We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Experience!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Consul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Hotel Consul to your Saves list
Airport Hotel Consul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Pop Gruyo Street, Sofia 1517, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Timisoara - Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate Experience!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

During a business tour in the city I got a chance to stay at this place. It is really an ultimate hotel. Very clean, very beautiful and perfectly designed. Rooms are not too big, but gracefully appointed with all needed things. Washroom was luxurious and clean. Food and services of the staff were best. I will love to stay here again and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
7
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel many times and have always had a great room that is clean and comfortable and outstanding service from hotel staff.
We have taken our Cocker Spaniel to stay, as the hotel is pet friendly and we have never had a problem walking in the area or even a thought of being mugged as a comment from Petr K suggests.. This is Bulgaria and the capitol as well so get a grip!!
I would recommend this hotel for its comfort, service, price and how near to the airport, its great, we will always stay here when going to and from BG.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located in a terrible area. I do not recommend even going out for a walk, unless you don't mind being attacked by a dog or mugged. It is however situated within reasonable distance from the airport but you will still need to take a taxi which shouldn't cost more than 6 leva - 3 EUR and take no more than 5 minutes.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. They arranged a taxi, free wake-up call and wrapped my breakfast to go, as I had very early flight. Now that's what I call a great service!

Food in the restaurant was very cheap and here you will get what you pay. Pork meat was off, bread burnt, fries uncooked. Shopska salad was tasty, though.

Poor WiFi signal.

Apart from the food, I enjoyed my stay and will gladly recommend the hotel to any traveller who is after good-value accommodation before their morning flight.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here before our return flight to the UK. Met by a very friendly young man on reception who's English was excellent. He was very helpful indeed. We had a suite which was a good size and perfect for my husband and I and our 2 year old daughter. The room was clean and comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant - nice Bulgarian meal and very cheap. The hotel is perfectly located for the airport. All in all a very pleasant stay and great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

As we were unable to book a room for 3 via the website I used, we accepted that we would have a room for 2 and our son could share our bed. When we arrived they insisted we have a suite with extra bed at no extra cost. It was very large with a super comfy bed. The decor is very out dated but it is spotless.
The food at the restaurant was excellent and very cheap by British standards. 3 pizzas, 6 beers, 2 sprites, 1 soup for approx £12. As we had a very early departure and would not make breakfast, they made us a take away breakfast without even asking for it.
This hotel is incredibly good value and only a 5 min drive from the airport. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Because we wrote to them that we have problems with our backs, they gave us a room with a fantastic orthopaedic mattress. They told us that not every room has this, so ask for it if it is of interest to you.The room was very spacious; in one end the bed, and in the other end a nice sitting area with comfortable armchairs, a coffeetable and a television. Also there was a minibar and coffee/teamaking facilties. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, very big and seemd to be newly refurbished.
We arrived by train in Sofia in the afternoon, and had booked a pickup service from the hotel. This functioned very well. Also we had arranged a transfer service to the airport early the next morning, which also functioned in the best way. Because breakfast was included in the price and we had to leave so early, they prepared breakfast for us to bring with us. All this made it very conveniant.
In the evening we had our dinner in the restaurant at the hotel. Service was very friendly, and the food was very good. The price was exceptionally reasonable!
The tram goes close to the hotel, and we were told it takes about 20 to 30 minutes to get to the center of Sofia. This makes it possible to live in Hotel Consul for a few days while exploring the city. You certainly get very, very much more value for money staying here in stead of in the city. The place is family run, and we were told that they offer the additional service of driving around for sight seeing, even if we don`t know any details for this. If we were to stay there longer than one night, we would have missed a closet to hang our cothes, though.
Finally it must be mentioned that the staff was very, very friendly and serviceminded. We could not have wished for more; we were taken care of with nformation and help from the time of booking on the Internet till our departure, in a way we have not experienced before!

Room Tip: We had room 101 which was very spacious and had an orthopaedic, very comfortable mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esposende, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

don t stay here, even if it is for a few hours.... without a/c , very old and in a very bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Airport Hotel Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Consul

Address: 37 Pop Gruyo Street, Sofia 1517, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 125 Hotels in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Consul 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated a 10-minute drive from and to Sofia Airport. It provides economy and standard rooms, also junior suites, each with cable TV, free Wi-Fi connection and a free parking area. Hotel Consul offers good connection to the centre - the 2 km distance to the centre takes only a 20-minute ride with the direct line of tram number 22, and it is 6 km from the Mladost district where the Business Park Sofia is located. You can benefit from such services as 24-hour reception desk, safes at the reception and room service. Part of the hotel is a restaurant with working time from 7:30 up to 22:00 o'clock where you can have your breakfast in the morning or enjoy some delicious meals in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Airport Hotel Consul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Consul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.