We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique charm in leafy area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia Residence

Save Saved
You added Sofia Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Oborishte Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria (Formerly Residence Oborishte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 120 hotels in Sofia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boutique charm in leafy area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice at the beginning of our holiday in Bulgaria and at the very end. Three of the four rooms were magnificent and the fourth, on the very top floor, was wonderful but the access was tricky. We've never had such a spacious room as one that had separate bathroom and lounge and in addition a free standing, claw footed bath in an extension of the already generously sized bedroom. What a pity it was only for one night. The tiny lobby/reception area gave no clue as to the spacious rooms upstairs. Staff very pleasant. Very good restaurants in neighbourhood.

Not part of the review of the hotel but the Free Walking Tour of Sofia was excellent and opened up the city for us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Residence as with all others we found it to be charming and cosy. The staff were always friendly and helpful beyond what would normally be expected. A little side note for the Management we would recommend that as there is no Room Service that you would consider putting tea/coffee making facilities into each room/suite, only a minor thing as they did supply us a kettle when they realised it would be easier for us. We will be returning to both Sofia and the Residence in the future

Room Tip: Sredetz Suite is where we stayed cannot fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and were looking for a boutique place close to the City center. Couldn't have wished for anything better. This charming townhouse-type hotel was just perfect. Our suite was spacious and perfectly equipped (including a fully-stuffed) bar, the staff was extremely helpful and eager to accommodate. The hotel is located on a charming quite street with numerous cafes and convenience stores. The city center (Alexander Nevsky Cathedral) is within 10-minute walk. Also, very reasonably priced, particularly as compared to Western European or US equivalents. Would definitely stay there next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Go for the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For a year I got to stay at this hotel many times for work. My boss got a room at the Oborishte one trip and told me that I had to request it on my next trip. It turned out to be an excellent find.

The people who work there are friendly. The breakfasts were always great for going into a sometimes long day at work. I stayed in many of the rooms in the hotel. They all looked nice, were clean, and were comfortable. The room right below the penthouse toward the back is probably my favorite. Though, in summer when a thunder storm rolls through, I would sit up in the penthouse and watch the storm while drinking wine. It was pretty excellent.

The neighborhood is excellent. Its changed even in the year I was there. There are lot trendy restaurants appearing. I passed a fancy-looking cheese and wine shop last time I was there.

I recently left my job for better things and won't get to go back for a while. These folks run a good hotel and they made my trips away from home excellent, so I am leaving a nice note. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

With a just very few rooms, this Hotel has very warmth atmosphere! It is very private and charming, the stuff is very nice and great food! Very big and fantastic rooms! Very good location! I recommend it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very big and beautiful. Only the one in the top is a little bit smaller than the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last month, and were delighted to have found such a gem.

The positives:

1) It's located in a leafy, peaceful district favoured by foreign embassies - and is just a few minutes walk from Alexander Nevsky Cathedral. Other key tourist attractions are about 15 minutes away by foot.

2) Forget what you might have read in other reviews; although this gorgeous little property is predominantly aimed at couples or single business travellers, it is possible to share a room with a friend. We enquired in advance and were given a beautifully decorated, immaculate suite - Tzarevetz - where the stylish, oversized sofa was converted into a second bed for us.

3) Breakfast is fantastic. Yes, you have to order the evening before, but this is only the slightest of inconveniences. In return, you can opt to have breakfast in your room (they don't apply room service charges here) or downstairs - both until very late in the morning. The portions are enormous, too. And there's a lot of choice. I can seriously recommend the Bulgarian breakfast.

4) The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us sort out a little medical emergency without batting an eyelid, and were on-hand to deal with any requests we had - from sourcing a guide for a trip out of the city to answering questions about Sofia itself to providing free wifi passwords.

5) The on-site restaurant, Landau, was really well-priced - considering that it is a hotel restaurant. Both service and quality/menu options were great.

The negatives?

None. Seriously, you could nit-pick about little things, such as the fact that Residence Oborishte doesn't have a night porter or the fact that it doesn't offer a couple of rooms with twin beds. But these fade into insignificance when you compare them to what you get.

All in all, I would very much recommend Residence Oborishte - to couples, single travellers or small groups of friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly stuff, excellent rooms, bars, food etc. I can truly recommend it! I forgot my scarf somewhere and they found it took good care of it until my friend picked it up and sent it to me.
Larry Kärkkäinen, Helsinki, Finland

Room Tip: I had "Serdnica". Jolly good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Residence

Also Known As:
Residence Oborishte Sofia
Address: 63 Oborishte Street, Sofia 1504, Bulgaria (Formerly Residence Oborishte)
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofia Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofia Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.