we did appreciate receiving a cup of tea upon entering the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenadiSerdica, General Manager at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Michaela W,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel!
Some of the massages in the Wellness club include complimentary use of sauna and steam bath, but not all of them. Also if you book Junior or Deluxe suite the use of the relaxation area is complimentary. We also have special packages which include accommodation and services of the Wellness club and you can book that online on our website. Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
Margarita Tsolova
General Manager
Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel
e-mail: hotel@arenadiserdica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel

Address: Budapeshta Steet 2, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 120 hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena di Serdica is the newest 5 star Residence Hotel in Sofia affiliated to the FPI Hotels & Resorts chain.Strategically located in the heart of the city, right next to the main states institutions, business centers and banks, as well as to the cultural and historial places of interest in Sofia, the luxurious Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel Sofia is excellent choice for business and cultural trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena di Serdica Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.